36 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Oh no, a taste for potato salad and no Miracle Whip in the house! Found this recipe and gave it a try. It was very delicious made with mayo. I just added crisp bacon pieces like Grandma used to do.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marjie501 March 28, 2002

Reviewing it again after having made it several times. This last time was the best yet after cutting the sugar in half and adding about a teaspoon of horseradish. The flavors need a bit longer to blend and develop, but this is my favorite potato salad recipe ever!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elgoose March 30, 2004

I used a 5 lb bag of red potatoes and added 1/2 cup crumbled bacon. The dressing can also be poured over baked potatoes. It's good cold but we prefer it hot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SonnyHavens October 13, 2014

OMG this was good!! I think even better than what my mom used to make! I used Hellman's Mayo Light and Light sour cream and 2 pkg. Splenda and used French's Brown Spicy Mustard. (I cut the recipe in 1/2 for just my husband and I). Thanks so much!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mammafishy June 13, 2013

Yum, this potato salad is delish! I do add a little bit of chopped bacon to it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jbirkenmeyer August 01, 2012

Great potato salad. Made half a recipe with horseradish added. Sure gave it a nice bite. Love those little potatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound July 26, 2012

Absolutely fantastic!!! Very tasty and a perfect side to any bbq dish. My nephew even mentioned that he was not a big fan of potato salad but really enjoyed this. I ended up sauteing the onions with a little garlic in butter. I doubled the mustard to give it a little more bite and omitted the sour cream as I didn't have any. Top notch 'tater salad!!! Thinking of using the same sauce to make some macaroni salad for today's bbq. This will be my go to recipe for potato salad from now on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gil Grillalotomus July 09, 2012

We made this using Veganaise and Tofutti Better Than Sour Cream to veganize it. Absolutely delicious--and definitely better after the flavors have time to blend. I love the idea one reviewer had of adding a little horseradish--think I'll try that next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Serah B. May 10, 2012

You have a winner here! This is so good, had no problem at all with the sugar ~ I halved the recipe, and followed this exactly. It is so good, you will be smacking your lips together so fast, you're bowl will be empty. Used a bit of white ground pepper and added some fresh parsley to the top. A winner here on the farm! Thx!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm December 07, 2011

I was suspicious of using so much sugar as an ingredient, but thought I'd give it a fair try. I had good reason to be suspicious, it was way too sweet. Maybe if the sugar was cut back or eliminated, it would be fine. Thanks anyway.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pale Rose December 05, 2010
New Red Potato Salad