Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / New Mexico Style Chili Chicken Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    New Mexico Style Chili Chicken Casserole

    Average Rating:

    124 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 124

    Sort by:

    • on June 23, 2010

      My family really liked this casserole. Very similar to an enchilada recipe that I make. I seemed to have too much to fit in a 9 x 13 pan; so I separated the ingredients into a 9 x 13 and a 8 x 11 pan. Made alot!! We are having leftovers tomorrow for lunch... Thanks for a great recipe. P.S. I softened the onion and garlic in the microwave with a tablespoon of margarine before I began to mix the ingredients. I also added the sour cream after boiling the soup mixture. I baked covered for 30 minutes at 350 and then uncovered the casserole and continued to bake for 10 to 15 minutes longer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      I was a little hesitant to try this recipe because when I think of a good Mexican dish I think red and tomatoes. I made half a recipe but used about 2 1/2-3 cups of cooked meat. I also add the meat to the sauce to save time. My half a recipe was enough for 4-6 servings. This was such a comfort food to me, I ate this for 2 1/2 days, breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks. Next time I might try adding some beans and maybe some corn, this recipe was great as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      Oh my this is good, and so easy! I used the Chicken Crock Pot Taco meat I made yesterday and I used the Mexican blend cheese 'cause it was on special at the store, but otherwise stuck mostly to the recipe and it was so good! We each had two helpings for dinner. I found my 9x13 didn't quite need 6 tortillas per layer - it usually worked out to about 5. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2011

      One of our new favorite weeknight meals when I need something fast or easy. I've made it three times in the past two months and DH said he could have it once a week. I don't do all the layering, just roll the chicken in the wraps and cover with the sauce and cheese. I've even topped it with crushed tortilla chips once and it was good that way as well! Keeper, keeper, keeper! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2011

      Oh this was very good!!!!
      The edges were a little soupy, but not the middle. Maybe I just needed to cook a tad longer. But one of my favorite enchilada type recipes!!!
      Update: made again using meat from Crock Pot Whole Chicken. I also used the broth and the onions from crock pot. Made this dish company worthy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      I just stuck the cut up onion in the microwave for 3 minutes before adding in and it worked great! I used low sodium soup and used instant salt free dry chicken bouillon and 14 oz. water in place of the chicken broth. Delicious even with ff sour cream too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      Very good and easy dish to make however, I would recommend to saute the onions. I cooked it for an hour and stirred it every 20 minutes like suggested in other reviews, but the onions were still a bit a hard. Overall very good meal, will be making again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      I couldn't fit 4 layers of chicken/sauce/tortillas in the recommended dish. It says 20 tortillas, 6 per layer with chicken and sauce, one cup chicken per layer, so that would be 24 tortillas?? I could only fit 15 tortillas (floured ones) and three layers chicken (3cups) with sauce. Finished off with three tortillas then mexican cheese blend then remaining sauce. Maybe I was reading it wrong but I just winged it!! Well I just finished eating it. sorry didn't do anything for us. Not spicy at all and kind of bland. I can see why it says to use so many tortillas, it helps it keep its shape like a lasagna. I used low fat soup, low fat sour cream. I can't see that being the reason for its blandness. Oh well, only my opinion, to each his own!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2014

      OMGosh...this is excellant! I made it as written and it is perfect. Thanks You!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2014

      I omitted the onion and salt. And I used flour tortillas. This was good, especially for my wife who doesn't like things spicy. I had to put some hot sauce on mine but it was still good. Just very mild. It was very runny, even though I let it sit for about 15 minutes before cutting it. I will make it again, but I think I'll cut the chicken broth in half, in hopes that it won't be as runny next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2013

      Very good and easy dish. Only made enough for two and turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2013

      This was very good. I halved the recipe and used "hot" green chilies. Even so, this wasn't very spicy. So it would be good for a family feeding children who are sensitive to spices. If you want it hotter, I'd sub jalapenos for the chilies. I added chopped fresh cilantro when serving. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2012

      This was delicious! It was so nice and creamy. DH really liked it. Will make again soon. Thanks for posting this yummy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2012

      This was so yummy! I did change the meat to ground pork so it tastes more like a pork and chile dish my grandmother makes. I also only had one can of cream of chicken, but I had a can of cheddar cheese soup so I used that, but it was still very good! My husband loves this dish as well which is hard because he's picky. If there was anything negative to say, it would be that the tortillas do get kinda soggy, but it reminds me of lasagna noodles that way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2012

      Totally yummy! To quote my son, I "can make this any time". The rest of the family loved it, too. Didn't need all of the tortillas called for. Can't wait to make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2011

      Very good concoction! Close to another enchilada casserole I make, but I like the more complicated sauce on this version. A keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2011

      I was making this for only my husband and myself so I halved it and made it in a large pie dish. I also do not like corn tortillas but I do like corn chips so I used a single layer of corn chips when a layer of tortillas was called for. Someone's review said they used some great northern beans so I threw in a can of those plus I probably used the whole amount of chicken. It came out a bit soupy but next time if I throw in a few more chips that problem will be solved. Great flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2011

      Very tasty. Whole family helped make and enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2011

      Yum! Substituted one (drained) can of cannellini beans for volume's sake. Decreased by one can of cream of chicken soup. VERY nice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2011

      Made this last night and my husband and I thought it tasted very good. Me more than my husband, but that's not unusual when it comes to creamy foods. I did not precook the sauce ingredients and I used 4 raw chicken breast halves (about 1.3 pounds) that I cut up into bite size pieces. I just mixed the sauce ingredients and followed the assembly directions, except after the first layer of sauce on the bottom of the baking dish, I added the chicken to the sauce in the mixing bowl for the rest of the layers to save a step in the layering process. I just eyeballed the cheese layers, using more than the recipe called for I'm sure, but I ended up only having 3 layers of tortillas before my pan started to get too full, probably because I wasn't strictly adhering to the 1 cup sauce, 1 cup chicken per layer measurement either, so I think I used a few less tortillas than called for. I stopped with the last layer of sauce/chicken and baked for one hour at 400. I then added some more sharp cheddar and some mozzerella on top to keep the cheddar from getting hard, and cooked for an additional 5 minutes to let the cheese melt. The end result tasted great, but like others have mentioned, it was pretty soupy, even after I let it set for 10 minutes before cutting. I think next time I make it, and there will be a next time, I will add about half the broth and see if that helps. I also think I will lower the temp a bit or cook it just slightly less as I thought the chicken was a little over done. All in all, this deserves a solid 4 stars for taste from us. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for New Mexico Style Chili Chicken Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (364 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 453.8
     
    Calories from Fat 152
    33%
    Total Fat 16.9 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 6.3 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 80.7 mg
    26%
    Sodium 1104.3 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.7 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 35.8 g
    71%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes