Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / New Potatoes With Balsamic and Shallot Butter Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    New Potatoes With Balsamic and Shallot Butter

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on June 26, 2010

      My son (age 1 1/2) and I loved this recipe, my DH and DD age 3 thought is was wierd, but since I am rating this I give it 5 stars, it has a unique flavor, and the potatoes were moist and tasty.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      Made this as a side to some oven bbq ribs for Valentines dinner. Most excellent flavor - will definately make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2008

      Excellent side dish. We served with Honey Mustard Salmon, a green salad and broccoli with cheese sauce. A very nice light dinner. I did have to make my vinegar reduction twice as I burnt mine the first time. Great with mild flavored dish as the vinegar does have an intense taste. I used parsley to finish my dish and it was perfect, this will be made again at our house for sure. WW pts - 5.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      Holy goodness, these rocked. I over boiled my mini red potatoes but not to fret - I just dumped everything in a bowl, added 2 tablespoons of skim milk, and made it mashed! Try it, it's sooooo good! I will so make it again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2007

      My family loves balsamic vinegar anything so I knew this recipe would be a hit. I halved the recipe and used 1 lb of red new potatoes. I'm not much of a thyme lover so I left it out and went heavy on the fresh basil. This is a nice way to shake up plain old potatoes and will go nicely with most dishes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2005

      Excellent potatoes! I white potatoes tonight with steak. I didn't have fresh thyme, so I put in a little pinch of rosemary instead. The vinegar did take a while to boil down but it was WELL worth it in the end! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      These were very tasty taters. The basil at the end simply made the dish. I'd love to see how these flavours meld together as a simple dressing rather than reducing the balsamic vinegar to a syrup. It was a little on the sweet side for us but that is simply a taste preference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      Ok, these potatoes look a little odd. The basalmic reduction makes them black. But -wow- these are great; I recommend that readers try them at least once. I used 3/4 tsp dried rosemary instead of the thyme, Penzy's Sunny Spain instead of the pepper. I used the fresh parsley instead of the basil. The cooled basalmic was a stiff syrup but the butter and gentle heating brought it right back to a sauce. We'll make again but I still think they aren't the prettiest!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2005

      Great, yummy dish, but a lot of disjoint steps that could be streamlined to make a better recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2005

      I liked the potatoes, but not as much as the other reviewers. Something seemed to be missing, but I'm not sure what. I thought the sauce was very good on its own, but wasn't as wild about it on the potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2005

      These were delicious. I cut back a little on the butter, but otherwise followed the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2005

      Julie has made these many times since she posted the recipe. I'm not supposed to eat them because they are full of carbohydrates but they are astoundingly delicious. We have made a double batch of the sauce and poured it over other vegetables too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2005

      This was very tasy. I didn't have new potatoes, so I used regular old white spuds and it turned out just fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2005

      Awsome tasting,thanks Linda.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2005

      Oh my gosh! These potatoes are.. are.. AMAZING!! I made it with little red potatoes, made extra sauce, and used dried herbs (will try fresh next time if I can manage it) My first bite I said "wow, that tastes like..." second bite "wow... that's kinda like..." In the middle of my second helping, I was finally able to put in to halting words what this tastes like. I thought from the vinegar that it would taste vinegary. It tasted nothing of the sort. It was sweet, earthy, rich, and addictive, but strangly light. I'm soooo glad I made extra sauce b/c it is absolutely wonderful, with a perfect blend of flavors. I can only imagine what it tastes like with fresh herbs. Oh my gosh, this is one of my absolute keeper recipes and my family is going to go NUTS over these potatoes. Thank you so much for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for New Potatoes With Balsamic and Shallot Butter

    Serving Size: 1 (262 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 264.3
     
    Calories from Fat 70
    26%
    Total Fat 7.8 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.9 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 20.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 231.8 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.0 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 4.8 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites