27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

FABULOUS these are the best cookies. They came out as good as I remember them being as a kid living in Brooklyn, New York I did have to add additional water for the icing but other than that, followed the recipe. Cannot wait to make a serve them again.. Very easy and very delicious

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
myrafrezer January 14, 2013

let me start by saying that some of the sweetest childhood memories i have (growing up in ny of course) are going to the bakery and being given big black and whites for free because the jolly bakery guy thought i was cute! this is my absolute favorite cookie in the world so i thought why not try to make my own! i followed the recipe exactly and while it did take a very long time to place the icing on each one (i tripled the recipe) it was waaaay worth it!!! these were hands down the softest, sweetest black and whites i have every had in my life- and thats many years of eating these cookies! i can not wait to make them for others...they really put a smile on my face- i had 3 in one shot! not to good for the ole belly but who cares- these are heavenly! thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elana in New York May 06, 2012

These cookies are PERFECT!!! and easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kellygirl30211 August 11, 2010

AWESOME! I did take the advice of others and replace half the lemon juice with water, and it definitely did take way more water than indicated. Outside that, it was perfect! Now I can make my OWN Black and Whites instead of looking for a bakery that knows how!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ricearoni161 May 09, 2010

Everyone LOVED these cookies! I thought it would be idfficult to spred the second frosting on after doing the first, but it pretty easy. This is a little time consuming, but oh-so worth it!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JoleneC January 04, 2010

Great and simple recipe. I decreased the lemon juice to 1 teaspoon and added about 2 tablespoons of water to make the icing easier to spread. I ended up with 8 cookies and enough icing to decorate them all.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladydisdain January 16, 2009

My daughter requested black and whites for her birthday. They came out great. I did not make any changes.I will be making them again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daisy58 January 10, 2009

These are well worth the extra effort if you are looking for a crowd pleasing cookie!! I remember "half-moon" cookies when I was a kid (nothing like the ones I've tried in stores recently) and these seem to be authentic. I made three batches for a Halloween party and did orange/white frosting instead of black & white. If you plan on being liberal with icing, go ahead and double that portion of the recipe because I ran out (but I also made my cookies a bit smaller too).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momof2leos November 01, 2008

These were amazing - totally authentic. They looked really impressive, and received rave reviews from everyone. They were the one dessert out of many that was gone by the end of the evening. I needed to use quite a bit more water than the recipe called for to make the icing the right consistency, and then I had to make a half batch more of icing to cover all the cookies. Even so, this is easily a five star recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
audreygould October 12, 2008
New York City Black and White Cookies