Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / New Potatoes with Green Beans, Country-Style Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    New Potatoes with Green Beans, Country-Style

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on August 12, 2002

      A wonderful way to enjoy fresh green beans and potatoes. The spices and broth give the vegetables a nice flavor. I cooked this until all of the broth evaporated and the potatoes browned slightly. It's like having fried potatoes with all of the flavor and none of the fat (I left out the ham). I will be making this a lot. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2003

      Used canned green beans and they worked just fine. Added a pinch of dried red chili flakes and a splash of white wine. Good stuff, Sue L.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2003

      This is a wonderful way to cook green beans and potatoes. It is very similar to the way my mother and mother-in-law cook them. The only difference is they don't use herbs. I liked that addition as it added a subtle yet delicious flavor. The flavor from the ham is essential to the success of this dish. Just good ole country food and we sure enjoyed it. Thanks Sue L.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2013

      Great dish! Just the right amount of seasoning to give it a wonderful flavor. I did double the amount of butter to cook the ham/onions in since they were getting too brown too fast; also simmered for about 35 minutes while the rest of dinner cooked. The potatoes and beans were perfectly cooked for our liking (we like soft green beans). Will make this again! Made for Photo Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2011

      This is so good. Made this quite a few times this summer with my fresh beans out of the garden. Didn't change a thing. Thanks- I will use this recipe every summer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2009

      Like others, I have been making this basic recipe for years too. You just can't get a finer meal than from fresh produce from the garden. I slow cook mine in a crock pot all day using smoked ham hocks, onion, seasoning, and chicken broth. Sometimes I peel the potatoes and sometimes I don't. I serve it with a pan of cornbread on the side. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      Very good. My family has been making this basic recipe for generations (using bacon, not ham), but I've never tried seasoning it with herbs before. We enjoyed this variation, and it's inspired me to experiment with other seasoning combos, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      Boy, Sue, this recipe is some kind of DE-LISH. I have made variations of this before but the herbs in your recipe add so much flavor. Scrumptious! Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2004

      I used fresh beans, bacon, and I had to leave out the onion since my fam hates them. I cooked for an extra 15 minutes and they were fantastic! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for New Potatoes with Green Beans, Country-Style

    Serving Size: 1 (276 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 306.3
     
    Calories from Fat 95
    31%
    Total Fat 10.6 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 21.1 mg
    7%
    Sodium 869.4 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.7 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 7.3 g
    29%
    Sugars 6.3 g
    25%
    Protein 14.1 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites