103 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've found my HG pizza crust, thank you! I have made this and eaten it fresh, and I have also made it (up to the point where you form it into the crust) and frozen it for future use. It works beautifully if you thaw it in the fridge all day, and then let it sit at room temperature for about an hour before you start forming your crust. The flavor is great, the thickness is perfect, I love this dough. I always use bread flour in this recipe, and I have quadrupled this recipe with great results. We like to make our own mini pizzas with this recipe, and my kids love having their own pizza that they made themselves. Thank you for sharing your recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy2two January 30, 2011

Oh My! Yum! I put quite a bite of olive oil on the pan for flavor. It crisped up nicely and was soft/chewy on the inside. Due to the high temp I didn't have to pre-cook the mushrooms or anything...wonderful crust!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsScarlettOhara September 10, 2010

Mmm, just what I was looking for. I baked mine for about 7 minutes directly on the oven rack and then took it out and then topped it. This crust comes out perfectly crispy on the bottom and has great flavor as well. Thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristy D. July 11, 2010

I didn't know if this was going to turn out for me or not since I was feeling really lazy (and I don't have really good luck with making dough by hand) and used my breadmaker's dough cycle... I wasn't really sure what 1/8oz of yeast was, so I converted it to 3.5g and it actually came out to a scant 1.5 tsp. Since I was using the breadmaker, I only warmed my water to 85F and let the machine do all the work. It worked perfectly!!! Then I followed the recipe starting at step 9... I loved this dough... so easy to work with and it didn't tear on me at all... I patted it out to a perfect 12in round on my pizza pan ( just sprayed with olive oil, no corn meal) pre-baked at 425F for 7 min ( after "forking it" ) and then sauced it with Ultimate Pizza Sauce topped off with fresh mozzarella and baked for another 8-10 min on the top rack (I don't like my bottom crust to be that dark). It was beautiful! This is my go-to crust from now on... The crust was just perfect... not too thin or thick and the outside ring was crispy on the outside and so soft and chewy on the inside... I had a piece the next day warmed in the microwave and it was still really good... Thanks for a great recipe!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
atlfitgirl August 20, 2008

I love this recipe, thank you for sharing it! I like it so much, I'll be replacing it with the Pizza Hut recipe, I've used many times. This one is so much easier though to work with. I tripled this recipe, and increased the water to 3 full measures. Kneaded it in a bread machine, after it was finished kneading. I took the dough out and put olive oil on the outside while it was rising. It doubled very fast in a pre warmed(slightly) oven, then turned off the oven for the duration of the time for the dough to rise, which was only about 40 minutes, could have been less but this is the time I checked it. What I love the most about the crust though is that it was very easy to roll out. I was worried at first it might come out too doughy or tough. But, it came out PERFECT for me and as I said before I'll be using this recipe from now on. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe! Regards.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking Mother February 15, 2010

Loved this stuff. Fit my 16" pan perfectly, just had to pull and prod a little. Used 3/4 tsp of quick rise yeast and subbed 1Tbsp flour for gluten. Pricked with a fork then baked 7 min @ 475, topped then baked another 10. Easy to work with and a chewy but crunchy result, and stood up well to quite a few toppings. Yup, this is the one for me. Thanks for this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3shihmum August 26, 2009

I have been using this recipe for a couple of years now, but I didn't realize I have never rated it. I echo all the other rave reviews; it's flexible, consistent, and so delicious. We have made pizzas and turnovers with this recipe. It doubles perfectly. I let mine rise on the dryer which is in my kitchen and the dough always turns out just right.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CurlDiva February 08, 2015

In my opinion, this is the perfect crust! Made as directed using a high quality bread flour. Preheated my pizza stone then sprayed with olive oil cooking spray and sprinkled with cornmeal just before placing the crust on the hot stone. Baked 5 minutes then topped with minced garlic, olive oil, and all other toppings then baked about 9 more minutes to finish. I believe use of the bread flour and cooking at such a high temp on bottom rack is key. So glad I decided to double the recipe and freeze half per Mommy2two review. Can't wait for the next pizza night!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FolkDiva February 17, 2014

I keep coming back to this recipe! I've created about 3 pizzas with it now, and it only keeps getting better. I've found it is extremely important to take your time kneading the 2nd time and shaping the pizza to flatten out any bubbles. 500 degrees for about 10 mins is all it takes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emershine August 28, 2013

very easy and very good crust. loved it! i used whole wheat flour and it was just fantastic. thanks for the recipe! i'll be using this a lot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adams.wifey November 28, 2012
New York-Style Pizza Crust