103 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love this recipe! Who'd have thought that pizza crust recipes could vary so much? This has become our go-to recipe. I add a tiny bit more sugar and salt, and about a tsp of olive oil. Bake at 475 for 17, perfect every time! Thanks, RecipeNut!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ddpd October 31, 2011

I just registered on the website just so I could leave this recipe a five-star review. I've made a lot of pizza over the years and finally found a favorite standby, but this recipe just deposed it. Delicious, like eating GOOD restaurant pizza, nice a crusty and, yes, chewy. I substituted 1 cup of the flour with whole wheat, added pinches of basil, oregano, and rosemary, and a couple shakes each of garlic powder and parmesan cheese. I was skeptical of the 500-degree oven temp because my previous recipe was low compared to that, but it came out perfect. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ad Hoc Armadillo September 03, 2011

Perfect! We just moved away from NYC to a place where it is impossible to get a real pizza. We have been experimenting at home to try to duplicate our fav pizza from NY and this is the closest we've come! It takes a little more time/effort, but it is worth it! I tripled the recipe and we found that our crust was done each time at about 10-12 min on such a high heat. Thanks for taking us back!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chefcrystal August 08, 2011

The perfect pizza crust!!! I have tried many and this is it if you want authentic NYC crust. The edge is crispy and chewy but the body of it is foldable. Great bread flavor! Great recipe for the kids to make their own pizzas. Another great twist on this is to spread garlic butter on the edge of the crust BEFORE you bake and right before you serve.

TAKE YOUR DOUGH SCRAPS AND MAKE HOMEMADE CINNAMON ROLLS WITH THEM!!!

The kids loved this. Take the dough scraps and spread margarine on them then sprinkle a cinnamon/sugar mix (cinnamon toast mix) over them and bake at 400. This was the perfect desert for the kids.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bevo41 August 05, 2011

great crust. It was easy to make, and cooked beautifully. Crispy bottom with soft edges. thanks so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PrincessPage July 10, 2011

The best pizza crust I've ever made. The consistency was perfect. Crispy on the bottom and chewy in the middle. I could actually take the pizza out of the pan with a spatula and transfer to a cooling rack. I've never been able to do this with any other recipe, the pizza would just fall apart. Could be a hair more flavorful though. Overall awesome recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jtwtech April 05, 2011

Excellent crust. Made two crust recipes. One pizza with olive oil and fresh garlic on crust, topped with mozzarella and provolone, sprinkled with basil, oregano and a few pinches of organic cane sugar. The other pizza was made with sauce from Iron Mike's Sweet Tomato Pizza Sauce - the Spirit of Cincinnati (with brown sugar and honey cut in half...read other's reviews) topped with mozzarella and provolone.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ourpettingzoo February 20, 2011

I have honestly been searching for the perfect crust for at least the last 10 years. I'm kind of picky when it comes to crusts. I think I can finally stop looking. I love how I can get an initial crunch in a bite, but then the inside is nice and soft dough. I live at 9000 ft, and it seems like I am always adding more flour, which is weird for elevation. Usually it dries out easy and needs more water. With the extra flour, I can almost cut it into two crusts. The one thing to watch at elevation, is that your dough rises faster, so you don't have to go for the full time. I usually go a little longer than half or when it's doubled. Thank you for posting this crust!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enestvmel January 26, 2011

This pizza dough is great and easy to make. we had pizza night and it turned out great. family favorite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Homesteaderearl November 20, 2010

Like this alot , The only thing I will do diffrent is roll the dough out more . Didnt have a rollin pen so it was a bit thick, But good thanks. Pizza can be made so many ways thank you for posting. New York Style Pizza is the best way to go .

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whoopytooties October 01, 2010
New York-Style Pizza Crust