Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / New York-Style Pizza Crust Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    New York-Style Pizza Crust

    Average Rating:

    102 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 102

    Sort by:

    • on September 13, 2008

      I have tried so many pizza crusts, from frozen to prepared crust. I have always been skeptical about making my own crust, but after finding your recipe; I will never look again. This is the best crust ever. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2008

      Chewy and crunchy, thin and crispy or thick and soft, this recipe can do it all! It's all in how you treat it once the measuring is done. After making this recipe for a few months I prefer hand mixing and kneading this to using our Kitchen Aid mixer with the dough hook. For best results I'd knead the dough for AT LEAST 15 minutes, it's a lot of work, but really makes all the difference in the texture. I've found that the 12" round leads to a lot more dough than I thought I needed, so it ends up as more of a thick, fluffy, soft crust and to get a thin, crunchy crust I either have to divide the dough in two or stretch it over a larger pan, in my case a 14 X 16 inch flat steel pan. I'd personally recommend pre-cooking the dough for 3 minutes or so, and experiment with where you place the pizza in your oven. I'm glad I found this recipe, it's been a great tool for me to learn a lot about dough! Thanks so much RecipeNut!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      The is the only pizza crust recipe we will ever use now -- it is fantastic. One trick I have learned with pizza crust is to make it much earlier than you need to use it, and just punch it down every time you walk through the kitchen. It makes the dough much more elastic and easier to stretch out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2008

      One word...Awesome. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      made this for dinner last night and it was devoured.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      very good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      Very yummy!! I used the rapid rise yeast, subd in 2 TBS vital wheat gluten for 2 TBS all- Purpose flour. I also let the dough rise for 1-11/2 hr. The crust was perfect, thin crunchy, and having a chew. From two extreamly picky pizza eaters- look no further, this is New York style crust.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      just the chewy crust i was looking for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      What a great crust! I doubled the recipe and made it three different ways- thick crust, hand tossed, and super thin. All were delicious and perfect. I was not sure what 1/8 ounce of yeast was so I just used 1 tsp. I also let the dough rise for about an hour. I have made a lot of different recipes for pizza crusts and my family agrees this is by far the best tasting and the easist to make. Thanks RecipeNut!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      This is exactly the crust I was looking for. Crispy and chewy. I will be using this always. My family loved it and thought it was better then delivery!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      GREAT!!! Every dough I've made has been soft and full, we wanted something that was crisp on the outside and chewy in the middle and this recipe is just that! Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      Ok i have found at last the best pizza crust recipe! This IS it! It is absolutely perfect. Chewy on the inside and so crisp on the outside. The bottom even browns up nicely if placed on the bottom shelf in the oven. Im in love!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      Finally a chewy crust I can't believe it! I have been trying pizza crust recipes for years looking for this one. Additionally, I made this in my bread machine. What a relief my search for this "holy pizza crust grail" is over! Thanks a million. (I used bread flour and baked the whole pizza on a preheated pizza pan in 500 degree oven.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      I liked the way this dough tasted, but I thought it was difficult and time consuming to work with using the pat and stretch method. It stretched out better than any dough I have ever worked with, but I was getting frustrated with trying to get it into any shape at all. I will keep trying until I get it right. Maybe I will just roll it out next time and see how that goes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2007

      Wow, this was FABULOUS! I've tried lots of pizza crust recipes over the years but HANDS DOWN this is the best! So easy to work with, unlike a lot of dough I've tried. Thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2007

      I want to tell you-my whole house smelled like a pizzaria last night. This was such an easy, simple recipe and it was, hands down, the best pizza crust I've ever eaten. I began to doubt myself when I patted and stretched, patted and stretched and tore the crust a few times, but it patched up easily. I baked it 3 minutes on the very bottom rack, then 2-3 minutes on the very top rack to broil my cheese. Awesome stuff here. Yum! Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2007

      It was good and held up nicely loaded with toppings. I had to guess how much yeast to add sense all I had was a 1/4 oz. pack of active dry yeast but still came out okay. Next time I will try the fast rise yeast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2007

      Great recipe RecipeNut! Super easy, super good. The crust held up well with several vegetable toppings and I even used it to make "on the go" breakfast Calzone's for my husband, using scrambled egg whites, roasted red peppers, fresh basil and mushrooms. This is now my pizza dough staple recipe. Mahalo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2007

      Wow! What a fantastic crust! A wonderful taste and texture - crispy, yet soft... Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for New York-Style Pizza Crust

    Serving Size: 1 (397 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 824.0
     
    Calories from Fat 21
    63%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1173.7 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 172.5 g
    57%
    Dietary Fiber 6.8 g
    27%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    19%
    Protein 24.0 g
    48%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes