11 Reviews

So my fiance NEVER says "5 stars" to recipes from Zaar but... he gave 5 stars to this one! Made with the boursin - it was my first time having it and it was hard to keep from eating this straight while cooking! Made with filet mignon and used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. Made for Aussie/NZ Recipe Swap #22

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThatSouthernBelle November 30, 2008

This was fantastic! I had to improvise a bit and used chive and herb cream cheese. We also forgot the parsley at the end. But it was so good even without. We served ours with seasoned potato wedges which may not be very gourmet, but they were the PERFECT match to the steak. And the sauce was super on them as well! My dh even dipped one of my son's chicken nuggets into the sauce left in the pan and said it was great that way. If you wanna impress this is the one to make! Oct.08... we had this again tonight and it is just as good as I remembered if not better! This really is to die for! This time we made it with some roasted red potatoes! The sauce was amazing on top of them! This might truly be one of my all time favorite meals! And I don't even normally like steak all that much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CulinaryExplorer October 03, 2008

This was very tasty! I made the Sauce to serve over grilled Filet Mignon, and I was very pleasantly surprised at how great it was.I normally don't like anything on my steak.I will surely make this again, maybe trying white wine next time just to see. Thanks BabyKato for sharing it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bert's Kitchen Witch March 18, 2007

Great Sauce for New York Strip. We usually don't like to dress up steak but this is a great recipe for something different! I used garlic and herb boursin cheese and a Beaujolais! Perfect! We would eat this any time! Thanks Baby Kato!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper February 18, 2007

This made a delicious dinner for our family. I used the cream cheese with garlic and herbs and it was yummy. The steaks were very moist.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 February 12, 2007

I used Boursin cheese and Marsala wine and served it over grilled sirloin instead of pan fried New York strip. It was very good, but I'm not sure it was worth the expense as 10 oz of Boursin cost me almost half again as much as 4 lbs of steak. Next time I'll just use garlic and herb cream cheese and see if it's really worth the extra expense. Served with twice baked potatoes. Thanks for a nice dinner.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littleturtle August 15, 2006

The steaks I intended to use for the recipe ended up being venison stew meat, so I ground up the meat and make ground venison steaks and topped with the wonderful garlic sauce. The sauce is to die for and will be delicious on anything you want to put it on top of. I used red wine and the color was barely noticed because of the amount of cream cheese added.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KelBel July 16, 2006

I reduced this recipe to two small steaks and I used white wine in place of red, I used the cream cheese with garlic, my DH loved this for lunch! thank Baby K!...Kitten:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz June 28, 2006

Throughly enjoyed this recipe. My only suggestion is to try it with white wine. Give the sauce a better appearance. Will cook again. Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hiwayman March 10, 2006

sorry, i so badly wanted to love this, but i just didn't. i used the rondale garlic and herb cheese spread (which is expensive, almost $7 for a container!). i guess i felt that it was lacking something. i made as written except i added some fresh garlic and cracked black pepper. i thought the leftover sauce was an excellent dip for garlic bread the next night! thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KPD January 05, 2010
New York Steak with Garlic Cheese Sauce