Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / New York Strip Steak With Brandied Mushrooms Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    New York Strip Steak With Brandied Mushrooms

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on December 17, 2010

      This is not bad but, needed to add a little flour to think the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2010

      Great steak. I made as written but only one steak. Served with French onion soup and Potatoes Gratin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      The sauce was amazing, and so easy! I didn't have brandy, so I used red wine but it was still very good. Will try brandy next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2008

      My journey to making this superb recipe for tonight's dinner involved being initially drawn to it by Boomette's enticing photograph, and having I'mPat translating what "New York Strip Steak" is here! Then with "N" up in All New Zaar Cookbooks Tag, I grabbed the chance to tag this recipe. I was halving the recipe for two so got my butcher to cut two strips of porterhousee steak and (as a mushroom lover) with a generous interpretation of what half of two pounds of mushrooms meant, I was ready to go! Wonderfully clear instructions and this dish was just superb! I have only very rarely used brandy in cooking but after discovering the mushroom component of this recipe...WOW! We are not big steak eaters, but enjoyed this dish immensely. But I will be making mushrooms this way again - SOON! Garlic and thyme are just so perfect with mushrooms, but the brandy and cream: a superb taste sensation. I used low-fat cream as I've always found one can cut calories there without any appreciable loss of flavour and richness, and I needed to do that as I plan to make these often. Thanks for sharing yet another fantastic recipe, Lainey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      DH cooked the steak on the bbq (which was 1 hour in a marinade with Montreal Spice Blend, soy sauce and olive oil). And I cooked the mushrooms in the skillet, followed all the steps. At the end, when the sauce with the mushrooms were ready, I added the juice of the cooked steak in it to give it more flavour. Nothing was wasted. It was so good. Even DS liked the mushrooms. Thanks Lainey. Made for Zaar Star Game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      I was so hungry for steak and decided to make this recipe. I made exactly as written other then I didn't cook the steaks in oil but on the grill. I also didn't have fresh thyme so used dried. These was really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2008

      This rating is really for the mushrooms since we prefer our steaks grilled... but the brandied mushrooms were the real winner here... I used only 1lb of mushrooms since it is only the 2 of us, but I know we could have polished off 2lbs... they were that good!! Made them just as written and they were to die for... Loved the creaminess and the brandy aroma... We will make these often... thanks for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      Wow, this is AWESOME... We eat this once a week and I can not wait to make this at my mothers inn in Brevard, NC. I know she will LOVE this. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      Outstanding recipe. The grocery store did not have the whole muchrooms so had to use sliced, which was fine for me and added in some chopped onion. I also doubled the sauce because we like saucy. Other than that made as directed. Delicious. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      Superb! I have been "looking" for this recipe for mushrooms for years. They taste exactly like some I had in a restaurant about 35 years ago. I love the memory and now I can love the reality again and again. These are just delicious, and beautiful with the mushrooms left whole. Thanks so much for posting. Plus, the steak was perfect. The mushrooms are "the thing" here. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for New York Strip Steak With Brandied Mushrooms

    Serving Size: 1 (565 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 903.8
     
    Calories from Fat 562
    62%
    Total Fat 62.4 g
    96%
    Saturated Fat 25.6 g
    128%
    Cholesterol 270.3 mg
    90%
    Sodium 1042.8 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.1 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 66.2 g
    132%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites