Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / New Mexico Style Chili Chicken Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    New Mexico Style Chili Chicken Casserole

    Average Rating:

    124 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 124

    Sort by:

    • on February 20, 2011

      My parents are from New Mexico and my dad used to make this with left over turkey every year after Thanksgiving. Sooo good. One of my favorite dishes growing up. He calls it Jalapas, but who knows where he got that name.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2011

      This was pretty good, but for some reason I was thinking it would taste like chili, not chilies...it wasn't overly spicy (I cut the amt of chilies in half), but I do think it could have used some beans or veggies in it to give it more substance. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2010

      This one didn't work out well for us. I plan for dishes like this to have leftovers, but the leftovers were quite soggy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2010

      A very tasty meal! Even my picky Dd ate it! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      This is great. It reminds me of our favorite chicken enchilada recipe without all the rolling and much much less messy. We loved it and I won't go back to the rolling. I served this with spanish rice and a green salad. Thank you so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      This was absolutely the best! We all loved it. I only used half the peppers thinking it might be to hot for my family but next time I will use both cans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      This was absolutely delicious. We made this for 2 people so we altered some of the ingredients (1 green chili, 1/2 sour cream, 1 can of soup). I can't wait to make this again, it's packed full of flavour and is really moreish. Highly recommended for anyone who likes spicy, creamy food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      This deserves an easy 5 stars. I followed the recipe exactly aside from adding in canned pinto beans to each layer. The only complaint I have is it was very runny, could have used half the sauce I think and it would have been good still but I will for sure make this again. My 1 year old even loved it. :) Thanks again for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2010

      Great flavor, but the texture was lacking. It would have been greatly improved with a crunchy accompaniment. My husband and I were longing for crisp corn chips or hard taco shells. This was a very interesting dish that I wanted to like, but it was just overwhelmingly gushy. Perhaps I did something wrong (I followed the recipe with just a 1/4 cup extra sour cream left in the bottom the container), but buy some chips--you won't be sorry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      I will give 5 stars as I dont want to be the party pooper, I just had a little prob with it being too salty, next time I will use less salt, we don't typically use a salt shaker so just our taste I'm sure. I used 18 tortillas and added a some froz corn for healthy benefits. Served with Salsa and sour cream for topping, Very Good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      My husband and I try something new almost every week and this week we tried this casserole and were not disappointed. We only used 18 tortilas. This was mild enough for my one year old to enjoy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      This was great! DH really loved it too. Didn't change a thing. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      Super easy and yummy. I got a little confused on the cooking times, (Line 10 if not refrigerated and only Line 12 if refrigerated) but it came out good. Agree with Dazy tastes like Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas, but way easier. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      Perfect just the way it is! Fast, easy to prepare, and a great crowd pleaser, even for picky eaters. Like really good, creamy chicken enchiladas, without the messy wrapping up part. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      My husband can be highly suspicious of 'new food', but this has quickly become one of our favourite dishes! It's perfect to prepare ahead for nights when we're both working, packages easily in single or double portions for freezing, goes from freezer to oven without losing flavour or texture, and is a snap to put together. The only change we make is to add salsa (to spice it up a notch) and/or olives, depending upon what we're craving. This is one of the few dishes for which I now make the effort to have the ingredients on hand at all times. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      Casserole was not a hit at my house. The flavor was strong and the texture was to runny to really make a meal out of. To salvage it I added cooked rice and wrapped in flour tortillas and baked for a couple minutes. Hubby said that passed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      definately not my favorite. i tasted way too much of the corn tortilla. might try again using flour and see if that helps because i like all the other ingredients listed in this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      While my husband and I liked this, no one else did. DH says 4 stars. Was surprised that DD didn't like this at all, especially sence she likes all the ingredients that are used in this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

    • on May 08, 2009

      This was very good- my boys loved it and have asked me to put it in our menu rotation. Things I did differently: **I sauteed the onions and garlic in a little bit of butter before combining everything in step 3. **I used Healthy Substitute for Cream of Chicken Soup as a substitute for the canned cream of chicken soup. (Much healthier & less expensive!) **I used Crock Pot Chicken Taco Meat (#4957) for the chicken in the recipe. **Because of our family's preference I used flour tortillas instead of corn- 2 large ones fit great with a little overlap to make a layer in my dish. **I put tortillas over the top layer and then sprinkled some more cheese on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for New Mexico Style Chili Chicken Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (364 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 453.8
     
    Calories from Fat 152
    33%
    Total Fat 16.9 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 6.3 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 80.7 mg
    26%
    Sodium 1104.3 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.7 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 35.8 g
    71%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes