Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / New York-Style Pizza Crust Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    New York-Style Pizza Crust

    Average Rating:

    102 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 102

    Sort by:

    • on January 30, 2011

      I've found my HG pizza crust, thank you! I have made this and eaten it fresh, and I have also made it (up to the point where you form it into the crust) and frozen it for future use. It works beautifully if you thaw it in the fridge all day, and then let it sit at room temperature for about an hour before you start forming your crust. The flavor is great, the thickness is perfect, I love this dough. I always use bread flour in this recipe, and I have quadrupled this recipe with great results. We like to make our own mini pizzas with this recipe, and my kids love having their own pizza that they made themselves. Thank you for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2010

      Oh My! Yum! I put quite a bite of olive oil on the pan for flavor. It crisped up nicely and was soft/chewy on the inside. Due to the high temp I didn't have to pre-cook the mushrooms or anything...wonderful crust!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      Mmm, just what I was looking for. I baked mine for about 7 minutes directly on the oven rack and then took it out and then topped it. This crust comes out perfectly crispy on the bottom and has great flavor as well. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      I didn't know if this was going to turn out for me or not since I was feeling really lazy (and I don't have really good luck with making dough by hand) and used my breadmaker's dough cycle... I wasn't really sure what 1/8oz of yeast was, so I converted it to 3.5g and it actually came out to a scant 1.5 tsp. Since I was using the breadmaker, I only warmed my water to 85F and let the machine do all the work. It worked perfectly!!! Then I followed the recipe starting at step 9... I loved this dough... so easy to work with and it didn't tear on me at all... I patted it out to a perfect 12in round on my pizza pan ( just sprayed with olive oil, no corn meal) pre-baked at 425F for 7 min ( after "forking it" ) and then sauced it with Ultimate Pizza Sauce topped off with fresh mozzarella and baked for another 8-10 min on the top rack (I don't like my bottom crust to be that dark). It was beautiful! This is my go-to crust from now on... The crust was just perfect... not too thin or thick and the outside ring was crispy on the outside and so soft and chewy on the inside... I had a piece the next day warmed in the microwave and it was still really good... Thanks for a great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      I love this recipe, thank you for sharing it! I like it so much, I'll be replacing it with the Pizza Hut recipe, I've used many times. This one is so much easier though to work with. I tripled this recipe, and increased the water to 3 full measures. Kneaded it in a bread machine, after it was finished kneading. I took the dough out and put olive oil on the outside while it was rising. It doubled very fast in a pre warmed(slightly) oven, then turned off the oven for the duration of the time for the dough to rise, which was only about 40 minutes, could have been less but this is the time I checked it. What I love the most about the crust though is that it was very easy to roll out. I was worried at first it might come out too doughy or tough. But, it came out PERFECT for me and as I said before I'll be using this recipe from now on. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe! Regards.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      Loved this stuff. Fit my 16" pan perfectly, just had to pull and prod a little. Used 3/4 tsp of quick rise yeast and subbed 1Tbsp flour for gluten. Pricked with a fork then baked 7 min @ 475, topped then baked another 10. Easy to work with and a chewy but crunchy result, and stood up well to quite a few toppings. Yup, this is the one for me. Thanks for this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2014

      In my opinion, this is the perfect crust! Made as directed using a high quality bread flour. Preheated my pizza stone then sprayed with olive oil cooking spray and sprinkled with cornmeal just before placing the crust on the hot stone. Baked 5 minutes then topped with minced garlic, olive oil, and all other toppings then baked about 9 more minutes to finish. I believe use of the bread flour and cooking at such a high temp on bottom rack is key. So glad I decided to double the recipe and freeze half per Mommy2two review. Can't wait for the next pizza night!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2013

      I keep coming back to this recipe! I've created about 3 pizzas with it now, and it only keeps getting better. I've found it is extremely important to take your time kneading the 2nd time and shaping the pizza to flatten out any bubbles. 500 degrees for about 10 mins is all it takes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2012

      very easy and very good crust. loved it! i used whole wheat flour and it was just fantastic. thanks for the recipe! i'll be using this a lot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2012

      So easy and suh great results!
      I don't get along well with yeast but seeing how simple this recipe was I decided to give it a try since I had some fresh mozarella close to it's expiration date.
      The dough is super easy to work with and needs very little extra flour because it's not sticky.
      I did find it needed a little more salt that the recipe calls for. I rolled it really thin, topped it, and baked on a cooling rack. The bottom crisped beautifully and the edges were nice and chewy.
      Who needs to pay $30 a pie in a fancy pizza rest when you can make this at home?!
      Going to try to recreate my favorite pizza from a local pizza shop next!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2012

      This is great crust. I made this last night and the only problem I had with it was, I wished I would have made two!! We loved it. It cooked up beautifully and just the right thickness. I didn't use a pizza pan but just a regular jelly roll pan. We loved it, thank you for sharing this recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2012

      Easy! Loved it. Going in our regular rotation. Didn't need any extra flour. Everyone devoured it. Fed just two adults and two little girls so a bigger family better plan on doubling it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2012

      So good and chewy....I served this for Super Bowl Sunday and it was a hit. The next day with the leftovers I heated in skillet with some oil oil to crisp up the crust, my goodness...delicious. I used 1.5 t. of the yeast with great results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2012

      This produces a wonderfully tender and fluffy crust with a nice crisp on the bottom from the cornmeal (I also oiled the pan with a good bit of evoo). Delicate and flavorful, this is a great pizza crust or cheese stick recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2012

      I used this recipe for a stromboli...turned out great crispy yet soft and chewy...great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2012

      This turned out great. Perfect texture and thickness. It was easy too, well from where I sat sipping my wine it looked easy while my husband was making it. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2011

      So, so good and so so easy to make. This made a perfect 14" thin crust pizza. I used it to make The Best Taco Pizza Ever!! so added additional flavors to it, but the end result was just perfect. I'll make this one again. Thanks. Made for "Let's Party 2011"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2011

      Very easy. My first time not using the bread machine to mix. Had to make pizza two days in a row because all loved it. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2011

      Love it! Thin crust, crispy edges...perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2011

      I love this recipe! Who'd have thought that pizza crust recipes could vary so much? This has become our go-to recipe. I add a tiny bit more sugar and salt, and about a tsp of olive oil. Bake at 475 for 17, perfect every time! Thanks, RecipeNut!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for New York-Style Pizza Crust

    Serving Size: 1 (397 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 824.0
     
    Calories from Fat 21
    63%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1173.7 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 172.5 g
    57%
    Dietary Fiber 6.8 g
    27%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    19%
    Protein 24.0 g
    48%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites