15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very filling. very satisfying, Not fattening and on top of it all - it was delish! Kids love it, Adults love it and it's good for you. Add this one to the list of "practically perfect foods".

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mimi Bobeck February 06, 2003

Everyone including our 4 year old loved this recipe! I only had canned black eyed peas on hand so I used those (undrained) and did not need to add the chicken broth or water. I actually ended up using the chicken broth to cook the rice with. Instead of ham I used ground beef and it came out wonderful. Thank you for sharing, I will be making this again!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MessyChef May 20, 2010

This is so comforting and good, and it made my house smelling AMAZING. It was a bit wet, so I used a slotted spoon to serve it over the rice. I used half the red pepper and added Louisiana hot sauce to the bowls of those who wanted it. Didn't want to start it out too hot because of my 3-year-old, who, by the way, said to me, "Mommy I like these beans you made!" That NEVER happens, hence the five star review. Thanks for a keeper that pleased the whole family! :-)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KissKiss March 27, 2010

Enjoyed this recipe very much. Easy to make, and very filling. I did add some hot sausage. If I make again, I might cut back a little bit on the water. But still very good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Celtic January 03, 2009

This is a great recipe for Hopping John, NanPan. ! used 2 12 oz. packages of fresh peas and a smoked ham hock instead of the cubed ham. Served it over rice and passed the Tobasco sauce around for those that like theirs a little spicier! A great meal with some greens and cornbread!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leslie in Texas February 07, 2008

This was excellent although, I will admit, I did not follow your recipe religiously. I subbed 24 oz. pork stock I had in the freezer for chicken stock, used 1/2 cup less water, & used a 10 oz. pkg. of 'ham chips' I came across at the store. I look forward to having more of this for lunches this week since it made a nice amount (there are only 2 of us so yay leftovers). Wondering how well this freezes, though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coraniaid January 02, 2013

Very very good dish to start out 2012! I followed exactly with a few additions.. I added tsp oregano to the celery/onion/garlic saute. I used 4 cups chicken broth and 2 1/2 cups water. And lastly I used a ham shank instead of cubed ham. I simmered on medium heat for an hour since I used dried black-eyed peas. This is a keeper, and thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wife2uRick January 01, 2012

I made this on New Years day and everyone loved it. This is THE recipe for Black Eyed Peas!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kkapule January 09, 2010

This was very good, but came out a bit soupier than I like. I should've gone slowly with the liquids and added more as necessary instead of dumping it all in at once, but I thought I'd be okay because I used an additional 8 oz of peas. Very good flavor though, and it was easy enough to drain off the excess fluid before serving. Happy New Year!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhondapalooza January 02, 2010
New Year's Hopping John