Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / New York Cheesecake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    New York Cheesecake

    Average Rating:

    154 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 154

    Sort by:

    • on March 03, 2011

      WOW.. this was my very first time making a cheesecake. Hubby wanted cheesecake for his b-day so I went in search and found this recipe. I must say that I've been intimidated with the thoughts of making a cheesecake in regards to whether or not to use a water bath & how long to cook it, but after some research I found that the reason why this recipe does not call for a water bath is because of the flour. Cheesecakes with cornstarch or flour added to the batter do not crack as easily from overbaking. The starch molecules will actually get in between the egg proteins preventing them from over-coagulating. No over-coagulating, no cracks!! So I did as the recipe stated & only put it in a pan therefore no cracks. The only things I did differently was to not add the lemon because I had none & after it was done baking I left it in the oven to cool. PERFECTION!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2010

      DH wanted cheesecake for his birthday so I found this recipe. I have never made real cheesecake before but this turned out great! Based on previous reviews I did use a water bath. Did not have a lemon, so I used 1 T lemon juice. Added 1/2c.sugar to 3 cups graham cracker crumbs for the crust. Served with blueberry pie filling. My only "complaint" is that it was so rich that I had to freeze half of it so we didn't eat it all at once. I sliced it and froze the slices wrapped in plastic wrap to be defrosted individually.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2011

      I found the perfect cheesecake with this one and need to look no further! I can't believe I actually made a cheesecake of this quality. It's at least as good as any professionally-produced cakes I've ever had. Five stars is not enough. I used three cups of graham cracker crumbs but thought the crust was too thick so I'll use two cups next time. Also used the water bath and it baked nearly 2 hrs. I let it cool off by taking it out of the water bath and leaving the oven door ajar. No cracking--lightly browned on top and simply perfection! Thanks Bev.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2009

      To say this recipe is outstanding is a huge understatement. I made this last night and let is 'season' overnight in the fridge. I used 1 tsp. of vanilla bean paste (to get the flecks in the cake) and 1/2 tsp. of real vanilla. I also doubled the crust as it did not appear 2 cups would be enough from other reviews - and I am glad I did! The crust came all the way up the side of the pan. I baked at 325 for 1 hr. 45 mins. in a water bath and then opened the oven door, turned the oven off and let it cool there - no cracks!!! I topped this beauty the next day with Kittencal's Delicious Skillet Apples and a slight drizzling of caramel topping. Thanks for posting - this was a remarkably easy cheesecake with stunning results!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2003

      I have never considered making a cheesecake until now, (I went to NY and made a pig of myself... I digress, This being the first time I made it, I don't think I cooked it long enough. But the taste is out of this world, just like the ones I had in NY. What is the max as far as cooking it?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2011

      All I can say is WOW ! This is the best cheesecake I have EVER tasted - bar none ! I did exactly as the recipe said and put this on a baking sheet in the oven. The only thing I added was a shallow pan of water on a separate rack underneath the rack the cheesecake was on....not quite a bain-marie (waterbath), but my cheesecake did not crack at all ! It looked restaurant worthy LOL Gorgeous and Gorgeous tasting ! ! Thanks for the recipe !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2011

      I have made this recipe so many times now--can't believe I haven't gotten around to writing a review until now! This is the perfect cheesecake. I don't fool with any other recipes out there! I don't add the lemon zest, mostly because I don't want to possibly ruin the awesome texture of this cheesecake. My family loves this--especially with fresh raspberries. Thank you for an excellent recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      i am making this for a friends birthday, i have made it before for other occasions and have gotten rave reviews, but this time my friend requested a peppermint cheesecake, so i used this recipe, but with the addition of peppermint extract in the filling, cocoa powder in the crust, and topped it off with drizzled dark chocolate and crushed candy canes! i love this recipe because it is versatile. Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2011

      Solid cheesecake recipe. Not too rich, just the right texture. I made Port Wine Cherry Topping for Cheesecake (#257458) to go over it, and everyone enjoyed it. This is a great basic recipe to play with. Next time I might make a chocolate cookie crust and put strawberries on top. I'll also add a bit more vanilla. I made this in a 9 inch springform pan and it got huge! Never overflowed, but it did almost touch the rack above it, so be forewarned. It sunk in the middle while it cooled, but it didn't look too bad in the end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2011

