Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / New York-Style Pizza Crust Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    New York-Style Pizza Crust

    Average Rating:

    102 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 102

    Sort by:

    • on June 25, 2007

      Absolutely the BEST homemade pizza I've made, and I've made alot. This is way better than anything you could have delivered, especially if you use a quality homemade sauce. I used my pizza stone. If you don't have a pizza stone, and would like to make quality pizza at home, get one. What a difference!!! Thanks for the recipe, it will be the only one I use from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2007

      THE BEST CRUNCHY CRISPY DEEP DISH PIZZA RECIPE OUT THERE HANDS DOWN!! & THE EASIEST TO MAKE. This Pizza crust was the best by far than all the other recipes I have tried out there. I can not thank you enough for posting this recipe. I used my food processor and placed the flour and salt inside the processor, I pulsed it a few times than turned it in the on position and slowly added the yeast water sugar mixture that I mixed first and let it set for a bit to allow the yeast to get foamy. With the food processor running I added the water and as I did the dough formed and I let it run for about 2 minutes it formed nicely. I then took the dough and just threw it inside a target grocery bag and allowed it to rise. In about 1 hour after it had doubled in size I lightly sprinkled my counter with the cornmeal and placed the dough over the cornmeal and used my rolling pin to roll out the dough in a giant 12" circle. I rolled it very thin. It rolled out perfectly and did not stick to anything. I then took a Farberware 10" non stick skillet and lifted the dough a little on one side just enough to slide the pan under the dough, I then used my fingers and pressed the dough firmly on the bottom and sides and at the top edge of the pan I made it thicker so I could get that thick top crust, I then added some sauce then sausage then tons of cheese and baked it at 350 untill the top of the cheese was lighly browned. I pulled it from the oven and used a spatula to lift it out of the pan it held up perfectly, I then placed it on a cookie sheet and used a serrated knife and cut it in 4 slices and let me tell you the crust was crispy and crunchy the way we like it. I have tried so many recipes for pizza crust and really never cared for them. They were soggy or bland or just plain yucky. This was excellent in every way. We loved it. I threw out all my other recipes for pizza crust and will be using this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2007

      very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2007

    • on February 18, 2007

      WOW! This is it, there will be no other crusts ever. My husband and I thought this crust was the best, better than any restaurant. I made this with my kitchenaid mixer and actually let it rise for about an hour, just because I wasn't ready for it yet. The dough was extremely easy to work with and your instructions are perfect. As some one else did I pricked the crust with a fork and pre-baked it in a 425 oven for 7 minutes which was perfect. I made New York-Style Pizza Sauce for the sauce which was just wonderful and I highly recommend it. We topped with mozzarella and peperoni. I baked for an additional 10 or so minutes on the bottom rack and the crust was perfectly browned. We broiled the top just a bit to get some crunchy peperoni on top. This crust was perfect in every way...crispy on the outside, but soft on the inside, just the way everyone wants it. You could easily add cheese or seasoning into the dough, but I wouldn't as it is just right the way it is. Leave the canvas alone and put the creativiy into the toppings. Thanks RecipeNut, this one also goes into our favorites! My husband called it a home run!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2007

      I tested 3 different crust recipes on the same day; this one, a Delia Smith recipe and one from the UKTV website. This was by far the most popular. Everyone faught over the last slice, including me! As well as tasting good it was also the easiest to roll out. I piled it high with toppings. It's best left for a couple of minutes after coming out of the oven as it's then easier to serve.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2006

      This was exceptionally easy to make, and produced a great crust! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2006

      it was pretty good. the reviews had me expecting much better but it still tasted like plain old homemade pizza to me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2006

      Good crust. Easy. Even my husband, the pizza fanatic, liked it. I poked it with a fork a couple times, put it on a pizza stone and baked it for 7 minutes prior to adding toppings. I went easy on the toppings in order to enjoy the crust!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2006

      A great pizza crust! I used whole wheat flour and prebaked the crust for 10 minutes before adding the toppings. The crust was crispy and flavorful. It was just as delicious the next day straight out of the fridge.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2006

      This recipe is far superior to the crust on any ordered pizza, very similar to geno's thick crust. I go heavy on the cornmeal pan coating. This is a good dough to start in the bread machine too (mine has a "dough" setting that works great).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2006

      Excellent! Easy to make, easy to work with dough and the crispiest home made pizza crust we have ever made. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2005

      Excellent crust!! So easy to make, and with the short "proofing" time you can start making the dough the minute you get home from work and have dinner on the table in less than an hour. Comes out crisp and chewy. Definitely a "keeper" in my recipe notebook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2005

      Perfect! I love this recipe, we cut the dough in two and use each one for a baking sheet size pizza. Perfect that way for a thin crispy crust. Thanks so much for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2005

      Thanks for a great recipe!! This is the first pizza I've made. I simply love it. It was so easy to make and tasted better than store bought dough or premade pizza... actually, even better than some pizza restaurants!!! I have alreay made this 4 times!! I improvise every time.. Now I use 1 cup all purpose and 3/4 cup wheat with Itallian seansoning, onion powder and garlic powder. All at 1/2 teasp each. I also read somewhere that it is easier to roll the pizza out by using a small spice bottle.. Works really well.. Instead of baking it at 425F , I roll the pizza to a 16" and bake at 400F for 10 mins. I use a dark pizza pad with tiny holes at the bottom. IT turns out really well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2005

      this review is from my boyfriend who insisted that i give you the highest rating possible for this crust. it's crisp, thin and delicious! PLUS it's so freaking fast to prepare. definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2005

      My quest for the ultimate pizza dough is over - this is incredible. Really very good. My husband and I make this nearly every weekend with the eager help of our three young ones. So long pizza parlours! Thanks RecipeNut!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2005

      Simple and so good! The dough was easy to handle. I will use this now instead of my usual recipe. I did add about 1/4 cup of grated parmesan cheese to the dough. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2003

      Pizza delivery is not an option when you live out in the country - so I used to buy the crust & go from there - but no more! This was quick & easy with ingredients that I had in the pantry, including the corn meal. Last night, it was Hawaiian - next time, it'll be Mediterranean. Thanx RecipeNut!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2003

      I usually make crust with my breadmachine, but for some reason decided not to today. I found this quick recipe and thought I'd give it a shot. It produced a nice thick crust with great flavor. Instead of oil spray in the rising bowl I used olive oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for New York-Style Pizza Crust

    Serving Size: 1 (397 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 824.0
     
    Calories from Fat 21
    63%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1173.7 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 172.5 g
    57%
    Dietary Fiber 6.8 g
    27%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    19%
    Protein 24.0 g
    48%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes