11 Reviews

Moist, tender, lightly sweet, and light as a feather cake topped with gorgeous little bits of almost pastry-like cinnamon sweetness. This was SOOOOO good. Some of my crumb sank in places...I am sure I probably didn't get it distributed super evenly, so it was likely my fault, but even so, the taste is 5* times a million!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
under12parsecs July 07, 2011

SOOOO GOOOOOD!!The best crumb cake EVER in my opinion!! I like that there is lots of crumbs. It took a hour to bake instead of 35-40 min and it turned out great. I made cake flour with all purpose flour + cornstarch and that worked just fine. Great cake to make last minute when you need something special for guests because all the ingredients are what one would normally have on hand. Thanks for posting it!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Japanese Delight March 22, 2009

I watched the video on America's Test Kitchen when they made this cake and knew I had to try it. Fortunately, I was lucky enought to find the recipe here! My only issue was that my crumb topping was a little bit dry....it was hard to form the balls without them crumbling apart which ended up with me having alot of loose crumbs instead of alot of moist little balls....but it was still OUTRAGEOUS. The cake was so moist, and the crumb topping was at least half the cake, if not more. Even my husband, who is not the world's biggest crumb cake fan, ate 3 pieces with a giant glass of milk. Well worth the effort!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HppieFreak May 18, 2012

This one is beyond good! It is the New York-Style with the big crumbs on top that taste like little cookies with just a bit of cinnamon. If you like shortbread or simple cookies, this cake is for you. The cake part is so tender and it goes perfectly with the crumbs. I wouldn't change a thing on this one.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GinaCucina September 13, 2009

This is a Deicious Crumb cake! Im only giving it 4 stars because the topping in my opinion was a bit dry and not sweet enough in my opinion..So my changes were to add 2 more tbs of butter and a bit more sugar! With my changes the cake was PERFECT!!! This recipe does make ALOT of crumb topping! Thats what I loved about it!! I would reccomend this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ann K. January 14, 2016

I love this cake! the first time I made it, i was perfect, but the next time the crumbs sank a little next time a little more, the 4 th time the whole cake was upside down? What happened? Need help!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BARBARA C. January 04, 2016

This was the best crumb cake I've ever tasted. Never again will I eat store bought. I made my first one only a month ago and have made it several more times since then to share with others. Everyone who has eaten it raved about how good it was. Thank you for posting it this recipe, it was a major hit. <3

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sohoyankee October 13, 2015

To die for! Just superb!! Didn't use all of the crumb mixture, however. I may cut that part of the recipe in half since I don't like an overly thick layer of crumbs on top. Delicious!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rose Zagaja January 24, 2015

I have made this three times now. My DH is in love. He really loves crumb topping and this has the best crumb to cake ratio. I drop the crumb from very high that way is pushes into the cake batter. This makes some of the crumb cook into the cake. I always try to freeze some before all of it is gone. It does defrost very well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coppercloud November 24, 2014

Oh my goodness, this is so good. Growing up in Germany I have had Crumb Cake weekly. This is the best. I will never have to order them again from a famous baker online.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pickles1010az November 10, 2013
New York-Style Crumb Cake (America's Test Kitchen)