      Best cheesecake I've ever had! I did add Lemon Juice instead of the peel because thats all I had and it turned out fine. Baked in 10 inch springform, same cooking time. Everyone loved it, made it for mothers day get together :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2011

      I am giving this recipe 5 stars because I'm sure it deserves it. I don't know what I did wrong but this Cheesecake came out a disaster for me! 1st, it was the first one I ever made in my life. I think I totally misjudged the baking time cause I well over cooked the crumbs. They tasted bitter to me (which means I burnt them) the photos submitted for this recipe look wonderful. I bet if I had better luck, mine would have been fantastic. Because I must have did something wrong, it's my own fault. I think the taste however and appearance is a 5 star! I am going to try it again for sure. Better luck next time I hope! :( Mine had potential to look and taste as good as the photos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2011

      This it just THE BEST cheesecake I've ever eaten in my life! And it is quite easy too. LOVE it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2010

      OH MY GOD. OMG OMG OMG. Not to sound like i'm exagerating, but this is THE BEST cheesecake i have ever eaten in my life. And i'm very picky! it's so creamy yet so light and soooooo delicious. i wish i could give it more than 5 stars. Just one thing, the cheesecake batter was too much for my springform pan, so next time, i will add more crackers to make 3 cups, and make 2 separate cakes. and i cant wait till the next time!!! yummm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2010

      I switch it up with 12 ounces of white chocolate chips melted then added them to batter just before putting into a spring form pan and baked about 20 minutes more. Another cake I made I used jumbo eggs about 1 1/2 cups of eggs the batter was very thin but viola perfect results the cake was a wee bit brown on top but no cracks and the flavour and texture was as silk! Absolutely the best taste ever; again thanks Bev for posting this amazing recipe for a cheesecake which is so dense and creamy with such a delicate flavour and versatile.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      Everyone loved this cheesecake! It was a bit too lemony for my taste but no one else thought that!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2006

      Excellent! Very impressive dessert, great to have with company. It is very rich, I cut in into 12 slices, but next time I will cut into 16. I did try the water bath thing, only about 1/2 way up the pan, served it with strawberries in simple syrup and chocolate sauce on the side but it works fine as is. Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2004

      We picked this cheesecake because Bev never fails to provide fool-proof, fabulous recipes. Once again she came through. This recipe was easy enough for my 16 yr old to make and so delicious that even my brother who is a professional server and has worked in fine-dining establishments such as Nola (Emeril's) in New Orleans, thought this was one of the best cheesecakes he had ever tasted. I believe his words were "that's some serious cheesecake." Thanks again Bev for this great recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2004

      Bev, this cheesecake was absolutely divine! It really was so simple to prepare, too. I ended up baking mine for 1 hour and 45 minutes. I think the most difficult thing about the recipe was waiting overnight for it to chill! LOL I served with fresh cerry glaze and fresh cherries. My mother in law asked for the recipe after one bite! Thanks for a wonderful recipe, Bev! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2011

      I made this twice in one week - one for Father's day (as practice) and one for my girlfriend's birthday. I had over 10 people try it and they all loved it. The cake never lasted longer than 5 days!
      The only problem I had with it was cracking. The second time I made it, I pulled it out of the oven about 10 minutes earlier than the suggested cooking time and it still tasted just fine and had only minimum amount of cracks.
      Overall, another easy recipe that I would not mind trying again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2010

      This was my first attempt at cheesecake! I used homemade graham crackers, farm-fresh eggs, organic cream cheese, natural sugar, and organic pumpkin pie filling to swirl through in layers. I had an 8.5" and a 9.5" and wasn't sure which to use, since the recipe calls for a 9". So, I used the 8.5" thinking it would be better than having a too-thin cheesecake. I should have used the larger springform pan! The cheesecake puffed well over the top of the pan and took 30 minutes longer to cook. The edges did crack, and they browned quite a bit in order to get the middle set. It's not quite as beautiful a result as I would have liked, but the taste made up for it!! I will try this again sometime with the other pan and hope that the aesthetics match the deliciousness.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for New York Cheesecake

    Serving Size: 1 (134 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 630.6
     
    Calories from Fat 419
    66%
    Total Fat 46.6 g
    71%
    Saturated Fat 25.7 g
    128%
    Cholesterol 238.6 mg
    79%
    Sodium 471.8 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.2 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 36.6 g
    146%
    Protein 9.9 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites