Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / New Year's Hopping John Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    New Year's Hopping John

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on February 06, 2003

      Very filling. very satisfying, Not fattening and on top of it all - it was delish! Kids love it, Adults love it and it's good for you. Add this one to the list of "practically perfect foods".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      Everyone including our 4 year old loved this recipe! I only had canned black eyed peas on hand so I used those (undrained) and did not need to add the chicken broth or water. I actually ended up using the chicken broth to cook the rice with. Instead of ham I used ground beef and it came out wonderful. Thank you for sharing, I will be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

      This is so comforting and good, and it made my house smelling AMAZING. It was a bit wet, so I used a slotted spoon to serve it over the rice. I used half the red pepper and added Louisiana hot sauce to the bowls of those who wanted it. Didn't want to start it out too hot because of my 3-year-old, who, by the way, said to me, "Mommy I like these beans you made!" That NEVER happens, hence the five star review. Thanks for a keeper that pleased the whole family! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      Enjoyed this recipe very much. Easy to make, and very filling. I did add some hot sausage. If I make again, I might cut back a little bit on the water. But still very good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      This is a great recipe for Hopping John, NanPan. ! used 2 12 oz. packages of fresh peas and a smoked ham hock instead of the cubed ham. Served it over rice and passed the Tobasco sauce around for those that like theirs a little spicier! A great meal with some greens and cornbread!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2013

      This was excellent although, I will admit, I did not follow your recipe religiously. I subbed 24 oz. pork stock I had in the freezer for chicken stock, used 1/2 cup less water, & used a 10 oz. pkg. of 'ham chips' I came across at the store. I look forward to having more of this for lunches this week since it made a nice amount (there are only 2 of us so yay leftovers). Wondering how well this freezes, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2012

      Very very good dish to start out 2012! I followed exactly with a few additions.. I added tsp oregano to the celery/onion/garlic saute. I used 4 cups chicken broth and 2 1/2 cups water. And lastly I used a ham shank instead of cubed ham. I simmered on medium heat for an hour since I used dried black-eyed peas. This is a keeper, and thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      I made this on New Years day and everyone loved it. This is THE recipe for Black Eyed Peas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      This was very good, but came out a bit soupier than I like. I should've gone slowly with the liquids and added more as necessary instead of dumping it all in at once, but I thought I'd be okay because I used an additional 8 oz of peas. Very good flavor though, and it was easy enough to drain off the excess fluid before serving. Happy New Year!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

    • on January 01, 2008

      Made this for our traditional New Year's meal for good luck. It was very, very good. I added a little more ham than the recipe called for and I also seasoned it a bit! So good and not unhealthy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2007

      This was delicious!! I think the celery added a "freshness" that we really enjoyed!!! Thanks for this great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2007

      This was excellent! I decreased the celery (personal preference) and used a liberal shake of Crystal Hot Sauce in place of the crushed red pepper. My family requested that I make this even though it is not New Year's Day! Thanks PanNan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2006

      Excellent dish.. we agree that this is a perfect dish. My commissary does not sell fresh or frozen black-eyed peas so I altered the recipe by omitting the 4 cups of water and using 1 can of black-eyed peas. I simply let the dish simmer without the peas (or 4 cups water) and then added the peas at the very end. Once they were heated I served. We really liked this alot and plan to make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2006

      Pan Nan, I followed your receipe, however I made the following changes: which were based on a Louisana recpe: 1 cup of green bell peppers 1 ham shank 1 can of mexican chopped tomatoes and chilies, I placed the ham shank i a crockpot over night I sauted every thing according to your direction, but I'd added the green bell peppers I'd commenced o follow your receipe from step 3. The pot was jus beautiful, I then topped it with Fresh Parsley, a nd Shallots.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for New Year's Hopping John

    Serving Size: 1 (495 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 312.8
     
    Calories from Fat 91
    29%
    Total Fat 10.2 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 35.5 mg
    11%
    Sodium 595.3 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.5 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 18.3 g
    36%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites