Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / New York Deli Potato Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    New York Deli Potato Salad

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on July 07, 2011

      Yes, this is the one! If you grew up in Queens NY and long to taste that great vinegary, peppery thin sliced potato salad you had as a child then look no further. Every time I make it someone asks for the recipe. It takes two days to make it, but worth every minute. Also, gets better each day. Be sure to not over cook the potatoes and then slice them thin. Don't forget the parsley.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      This receipe is amazing. I left New York city (Queens) when I was in my twenties. For Thirty years I've been looking for New York Potato Salad. It is not sold anywhere else in the U.S. I've lived in many cities and have traveled to dozens more. I've tried to make it at home with other recipes and they all have failed. This recipe is perfect. I do remember that some deli's had chopped pimento and others had a hint of finely chopped celery. I've added those 2 ingredients and it made a slight difference. It is still just like I remember. Brad, thanks for bringing this recipe to the world once again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2014

      Yup, the one and only!!!! This is the real McCoy. No eggs, no mustard, no relish,no green peppers, no peas. If you insist on eggs make egg salad. Unfortunately it is now next to impossible to find this unique potato salad that was only found in NYC and Long Island. Like pizza, bagels, pastrami, a kaiser roll, a 2 cent plain, a chocolate egg cream and pretzel stick, Hebrew National frankfurters a native New Yorker knows the best the rest of the country can do is try and imitate. Don't rush this salad. Let it sit. It just improves with aging a few days. By the way through the years I must have asked 10 deli's how to make it. They ALWAYS said it was a secret. Like others have posted, every time I introduce it to someone who has never had it, THEY WANT THE RECIPE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2013

      I grew up in Brooklyn and love NY potato salad. On visits home, my kids grew to love it too. Just found this recipe, made it for July 4th BBQ, and wow! It tasted like real NY deli potato salad! We all loved it! Even had Mainers asking for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2013

      I live in NYC and have my whole life. This is hands down the best at home version of what I consider real potato salad. Finally a recipe that doesn't call for chopped up vegetables, eggs and mustard. Mustard? Really? Not in New York! That may be potato salad in the rest of the world, but not here. Its sad that even in local delis it is harder and harder to find this style. Now I can just make it at home. Please let this sit overnight like the recipe tells you to or you will be disappointed. I wish I had found this when it was posted five years ago!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2012

      I used to work at a German Deli and this recipe is very very close to what we used to make. This recipe is good for a base potato salad. If you don't add the mayonnaise and instead add bacon & onion, then heat, you'll have German potato salad. If you add egg & celery to the recipe as is you'll have a deluxe potato salad. All in all great recipe!! Thanks for posting Brad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      At first I was skeptical whether or not my family would like this version of potato salad but what a hit!!! Everyone that trys it asks for the recipe. My traditional recipe with eggs is no longer the favorite in our house! This one is! Thank you for sharing a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      This is really great NY potato salad. Worked fine to scale it down to 2 lbs of new potatoes (skin on for color, vitamins, and fiber). I used black pepper (not a fan of white) and a quarter of the sugar that's called for (I prefer tangy to sweet in potato salad). I might reduce the amount of oil and use dill pickle juice instead of white vinegar next time. Nevertheless, the taste was fabulous as is. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      Perfect, PERfect, PERFECT....Exactly the ONE.....Delicious....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      I made this just as is, though I cut it down. Everybody loved it, even our son who never eats potato salad. He asked for more even after it was all gone. Thanks for posting this, Brad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      Just had to say that this was great! It will be my new potato salad recipe from now on! I used Hellmann's Light mayo and thought it worked just fine. My husband loved it too. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2008

      Excellent recipie Brad, :) thanks a bunch for sharing. I too have searched to recapture this wonderful flavor with no success ;) bravo Brad!. A small hint in case anyone is interested: I hand-whip the mayo before folding it in as it seems to make the potato salad a little more creamy. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      A deli in the town where I grew made the most amazing potato salad. I've trying to replicate it since college, but have always failed until now. This is very close to being THE recipe! I used 3lbs. potatoes, and cut the proportions of everything down 2/3 and reduced the white pepper to 3/4 t. I pureed the onion, liquid ingredients and seasonings in a blender and mixed the oil in last. So easy!!! Thank you for ending my quest for the perfect potato salad recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2008

      Unlike most potato salad recipes on this site that contain mustard this one really is like the NY deli style which is the only one that I like. I had no trouble cutting this recipe down in size although be very careful with the sugar as it is so easy to overdo. When I'm in a rush I just use onion powder instead of shredded onion which is different but still delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for New York Deli Potato Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (132 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 30

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 186.9
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    26%
    Total Fat 5.5 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 242.2 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.8 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 6.2 g
    25%
    Protein 3.1 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites