Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / New York City Black and White Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    New York City Black and White Cookies

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on November 06, 2011

      These cookies are easier to make than they look. I recommend making 1.5 times the icing recipe or even doubling it. I really had to scrape the icing bowl in order to have enough icing to cover all of the cookies. Also, there wasn't enough white icing for me to apply a thick enough layer so that the golden brown cookie under the frosting did not show through.

      I recommend using a clear vanilla extract in order to keep the white frosting a pristine white color.

      Good cookie and I'll make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      This recipe is FABULOUS! I live in New York and work in Manhattan and these cookies came out EXACTLY how we eat them in bakeries here. I did substitute 1/2 the amount of lemon juice for water. I also needed much more water than the recipe called for to make the icing smooth. But, I will absolutely make these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2011

      I used this recipe for the cookie. They came out great. I used my ice cream scoop to keep the cookie neat and consistant. I could have pressed the tops down a bit, they came out a little domed shaped.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      Oh MAN, these are good! I have never had black and white cookies in New York City, but the ones I had in my kitchen were awesome! I got 10 - 2 1/2 inch (in diameter) cookies from this recipe. The cookie part of this recipe was perfect - bake time and temperature-wise (even at my CO Springs high altitude). I don't know if it mattered or not, but I "swirled" the spoon around the tops of the dough on the parchment-lined cookie sheet before I baked them, just to make them more round-looking. I did change the icing a bit, however (thus, the 4-star rating). I did: 1 Tablespoon light corn syrup, 1/4 cup water, 1 1/3 cups powdered sugar, 1/4 teaspoon vanilla, and 1/4 teaspoon lemon juice. I microwaved the corn syrup with the water for about 15-20 seconds, whisked the powdered sugar in, and whisked everything else in (adding 1/4 c. cocoa for the chocolate icing). The icing was the consistency of thick glue, and it worked lovely. Thanks so much for posting this recipe, these cookies would be great for a party or a gift. Aside from maybe trying to make the cookies smaller and decreasing the baking time to accommodate, I will DEFINITELY make these again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      These were to die for! I made about 150 of these babies and they were a huge hit! I used Droste Dutch cocoa for the icing! Thanks so much for the recipe! I could tell from the rave reviews I will be asked to make them again and again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2014

      My boyfriend is from Staten Island and he is always craving Black and Whites. I figured I'd try it out for him. He says these are just like the ones from back home. I don't do the lemon in the icing. It's personal preference. Easy and yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2014

      The cookie recipe was fantastic, although I want to try next time with cake flour to take out some of the heaviness. The flavor can't be beat though. However, I was not a fan of the icing. Icing is difficult for me to make in the first place (I don't know why - I should watch videos), so the texture came out crumbly. I finally added water and got a better consistency, but the flavor was not that great. I did use confectioner's rather than icing sugar if that makes a difference. I will keep trying, but with different icing recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2013

      These were awesome!! It was not a very difficult recipe to prepare. The only thing I would recommend is to prepare more white frosting than the recipe calls for. I didn't have enough and had to make a 2nd batch. these came out perfect!! I will definitely make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2013

      These cookies reminded my son of our New York eating ventures. I made 8 cookies and weighed each to be 57 g and they were all uniform in size. I doubled the icing recipe but it was a bit too much. Next time I would 1.5 the icing and only add clear vanilla to the white icing portion. Baking on the middle rack is critical so the bottoms don't get too dark. The first cookie was tricky to ice but I learnt to ice half, let it set, and ice the other half. These were great cookies and made our keeper list.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2013

      FABULOUS these are the best cookies. They came out as good as I remember them being as a kid living in Brooklyn, New York I did have to add additional water for the icing but other than that, followed the recipe. Cannot wait to make a serve them again.. Very easy and very delicious

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2012

      let me start by saying that some of the sweetest childhood memories i have (growing up in ny of course) are going to the bakery and being given big black and whites for free because the jolly bakery guy thought i was cute! this is my absolute favorite cookie in the world so i thought why not try to make my own! i followed the recipe exactly and while it did take a very long time to place the icing on each one (i tripled the recipe) it was waaaay worth it!!! these were hands down the softest, sweetest black and whites i have every had in my life- and thats many years of eating these cookies! i can not wait to make them for others...they really put a smile on my face- i had 3 in one shot! not to good for the ole belly but who cares- these are heavenly! thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2010

      These cookies are PERFECT!!! and easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2010

      AWESOME! I did take the advice of others and replace half the lemon juice with water, and it definitely did take way more water than indicated. Outside that, it was perfect! Now I can make my OWN Black and Whites instead of looking for a bakery that knows how!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

    • on January 04, 2010

      Everyone LOVED these cookies! I thought it would be idfficult to spred the second frosting on after doing the first, but it pretty easy. This is a little time consuming, but oh-so worth it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      Great and simple recipe. I decreased the lemon juice to 1 teaspoon and added about 2 tablespoons of water to make the icing easier to spread. I ended up with 8 cookies and enough icing to decorate them all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      My daughter requested black and whites for her birthday. They came out great. I did not make any changes.I will be making them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      These are well worth the extra effort if you are looking for a crowd pleasing cookie!! I remember "half-moon" cookies when I was a kid (nothing like the ones I've tried in stores recently) and these seem to be authentic. I made three batches for a Halloween party and did orange/white frosting instead of black & white. If you plan on being liberal with icing, go ahead and double that portion of the recipe because I ran out (but I also made my cookies a bit smaller too).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2008

      These were amazing - totally authentic. They looked really impressive, and received rave reviews from everyone. They were the one dessert out of many that was gone by the end of the evening. I needed to use quite a bit more water than the recipe called for to make the icing the right consistency, and then I had to make a half batch more of icing to cover all the cookies. Even so, this is easily a five star recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      I found this same recipe at epicurious.com. The result is really impressive. I made it for company and everybody loved these cookies. I also made them in a heart-shaped mold.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for New York City Black and White Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (119 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 402.6
     
    Calories from Fat 106
    26%
    Total Fat 11.8 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 7.1 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 58.6 mg
    19%
    Sodium 328.4 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 71.8 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 47.7 g
    190%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites