159 Reviews

WOW.. this was my very first time making a cheesecake. Hubby wanted cheesecake for his b-day so I went in search and found this recipe. I must say that I've been intimidated with the thoughts of making a cheesecake in regards to whether or not to use a water bath & how long to cook it, but after some research I found that the reason why this recipe does not call for a water bath is because of the flour. Cheesecakes with cornstarch or flour added to the batter do not crack as easily from overbaking. The starch molecules will actually get in between the egg proteins preventing them from over-coagulating. No over-coagulating, no cracks!! So I did as the recipe stated & only put it in a pan therefore no cracks. The only things I did differently was to not add the lemon because I had none & after it was done baking I left it in the oven to cool. PERFECTION!!

24 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CareyLee March 03, 2011

DH wanted cheesecake for his birthday so I found this recipe. I have never made real cheesecake before but this turned out great! Based on previous reviews I did use a water bath. Did not have a lemon, so I used 1 T lemon juice. Added 1/2c.sugar to 3 cups graham cracker crumbs for the crust. Served with blueberry pie filling. My only "complaint" is that it was so rich that I had to freeze half of it so we didn't eat it all at once. I sliced it and froze the slices wrapped in plastic wrap to be defrosted individually.

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hokiegal December 15, 2010

I found the perfect cheesecake with this one and need to look no further! I can't believe I actually made a cheesecake of this quality. It's at least as good as any professionally-produced cakes I've ever had. Five stars is not enough. I used three cups of graham cracker crumbs but thought the crust was too thick so I'll use two cups next time. Also used the water bath and it baked nearly 2 hrs. I let it cool off by taking it out of the water bath and leaving the oven door ajar. No cracking--lightly browned on top and simply perfection! Thanks Bev.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
prd2bbsn February 22, 2011

To say this recipe is outstanding is a huge understatement. I made this last night and let is 'season' overnight in the fridge. I used 1 tsp. of vanilla bean paste (to get the flecks in the cake) and 1/2 tsp. of real vanilla. I also doubled the crust as it did not appear 2 cups would be enough from other reviews - and I am glad I did! The crust came all the way up the side of the pan. I baked at 325 for 1 hr. 45 mins. in a water bath and then opened the oven door, turned the oven off and let it cool there - no cracks!!! I topped this beauty the next day with Kittencal's Delicious Skillet Apples and a slight drizzling of caramel topping. Thanks for posting - this was a remarkably easy cheesecake with stunning results!!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xpnsve October 02, 2009

I have never considered making a cheesecake until now, (I went to NY and made a pig of myself... I digress, This being the first time I made it, I don't think I cooked it long enough. But the taste is out of this world, just like the ones I had in NY. What is the max as far as cooking it?

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redallnite April 06, 2003

i am making this for a friends birthday, i have made it before for other occasions and have gotten rave reviews, but this time my friend requested a peppermint cheesecake, so i used this recipe, but with the addition of peppermint extract in the filling, cocoa powder in the crust, and topped it off with drizzled dark chocolate and crushed candy canes! i love this recipe because it is versatile. Thanks :)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amandalynn4393 November 14, 2010

All I can say is WOW ! This is the best cheesecake I have EVER tasted - bar none ! I did exactly as the recipe said and put this on a baking sheet in the oven. The only thing I added was a shallow pan of water on a separate rack underneath the rack the cheesecake was on....not quite a bain-marie (waterbath), but my cheesecake did not crack at all ! It looked restaurant worthy LOL Gorgeous and Gorgeous tasting ! ! Thanks for the recipe !

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debutante July 24, 2011

I have made this recipe so many times now--can't believe I haven't gotten around to writing a review until now! This is the perfect cheesecake. I don't fool with any other recipes out there! I don't add the lemon zest, mostly because I don't want to possibly ruin the awesome texture of this cheesecake. My family loves this--especially with fresh raspberries. Thank you for an excellent recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle in KY May 19, 2011

Solid cheesecake recipe. Not too rich, just the right texture. I made Port Wine Cherry Topping for Cheesecake (#257458) to go over it, and everyone enjoyed it. This is a great basic recipe to play with. Next time I might make a chocolate cookie crust and put strawberries on top. I'll also add a bit more vanilla. I made this in a 9 inch springform pan and it got huge! Never overflowed, but it did almost touch the rack above it, so be forewarned. It sunk in the middle while it cooled, but it didn't look too bad in the end.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyonthespot May 17, 2011

We picked this cheesecake because Bev never fails to provide fool-proof, fabulous recipes. Once again she came through. This recipe was easy enough for my 16 yr old to make and so delicious that even my brother who is a professional server and has worked in fine-dining establishments such as Nola (Emeril's) in New Orleans, thought this was one of the best cheesecakes he had ever tasted. I believe his words were "that's some serious cheesecake." Thanks again Bev for this great recipe! :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shae November 07, 2004
New York Cheesecake