Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / New York Style Cheesecake on Shortbread Crust Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    New York Style Cheesecake on Shortbread Crust

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on September 20, 2002

      Heaven-on-a-fork is the best way to describe this recipe! This cheesecake was very dense and creamy. I didn't make the shortbread crust for the bottom of the cheesecake, rather, I made a traditional graham cracker crust. I have never made a cheesecake that hasn't cracked, and was so excited to make a perfect cheesecake for the very first time. I could not find a pan to put my 10-inch springform pan into so, I used two pans on a rack below my springform pan and poured boiling water into both of them to create a steamy/humid environment for the cheesecake (worked great). The cake will appear jiggly as Steve mentioned, but upon cooling you've got the perfect cheesecake. Thanks so much for posting this wonderful recipe!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2002

      One word-Heaven-this was excellent. The only thing I will do next time is run a knife around the pan before I loosen the springform ring. I will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2003

      WOW! I received showers of praise from everyone who tried this. It was AWESOME! The cake's presentation, texture, and taste was extrordinary. And Steve is right, serving this cake plain is the best!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2011

      Let me begin by saying I was skeptical about trying a cheesecake recipe due to the fact that I prefer cheesy over creamy and I've always been rather intimidated by the thought of attempting a cheesecake. That being said...this is probably the most comprehensive instructions to achieving PERFECT results. I followed the instructions to the letter and found that the cheesy flavor with the creaminess of the consistency made me realize that you CAN have the best of both worlds. Don't kid yourself...this is not a quick-result experience, so if you're looking for a fast-fix for dessert for tonights dinner? this isn't it. It's time-consuming but OMG is it fantastic. My first cheesecake...and my second...AND my third, all in the same week - all huge successes!! I posted a pic of my first one, which was surrounded by strawberries. I've recieved unbelieveable compliments on it (I do admit I upped the vanilla amount, due to the fact that I use a vanilla paste, as opposed to a vanilla extract - i LOVE vanilla bean).
      Anyone with any hesitations about tackling this....need look no further for a better recipe. This is the gold standard.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2011

      I agree with the other reviews on here, this is a wonderful recipe with amazing instructions. The flavor is great, the crust is wonderful. The only downside is that the center has turned out a little less-cooked than I would like. I thought that perhaps it had something to do with my 8000ft elevation, but it appears others have had the same issue. I have correct temperatures and everything. I'm making it tonight, and I'm going to increase oven temp by about 15-25 degrees, and cooking time by about 20% too. Keep your fingers crossed! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2010

      This is fabulous! I gave myself the whole day to do this so I wasn't rushed and tempted to take shortcuts. I followed the recipe and instructions exactly and it turned out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2010

      Thank you Steve_G!! This was a big hit for my DH's boss' bday!!! I will say patience is the key to this recipe; I blended slooooowly, didn't open the oven door, or turn on the light. (I did however use my flashlight to take a peek.) My only suggestion is to use a knife to loosen the edges of the cooked cake before opening latch. If you don't the cake may stick and will crack. I know this because it happened to me. I followed directions as written with no additions and it came out smooth and perfect. I will be making this again so I finally get a piece!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      Steve_G, I made this fabulous cheesecake the texture is silk the taste is velvet the experience divine. After hundreds of cheesecakes through the years this cheesecake is exquisite and the crust makes the taste one of my favourites! The only thing I changed is the temperature in my convection oven as it runs very hot 350 degree's for 10 minutes 250 degree's for 2 hrs. and then let cool in the turned off oven. Thanks for sharing a great recipe I will make this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2011

      WOW! I was in a mood for a project so I went in search of a really good cheesecake recipe. FOUND IT! This is fantastic! I followed the recipe to the letter, did not change or skip a single step. I took it out of the fridge thismorning and took the sides off and had to try a sliver. I could keel over and die right now and be perfectly happy! By the way, it's 6:45 am haha. Couldn't help myself!
      *UPDATE* I made this again last night and all I can say is Oh. My. Goodness!! There's no way there's a better cheesecake than this one. There may be a few just as good, but none better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      Brilliant! I'd love to know the origins of this recipe, how it came about. I looked at EVERY New York Style Cheesecake recipe on this site (and honestly, a few others, but I ALWAYS end up here!) I kept coming back to this one. I liked the idea of a shortbread crust, and was really looking for an alternative method to baking in a water bath. (I have always had trouble with leaky springform pans and foil!) This one fit the bill on both counts. To be honest, I was a bit nervous about the whole "don't open the oven door, trust the directions and timing" deal, but I cannot imagine any recipe yielding a better result than I got with this. I even used a 9" pan because it's all I have, no runny middle, no undercooked anything, just delicious, thick, rich, creamy CHEESECAKE NIRVANA!!! BRILLIANT! 09/23/08 I wanted to update my review to include my recent experience. I wanted to make this for my cheesecake loving friend for her birthday, but her husband is diabetic. I decided to make the recipe exactly as written, but used splenda in place of all sugar, and it was FANTASTIC! They are still raving about it! Thanks also to Steve for his help, advice, and above all, for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2003

      Hey Steve-This really is an amazing cheesecake. I Loved the crust and the texture is perfection. After one slice I had a v e r y hard time ignoring the cheesecake calling to me. My Girls devoured it in no time flat! The only concern I had was that the cheesecake was a little jiggly, however it set beautifully. Thank's for posting this awsome recipe! Di

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2003

      HEAVEN IS AN UNDERSTATEMENT!! I have made this cheesecake three times already and every time we eat it it just seems to get better and better. The first time I did exactly as the recipe said, I didn't change a thing. Fabulous!! The second time I tried a very thin coating of chocolate on top (I'm a choco-holic had to try it). Still Fabulous!! The third time, again,no topping (at my husbands request). My guests went crazy when they tried it. Absolutely the best cheesecake you will ever make. I'd just like to mention to "dale" I had it burn on me once too, (I have an electric oven- temp.in Celsius) but that's because I didn't convert the temperature to Celsius right and my oven got way too hot. I just scraped off the top and covered with chocolate. Just make sure you double check the temperature, or just turn it down even more. Thanks for a great cheesecake SteveG!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2003

      This is the mother of all cheesecakes. After tasting this, you will never be able to go back.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2002

      Hey Dale! Sorry to hear about your problem. I make this cake a lot and have never had it burn. I think there may be some temperture issues with your oven. You may want to calibrate

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2014

      For my very first baked cheesecake, this was a homerun! Thank you to Steve_G for uploading such clear and precise directions. My only problem was my crust got a little too hard. Does anyone have any suggestions as to how I can avoid that? (I'm a newlywed just learning to bake and cook, so please forgive any ignorant questions!)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2013

      I made this for Thanksgiving for the first time. I was amazing and perfect! I always check on everything I bake so not being able to open the door or turn on the light was for me. I followed the directions exactly. My Dad has ate cheesecake in New York know as some of the best. He said this beat them. My go to cheesecake from now on. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2013

      Best cheesecake recipe ever! This recipe explains technique which will help make sure it turns out right. I forgot about the heavy cream, because the instructions never tell you to add it, but it didn't seem to need it. Perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2013

      Very good step by step directions that lead to an excellent cheesecake. I even had people who don't like cheesecake loving it. Highly recommended!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2012

      I served this New Year's Day to 13 people...and they raved about this! I ate my "test" sliver when I took it directly out of the fridge after the overnight refrigeration and I was a little worried about a dominant egg taste. Then I had a room temp piece with the other guests and almost fell off my chair. Fantastic! Thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      The best cheesecake ever! I made it for my family and they were all very impressed because it looks so professionally made. The trick of this one is to bake it with the water in the oven to create a "steam room".

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for New York Style Cheesecake on Shortbread Crust

    Serving Size: 1 (142 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 489.5
     
    Calories from Fat 304
    62%
    Total Fat 33.8 g
    52%
    Saturated Fat 18.9 g
    94%
    Cholesterol 188.9 mg
    62%
    Sodium 317.7 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.3 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 28.4 g
    113%
    Protein 8.3 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites