124 Reviews

My family really liked this casserole. Very similar to an enchilada recipe that I make. I seemed to have too much to fit in a 9 x 13 pan; so I separated the ingredients into a 9 x 13 and a 8 x 11 pan. Made alot!! We are having leftovers tomorrow for lunch... Thanks for a great recipe. P.S. I softened the onion and garlic in the microwave with a tablespoon of margarine before I began to mix the ingredients. I also added the sour cream after boiling the soup mixture. I baked covered for 30 minutes at 350 and then uncovered the casserole and continued to bake for 10 to 15 minutes longer.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wwltmom June 23, 2010

I was a little hesitant to try this recipe because when I think of a good Mexican dish I think red and tomatoes. I made half a recipe but used about 2 1/2-3 cups of cooked meat. I also add the meat to the sauce to save time. My half a recipe was enough for 4-6 servings. This was such a comfort food to me, I ate this for 2 1/2 days, breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks. Next time I might try adding some beans and maybe some corn, this recipe was great as written.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. B August 24, 2010

Oh my this is good, and so easy! I used the Chicken Crock Pot Taco meat I made yesterday and I used the Mexican blend cheese 'cause it was on special at the store, but otherwise stuck mostly to the recipe and it was so good! We each had two helpings for dinner. I found my 9x13 didn't quite need 6 tortillas per layer - it usually worked out to about 5. Thanks for posting this!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fool4Food April 24, 2010

This was so yummy! I did change the meat to ground pork so it tastes more like a pork and chile dish my grandmother makes. I also only had one can of cream of chicken, but I had a can of cheddar cheese soup so I used that, but it was still very good! My husband loves this dish as well which is hard because he's picky. If there was anything negative to say, it would be that the tortillas do get kinda soggy, but it reminds me of lasagna noodles that way!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaceySingh March 01, 2012

One of our new favorite weeknight meals when I need something fast or easy. I've made it three times in the past two months and DH said he could have it once a week. I don't do all the layering, just roll the chicken in the wraps and cover with the sauce and cheese. I've even topped it with crushed tortilla chips once and it was good that way as well! Keeper, keeper, keeper! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SloppyJoe August 23, 2011

Oh this was very good!!!!
The edges were a little soupy, but not the middle. Maybe I just needed to cook a tad longer. But one of my favorite enchilada type recipes!!!
Update: made again using meat from Crock Pot Whole Chicken. I also used the broth and the onions from crock pot. Made this dish company worthy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 June 27, 2011

I just stuck the cut up onion in the microwave for 3 minutes before adding in and it worked great! I used low sodium soup and used instant salt free dry chicken bouillon and 14 oz. water in place of the chicken broth. Delicious even with ff sour cream too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cindymcleod62 June 13, 2010

Very good and easy dish to make however, I would recommend to saute the onions. I cooked it for an hour and stirred it every 20 minutes like suggested in other reviews, but the onions were still a bit a hard. Overall very good meal, will be making again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rayvene May 18, 2010

I couldn't fit 4 layers of chicken/sauce/tortillas in the recommended dish. It says 20 tortillas, 6 per layer with chicken and sauce, one cup chicken per layer, so that would be 24 tortillas?? I could only fit 15 tortillas (floured ones) and three layers chicken (3cups) with sauce. Finished off with three tortillas then mexican cheese blend then remaining sauce. Maybe I was reading it wrong but I just winged it!! Well I just finished eating it. sorry didn't do anything for us. Not spicy at all and kind of bland. I can see why it says to use so many tortillas, it helps it keep its shape like a lasagna. I used low fat soup, low fat sour cream. I can't see that being the reason for its blandness. Oh well, only my opinion, to each his own!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michelekedd March 16, 2010

Taste like enchilada suizas. I used canned chicken (from Sam's),fat free soup and did not add the salt. We like a little more heat so next time will use hot green chilis. To those who thought the sauce was too runny, let it sit longer after baking. It will thicken up. I also liked the idea other reviewers had about adding Rotel tomatoes. I would drain them first.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barbacious August 17, 2008
New Mexico Style Chili Chicken Casserole