Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / New York Crumb Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    New York Crumb Cake

    Average Rating:

    89 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 89

    Sort by:

    • on December 22, 2002

      When your toppings are twice the size of the cake itself, you know you've got the classic new york crumb. Very good, and very easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2010

      Fabulous authentic NY Crumbcake!
      For those of you that are not from NY, a NY Crumbcake is usually 1/3 cake & a heavy crumb topping that is always at least 2/3 of the cake.
      Recipe change: I also add 3T sour cream to the recipe, and use melted UNSALTED SWEET butter in the cake instead of canola oil. Butter makes the cake stay fresh longer and gives a better flavor.

      In response to those who have tried using oil in the crumb topping: ICK! Don't do it!!!

      I feel that this cake comes out best baked in a 9"x9"x2" heavy aluminum cake pan. (My favorite pans are the Fatdaddios heavy professional Aluminum bakeware pans).

      Bake at 350* for 40 minutes.

      For holiday giving, beware if using the disposable pans... The pan must have a 2" side or the batter will flow out all over the bottom of your oven!

      *** This cake make a beautiful and thoughtful gift, and looks so pretty wrapped with clear gift wrap (available at Michael's Craft Store) and colorful ribbons curled with scissors***

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2003

      This is a wonderful cake! It was easy to make even for a novice like myself. Thanks so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      This crumb cake is the best. It tastes like Entenmanns and it looks like it also. I used a 9x9 pan and glad I did because the batter is a small amount. I had to bake it almost 40 minutes. I put 1/4 tsp almond extract in the batter and 1/4 more cinnamon in the topping. I will definitely make this recipe again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2010

      A true New York Style Crumb Cake. We love it! Have made it a handful of times now. (And PS: the whole point of a NY Style Crumb is that it is loaded with topping)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2008

      I used a 7.5x11 pan and it worked out perfectly using only half the amount of topping. This tastes just like Entenmann's which I love! I used a medium sized bowl for the egg mixture, then just sifted the flour blend over it. After I spread the cake batter in the pan, I used the same medium sized bowl for the topping making this a 1-bowl cake. Mine baked in 30 minutes. Buddha is not fond of coffee cake, but he enjoyed this one. Thanks for posting! ~Bird

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2005

      This was pretty good. I had to bake longer like some other reviewers. Also the topping seemed weak on cinnamon so I doubled it and it was much better, also it seemed not quite sweet enough so I added another 1/4 cup of brown sugar and that seemed to do the trick.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2005

      I did'nt have a sifter, so to say the least I was not able to sift ingredients. This crumb cake was ok, I will probaly not make again, nor add it to my recipes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2005

      They say necessity is the mother of invention. I was craving a New York style crumb cake and Tracy K recommended this one to me. To my dismay I discovered I only had olive oil and no milk and did not feel like going shopping. The olive oil would have been too strong a flavored substitue for the canola oil. That forced me to make a few minor changes that worked out just fine. Instead of using canola oil and flour to grease the baking pan, I used butter and flour. The recipe called for 1/2 cup of milk and 2 tablespoons of canola oil. I didn't have milk in the house but did have a quart of heavy cream. I used heavy cream in place of the milk and increased the amount from 1/2 to 2/3 as cream is much thicker than milk. I didn't add any oil as the heavy cream's higher fat content took it's place too. The rest of the recipe I followed as written. As a few other reviewers found the batter is a bit thick and not easily spread. Instead of adding anymore liquid as one reviewr had, I lightly sprinkled a bit of flour over the batter in the pan and dusted my hands with the flour as well. This allowed me to easily pat the batter perfectly into place withought it sticking to my hands or changing the battter itself. Almost everyone mentioned needing extra baking time, and I was no exception. It took me a total of 30 minutes rather than the 20 the recipe called for before it was done. The end result was fabulous. The texture of the cake was wonderful and the crumbs were perfect too. I will definitely make this one again :) While over-all I found the cake excellent, the cake part was a bit different than what I buy here locally. I think it should have been more like a pound cake or gold cake consistency. It didn't rise as high and light as the cake part of what I buy. Sort of like expecting a cake and ending up with a something more the consistency of a brownie. I gave it 5 stars anyway as it was good on it's own merit. If I were rating it soley on wehther it was a duplicate of what I buy I would have given it only 4.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2005

      Crumbcakes are my favs, and this is my fav crumbcake. It's incredibly delicious. I accidentally printed off 2 copies of this, so i shared the extra with my neighbor. He made it and shared. I can't rate the preparation or bowls, but only the taste. It was EXTREMELY moist and just really, really good. Thanks Martha. Glad to have you back. Thanks Mean for putting the recipe here.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2005

      It was good ... but it took forever to bake for some reason ... at least 35 minutes. It sort of collapsed in the middle and the centre pieces were all crumb with very little of the rest of the cake. The crumbs went ROCK HARD when I refrigerated it, and the yellow part of the cake seemed dry. Just not sure what I did wrong.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2004

      This was a good cake recipe. I found the batter VERY thick so I had to add a bit of extra milk. The taste was good though. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2014

      very nice n easy....having it with vanilla ice cream

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2013

      I've made this cake numerous times. My family really likes this cake! If made with care it's outstanding. The trick with this cake is use a light hand when scooping the flour. Stir your flour, spoon it into the measuring cup and level with a knife. (I also sift the dry batter ingredients. It takes one minute and makes a lighter cake that goes well with the dense buttery crumbs.) Also, use a very light hand after adding the wet to the dry ingredients when making the batter. Mix until everything is well moistened. The batter will not be smooth. I like the recipe as written but once I tried using half white sugar and half brown sugar in the crumb. That was good too. The crumbs were slightly "hard" that way. This cake requires very few ingredients, takes only minutes to make and tastes very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2013

      This recipe deserves MORE THAN five stars: it's just like the crumb cake sold in neighborhood bakeries all around NYC!! Not to be confused with streusel coffee cake, crumb cake is a bit dry and crumbly, featuring just a touch of cinnamon in the topping. A heavy dusting of confectioner's sugar is a MUST to give that "melt-in-your-mouth" feel to contrast the almost pastry-like quality of the topping. Only modifications: used 1 cup canola oil in place of the melted butter for the topping due to my son's casein allergy and subbed gluten-free flour with xanthan gum; baked in two 9" rounds instead of one 13 x 9" pan. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2012

      This was the second time that I made this recipe, and it was delicious. However, I didn't give it 5 stars because I made a couple of changes to it. First, I made the cake part 1 1/2 times. Second, with the crumb part I found that the crumbs were not dry enough, so I added more flour, about 1/2 cup. When I put in only the amount of flour called for, the crumbs were very clump-y,so I kept adding more flour until I thought it was at the right consistency. My family loved it, and it was scarfed down in no time. I'm not sure why the crumb part needed the extra flour. It was the same way the first time I made it. Maybe next time I'll use less butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2012

      This is a good recipe, however, just a couple notes. 1) "spread evenly in pan" doesn't work with a spatula. The greased/floured pan, combined with the sticky dough didn't work. Dough stuck to the spatula and not the pan. So, I buttered my fingers and spread it that way. Much better and the amount of butter was insignificant, so didn't affect the recipe at all. 2) with all those crumbs (yummy!) I added chopped pecans to jazz it up a bit. We all LOVED it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2012

      The whole family loved this cake. Even my 95 year old bake everything from scratch Grandma. Very easy to make and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2012

      This is the first crumb cake I've ever made and the topping was great. I made the full cake recipe and baked in a 9x9 pan, but cut the crumb recipe in half, since there was more than enough. Definently will have to fiddle with recipe to make the cake more moist and will add 1 1/2t of cinnamon to the half recipe of topping. I baked it @ 350' for about 32 min. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2012

      This is wonderful recipe for a wonderful cake. My family loved this cake. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for New York Crumb Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (79 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 319.2
     
    Calories from Fat 127
    39%
    Total Fat 14.1 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 7.7 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 43.2 mg
    14%
    Sodium 143.7 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.4 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 19.7 g
    79%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites