Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / New England Style Hot Dog Rolls/Buns (For Lobster Rolls Etc.) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    New England Style Hot Dog Rolls/Buns (For Lobster Rolls Etc.)

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on March 30, 2010

      I didn't buy the hot dog roll maker, but just shaped them into logs and layed them side by side to bake them, then when they cooled some I cut them apart. These make perfect rolls for hot dogs, sausages, sloppy joes, and just about anything you would put in a sandwich, and let's not forget lobster and tuna salad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      i didn't have the mold when I made these. Not sure I want one. I rolled each equally and evenly. AWESOME, tasty, perfect, Delious, family favorite.. I can go on and on... Thanks for sharing! I did use potato water when I made these.. added on more teaspoon of sugar... The family devoured these. My son who loves his meat.. ate a few alone.. LOL I am thinking of using this same recipe and adding some garlic and cheese later in the week.. Will let you know how those turn out.. Linda you are a gem.. Thank you again and again and again for sharing.. I agree with other reader.. NO MORE STORE bought. EVER.!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2011

      I made some of your Flo's Hot Dog Relish and decided to try your roll recipe as well. These are so much better than the store bought rolls and I love that you can grill these on both sides. It really makes a difference in the overall hot dog eating experience! I didn't have the hot dog maker but they still came out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2011

      I must have done something wrong! My crust was kind ot tough. Everyone else had such good result, so I'll try again! I wonder what I did wrong?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      These rolls ROCK!!! The rolls are so soft and delicious! I steamed my hot dogs and rolls too. Amazing little weiners if I do say so myself! These aren't hard to make and worth the time any day!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      I made my dough and then made rolls and lined them up touching each other on the pan. They came out great. When they were done, I just cut them with a sharp knife and the sliced them down the middle. Great tasting rolls that are soft and delicious and they are great to grill, then add your favorite fillings from lobster to hotdogs to tuna and lettuce. Great with just about anything!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      Buy the mold and try them. They are the best hot dog rolls you will ever have! Soft and delicious, or great toasted on the grill. Just pop in the dog and top with your favorite toppings. Yummy! Thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      What a great treat these rolls were for us. I made the rolls to have with A Little Bit of Heaven in Coney Island Hot Dog Sauce on hot dogs. The rolls were so fresh and delicious! No problems with the mold when making them, and I am so happy I got it to try. I won't be buying my rolls anymore. This is the only way to go from now on! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      Thank you for this recipe! In the midwest no one understands that these are rolls to me! :) I am ordering the molds for these and hamburger buns! Jelly

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      i made these useing a bisscotti pan i bought from king arthur worked fine i dont under stand why you cant buy these rollsall over ilived in new england 60 years they have been around as long as i can remember.-herbsbundi

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2012

    • on November 02, 2011

      This recipe is not good. I tried it twice today and both times the dough did not nearly rise enough. I don't know if you use different yeast, but I did everything according to your recipe... I am so sorry that I bought the bun pan :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2011

      I bought the pan and made 2 batches of rolls yesterday so we could have them for our barbecue tomorrow. Everyone is going to be so surprised when I tell them that I actually made the rolls! I am so thrilled to have found this recipe as it is much cheaper to make them then to buy them, and we go through a lot of these rolls throughout the year. They came out great and I can hardly wait to have a hot dog in my first homemade hot dog roll tomorrow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      I made these without the mold and they came out really good. Probably not as perfect looking as with the mold, but they taste as good, and they did have the tall sides like the New England rolls have. We love these type rolls because you can grill them and use them for sandwiches too. Besides grilled or steamed dogs, they are also great for making a tuna, chicken, egg or lobster salad rolls! What fun I am going to have with these now that I have this recipe. I am so excited! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      This recipe worked perfect for me. They will only come out right using the mold that makes them higher than regular buns and they are softer too. We so enjoyed our hot dogs last night along with some potato salad and chips. I would recommend this recipe to anyone trying to duplicate the rolls from the stores in New England! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      I debated whether to purchase this hotdog bread mould before making these rolls, but did not want another item cluttering up my kitchen space so opted not to. After looking at photos and reviews, I decided to make this recipe using the method in the recipe ie 13 rolls. I followed the recipe and while they were resting, they doubled fine twice. But, something happened during the baking phase. They flattened out more like ciabatta. I am now wondering if they doubled too much the second time and collapsed. I'm not giving up though and ordered the mould from King Arthur after my mishap and will attempt again using this recipe. Thank you for posting this recipe Linda.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      I have been wanting to make these rolls for a long time as we love steamed and grilled hot dogs, and have them often. I finally received my hot dog maker in the mail and made these over the weekend. The rolls came out so nice and fresh and soft and just like the ones in the store. I love these because there isn't as much bread as the bun type rolls, and they have a much better texture and flavor. Mine came out great! We made these as part of our lunch out on the grill and along with it we had Flo's Special Hot Dog Relish to put on our dogs . I will make good use of these recipes and I'm so happy I have the machine. Thanks again Linda!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2008

      I just had to get one of these machines and try it out. I am a gadget collector, so this one really had me intrigued! My rolls came out perfectly soft and tender. I grilled a couple with butter on both sides in the frying pan, then made myself a tuna roll with onion and lettuce. You want to talk about good? My tummy is still smiling! Yours will too. Seems so good to be able to make this type of roll so economically, and to have them come out so good is an added plus! Thanks Linda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2008

      I couldnt wait to try one of these hot dog roll makers, so I sent away for one. I made these the other day, and they came out so wonderful. I toasted the sides with a little butter in a frying pan, and then fried my hot dogs. Had with mustard, relish, onion and celery salt and the relish didn't even soak through the roll! These are awesome! So much better than the rolls that are so bready and all crust. UGGH! We will be trying them on the grill next. I recommend anyone buying one of these hot dog makers and make your own. They aren't hard to make and the rolls are fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2008

      I made these rolls to have along with some Italian and Sweet Sausages and Bratwurst on the grill. I used the hot dog roll maker I bought especially to try these, as I love these kind of hot dog rolls.Thanks for posting the site Linda! They were easy to make and I now know this new gadget will get a good workout in my kitchen. They came out perfect. Can't wait to try them toasted and filled with a dog real soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for New England Style Hot Dog Rolls/Buns (For Lobster Rolls Etc.)

    Serving Size: 1 (1142 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2787.7
     
    Calories from Fat 873
    31%
    Total Fat 97.0 g
    149%
    Saturated Fat 41.1 g
    205%
    Cholesterol 697.2 mg
    232%
    Sodium 2621.5 mg
    109%
    Total Carbohydrate 394.1 g
    131%
    Dietary Fiber 14.5 g
    58%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 76.5 g
    153%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites