Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / New Orleans Shrimp Creole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    New Orleans Shrimp Creole

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on March 30, 2002

      This was fabulous! Sauce thickened up to consistency of tomato paste during 20 minute simmer, but waited it out to add more liquid as you add 1/2 cup wine at end. It was still a bit thick after that so I splashed in about 1/4 cup more chicken stock. Also, I added more Tabasco and 1/4 teaspoon crushed red chili pepper while sauce was simmering. Easy, quick and very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2002

      This is an absolutely incredible recipe! It smelled so good while it was cooking that I couldn't wait for my husband to come home for supper, so I ate without him! I served it with rice, and I seriously doubt there will be any leftovers tonight! This is a money saving recipe too because I'll save the airfare to New Orleans! I have New Orleans cuisine right here in my own home! This is a keeper, Izzy. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2002

      Wow, this was so fine. I made your shrimp creole as a suprise for my husband's birthday. It is one of his favorite dishes. We both thought it was outstanding and the seasonings took us right back to our time spent in New Orleans. The only addition was some crushed red pepper to increase the heat. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2002

      Awesome creole recipe. The only change I made was to use 3 cloves of minced garlic. Otherwise, I thought it was perfection. Mildly spicy which works for my young ones. My husband doctored his up with extra Tabasco. My whole family got in on the action too and gave it a high 5-star rating. Thanks Izzy for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2002

      YUM!!! This was delicious! I served it over steamed rice. My 18 month old went crazy! He loved it! I couldn't find plum tomatoes at the store, so I just used regular whole stewed tomatoes. I also used Chipotle Tabasco instead of regular. I took the suggestion in one of the reviews, and added 1/4 cup more chicken broth than listed in the recipe. It was perfect! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2002

      Izzy, Finally got around to trying this recipe,and am I ever glad I did!!!! My husband went balistic over it. Can't afford the large shrimp,used the small instead,but it was wonderful. Thanks soooooo much,this is a keeper.Darlene Summers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2010

      I'm reviewing this because of the negative reviews. There are quite a few dishes my husband and I did not care for but that is the difference in people's taste so I would never leave a bad review. I thought this was the best Creole dish I've ever made from scratch. If you start out making a Roux, as the one reviewer said, I would think it would be more of an Etouffee. I did use my whole small can of tomato paste and used turkey bacon, but we loved it and made two meals from it. Thank you very much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2013

      Was Quite good. I simmered mine coveredd part of the time so it wouldn't get too thick. Worked great. Next time will do as other reviews and some crushed red pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2012

      Sorry I found it lacking in flavor, needed more garlic, spices etc. It was most disappointing. Being from a French background and having had the pleasure of eating in New Orleans, I think the recipe too a wrong turn somewhere.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2012

      Flavor was nice, like others we added more heat at the table, was mild enough for my 2 year old to eat....only gave 3 stars however because my house absolutely stunk for 2-3 days after making this dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2011

      This was delicious and easy to prepare. Thanks for this different tasty recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2011

      Finally a creole recipe we like. So many have thickening and not to our taste at all. This thickens naturally and clings perfectly to the shrimp. Could cook at little less so shrimp does not toughen. Not often I rate a recipe with a 5 .....but this is certainly worth it. Thanks....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2011

      So easy to make and absolutely delicious! I went a little heavy on the Tabasco Sauce but that's just my personal preference. Couldn't have asked for a tastier Shrimp Creole!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      This recipe is awesome!!! I thought I had reviewed it but found out I didn't when I looked for it for dinner tonight. I have made it with shrimp and tonight I am using turkey kielbasa. The sauce thickens perfectly to cling to the rice. The only thing I did different was to add gumbo file, more garlic, and okra to suit our taste. This one is a keeper!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      This is not good. It is nothing like authentic cajun creole. (Authentic cajun food begins with making a roux.) I think the vinegar and wine make it taste funny. Not for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      We loved this Creole! Just the right amount of everything for us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      This comes close to what I eat sometimes in portugeese restaurant. I am happy I found it. I ofcourse modify it a lot. Add gumbo file, double the tomato sauce, omit tomato past and with lack of onion omit that one too. Also I add red peper taste that is sold in arabic stores. Came out very nice!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      MMMM! Very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2009

      Excellent shrimp creole! DH and I enjoyed this very much for dinner last night. Added more Tabasco, as we like things zippy, and used fresh tomatoes with their juices. We would definitely have this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      This was the first time I ever made shrimp creole. It was fantastic! My husband asked me to make it again when his family came over! I made it just as written. Perfect!!! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for New Orleans Shrimp Creole

    Serving Size: 1 (360 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 269.2
     
    Calories from Fat 85
    31%
    Total Fat 9.4 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 154.6 mg
    51%
    Sodium 1534.5 mg
    63%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 10.5 g
    42%
    Protein 21.6 g
    43%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites