Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / New Mexican Hot Chocolate Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    New Mexican Hot Chocolate

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on March 15, 2010

      First time trying Mexican hot chocolate and what a great treat. For the milk I used 2% and for the topping I used Cool Whip Free.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      I made it for one using Roosie's measurements. Very good and warming. Not too sweet. Thanks. Maybe next time I will be daring and add a dash of cayenne pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      I love Mexican chocolate, I like to add a dash of cayenne pepper to mine ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      Yummy! This was excellent. As suggested, we topped with whipped cream and served it with biscochitos (Biscochitos). The only (unintentional) change I made was I only added 5 cups of milk, because the saucepan I was using was too small. So it was maybe a little richer, but everyone liked it that way. Wonderful recipe, I will surely make this again, thank you Sue!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2007

      This hot chocolate was a big hit at my house! Because I was making it for children, I used half the spices, but it still turned out wonderful. We served it with whipped cream. My teenage daughter said it was one of her all-time favorite cups of hot chocolate. Thanks for an easy and popular hot chocolate recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2005

      A lovely warming drink. A nice blend of spices with out being to overpowering.At first I thought the sugar would be too much but it was just perfect. I also scaled it down to make just 1 serving, it scales down well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2004

      I made a sixth of this recipe to make just one serving. Here are the measurements I used: 4 tsp sugar, 2 tsp cocoa, 1/4 cup cold water, 1/6 tsp cinnamon, dash nutmeg, 1 cup milk and 1/2 tsp vanilla extract. It was supposed to rain all day today. A drop hasn't come down from the sky, but it might as well be pouring! It is damp, dark and bone-chillingly windy out. This is the perfect pick-me-up/warm-me-up! The subtle cinnamon flavor glows through just enough to not be overpowering. Next time I might try a smidge less sugar just for personal taste, but its really perfect as-is. Wonderful flavor combination and it just satisfies you right down to your very soul! I did not have whipped cream for this (though I wish I did), but it was delicious. I will make this again- very easy to throw together and like Missy said, it does scale down just fine. Thanks Sue L, for this soul-warmer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2004

      Excellent hot chocolate drink perfect for those endless rainy days. Scales down well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for New Mexican Hot Chocolate

    Serving Size: 1 (327 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 237.1
     
    Calories from Fat 85
    36%
    Total Fat 9.5 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 5.9 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 34.1 mg
    11%
    Sodium 121.8 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.6 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 17.0 g
    68%
    Protein 8.7 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes