Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / New York Cheesecake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    New York Cheesecake

    Average Rating:

    156 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 156

    Sort by:

    • on September 02, 2006

      Same comments as all the otheres, Great cheesecake and definitely reminiscent of New York style. I have a trick to keep things from leaking from springform pan and for removing cakes from bottom of same. I put a pieces of foil over the bottom of the pan before I attach the sides. The seal is so tight there is no leakage and you can then slide the cake onto a dish without worrying about breaking it. Hope this helps some of you. Lee

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2006

      This IS New York Cheesecake... the kind I used to bring home with me from the bakery at Grand Central Station. The crust could be a little better... but overall, this is fabulous! Baking time was about 15 minutes longer than recommended. This one's a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2005

      Bev this was an awesome cheesecake.I did not use a shallow pan, just simply put some aluminum foil around the base of the springform pan so as to cover the bottom of the springform and a small way up the sides of the pan. I like my crust very moist and buttery and some always leaks out. Even with a brand new pan. My two favorite New York Style Cheesecakes are here on Zaar and yours is one of them. It looks beautiful and tastes great-zero cracks or problems of any kind. Thanks for another winner-PeggyLynn

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2005

      My very first attempt at making cheesecake, and it wasn't as difficult as I thought it would be.It is actually very simple, 10 minutes and it's in the oven. My cake did crack on the top, but I covered it in a strawberry sauce that I made and it looked wonderful, and tasted even better.We finished the rest last nite and both hubby and I claimed that it is actually better after it sits a few days in the fridge, it gets mellow and creamier.We all loved the cake and will make often.Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2005

      Excellent, silky, no cracking due to the waterbath, this is my second cheesecake from this recipe in two weeks because the guys at work were begging for more! No toppings needed really, just a slice of cheesecake and a black cup of coffee, just a dream! Thanks Bev!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2005

      Very dense and rich cheesecake. If you make the full recipe you must have a 9" - 3" high springform pan - mine was full to the brim. Everyone enjoyed it very much. I was bummed that mine cracked but this was only the 3rd cheesecake I've made in my life and I guess I don't have the technique down yet but the crack did not deter from the wonderful taste or from anyone wanting more. Great recipe Bev!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2005

      Truly one of the best cheesecakes I've ever eaten, let alone made!! I followed the recipe as posted, and like a few others mentioned, I also used a water bath. I've never made a cheesecake that didn't crack on top, but this turned out perfect! I cooked it for about 10 minutes longer than stated, but I think this was due to my oven temperature fluctuating! Thanks, Bev for this wonderful recipe which will be made often. This was certainly a winner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2005

      This was ultra good. I just discovered that there is a substitute for cream cheese made by Britannia in India called 'Malai Chaska'which costs Rs. 35 for a pkt as opposed to Rs. 150.00 for 'Phily'(this is for all Indians who think that Philadelphia is the only way to go ;)) I used 3 packets (180 g) each and halved this recipe. Used Britannia digestive biscuits for the base and used dairy free whipping cream. Added water to the pan at the bottom and left the cheesecake in the oven after it was put off for an additional 15 minutes. The result was fabulous. :D Thanks Bev. :) Fay

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2005

      i run out of superlatives for this. i have to admit to being very phobic to actually making my own cheesecake, but this ranks among the best i have tasted. was very well received by my husband too. i followed the recipe exactly, and used the water bath like others. it was a silken crackfree topping. a minor change was that i used an oreo base instead of grahams (just preference). i glazed it with raspberry sauce and we had it with some fresh raspberries and cream...lovely and memorable. thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2005

      This was amazing. I followed the directions and everything worked out great. I served it with a cranberry sauce that a made from fresh cranberries and gran marnier..though I would use strawberries or raspberries next time. This cheesecake is wonderful. Thanks Bev

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2005

      I was so nervous about attempting to make an authentic cheesecake..but I found this recipe and decided to try my hand at it based upon other reviews. Well, I wasn't sorry...this recipe made a delicious cheesecake that my husband said was better than any cheesecake he had every eaten...and that was without any toppings. I did use the water bath and I used a spring-form cake lined with foil to avoid the batter leaking into the water bath. The thing I will do differently next time is to double the graham cracker crust mix and add a little more butter because I did not have enough crust mixture to go up as high as the cheesecake batter went, and in the end..it was spread thinner than I personally care for...maybe the extra butter will help hold the mix together better. I did not loosen the crust from the sides of the pan after cooking, instead I put the springform pan in the fridge overnight after it had cooled a couple of hours on the counter. It unmolded perfectly and was beautiful the next day. Did I mention the texture? Heavenly. You don't have to look anywhere else for a great cheesecake recipe..or for one that is easier to make! Thank you for posting, Bev.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2004

      This was absolutely one of the best cheesecake recipes I've ever tried. Perfectly creamy and rich. Just amazing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2004

      One of the best cheesecakes I have ever had. I am still amazed at the fact that I made it myself !! Thanks for the great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2004

      Thanks Bev for a great cheesecake!! I'm known in my family for making great cheesecakes,,,but how could I not with recipes like this!! I followed your directions exactly and topped it off just before serving with strawberries. Wish you could have heard the OOooooo's and ahhhhhh's as they ate it! I made it for my dd 33 birthday as cheesecake is her favorite. She wants this exact one again and doesn't want to wait another year for her BD before she gets it again,lol The cake is so creamy,,,smooth and a fantastic taste. Thanks so much for a great keeper! Kitty

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2004

      This cheesecake had a really nice texture, it was easy to make and tasted lovely. Thanks for posting Bev.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2004

      Divine cheesecake, Bev! Easy on the eyes, as well! I used the water bath and had no cracks, it was flawless! I'm sooo thrilled with the results. I know I will be making this again! Thanks for another super-yummy recipe Bev!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2014

      I switch it up with 12 ounces of white chocolate chips melted then added them to batter just before putting into a spring form pan and baked about 20 minutes more. Another cake I made I used jumbo eggs about 1 1/2 cups of eggs the batter was very thin but viola perfect results the cake was a wee bit brown on top but no cracks and the flavor and texture was as silk! Absolutely the best taste ever; again thanks Bev for posting this amazing recipe for a cheesecake which is so dense and creamy with such a delicate flavor and versatile.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2014

      Wowsers! This was a big, heavy cheesecake. We all LOVED it! Going to make it again soon. Thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2014

      Great recipe!!!! I added a some sugar to the crust. I also didnt add any lemon. I also used a water bath. Family's new favroite cheesecake recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2014

      WOWZA! My first time making cheesecake and I must say, it was AMAZING!! I did put too much lemon zest but even with that, it was still great and I will be making it over and over again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for New York Cheesecake

    Serving Size: 1 (134 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 630.6
     
    Calories from Fat 419
    66%
    Total Fat 46.6 g
    71%
    Saturated Fat 25.7 g
    128%
    Cholesterol 238.6 mg
    79%
    Sodium 471.8 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.2 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 36.6 g
    146%
    Protein 9.9 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes