Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / New York Hot Dog Cart Onion Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    New York Hot Dog Cart Onion Sauce

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on June 05, 2010

      Perfect, a true classic you can't miss with. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      Never had a New York style hot dog before yesterday, but after making the recipe I will only be eating NY hotdogs! So yummy! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      This tastes great! Having never been to New York, can't compare, but had to try this after years of listening to friends from Brooklyn complain about the hot dogs in the Northwest... Not too sweet, but not overpowering on the onion intensity either. Would give 5 stars, but the directions need a little work. Never says where to add the spices, so I put them in after the water reduced... and it says to stir for 20 minutes... Should that be simmer? Anyway, great balance of flavor and I'll make it again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      I have been searching for a recipe like this! Many years ago my grandparents owned a hot dog cart on the Jersey shore and this sauce tastes exactly like the onion sauce they served. I think they served the Sabrett's Onion Sauce on the cart. I often crave this sauce and I can't find anything like this living in the midwest area. Thank you so much for this recipe, it brings back so many wonderful childhood memories for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

      I have a huge weakness for hot dogs and when I found this recipe here I knew I had to try it out. I followed exactly and made a hot dog 'bar' for my family which included onion sauce, saurkraut, mustard, relish, and cheese. Then they could choose what they wanted. I loved the onion sauce! Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      Thanks for posting this easy to make sauce for hot dogs. Having always wanted , but never been to New York this gave me a flavour of all the scenes in the movies of the iconic hot dog stands. Good clear instructions, using simple ingredients that most people have to hand took the ordinary into a new level. Thanks again:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2012

      I'm saying this right up front...I did not have any sauerkraut, however, the onion mixture alone was great. I served it with kielbasa and a touch of mustard. I will make this one again and add the kraut! Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      This was soooo easy and soooo good! I made it for memorial day, and it was delicious on the dogs, brats and burgers! Didn't even need ketchup! Thank you for this recipe :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2008

      This is the sauce! I did use a tidge less water, but it was wonderful. Definite keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      Thank you thank you thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2012

      I am trying to come up with the perfect sauteed onion recipe for my hot dog's. The reviews sound great! Cannot wait to try it. Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2012

      I too, have never had a NYC hot dog...boy was it good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      Worked out well for my hot dog party. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2008

      Simple, quick and oh so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      what i time for me to find this, having blood work done next week! but still printing it off and will be back to rate. i was born and raised in bklyn. thanks for sharing the recipe and the memories

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for New York Hot Dog Cart Onion Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (131 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 75.5
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    37%
    Total Fat 3.1 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 325.0 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.9 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 7.6 g
    30%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites