Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / New England Soup Factory's Sweet Potato Chicken Barley Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    New England Soup Factory's Sweet Potato Chicken Barley Soup

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-30 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on April 27, 2006

      My husband really enjoyed this, but, while I thought it unique, something didn't quite jive--I think it was the dill with the barley. I will make again, but thin it with more broth. I also found just a little white wine vinegar seemed to refine the taste, and a sprinkle of fresh thyme united the flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2006

      This is a nice soup but for us, it was way too thick. I added extra broth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2006

      I made this exactly as above and found it to be wonderful. I have never made a chicken soup that I liked as well as this. It is definitely going to be my comfort soup. I never thought I would like parsnips but since they are grated they just disappear into the soup and add to the flavor

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2005

      This gets full points for being unique, and you can't go wrong with barley. I found it on the bland side, so added about 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper and 1 tsp of Chinese five spice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2005

      This was very delicious. My only changes; I didn't have any carrots so I used 1/2 a turnip diced, I had some mushrooms so I added them, I also added 1 Tblsp Soy Sauce and used 2 tablespoons dried dill because I didn't have fresh. I actually just finished making it and I am sure it will get even better the next day. Really great!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2005

      Wow! We loved this! I did omit the parsnips since the ones at the store were enormous. And we added 5 crimini mushrooms that weren't getting any younger, which paired very well. I made a half recipe and this still made lots! I got 6 servings. I didn't have cooked chicken on-hand, so I just used 2 cubed chicken thighs and added them with the barley. I was really happy with how well the dill flavor went with this. I used homemade vegetable broth , and found that I had to use the larger amount called for, and we like our soups thick! Cooking the sweet potatoes in the broth gives it the most heavenly flavor. Mmm! Loved it. Definitely a good one to add to the repetoire.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2005

      Good stuff! The husband asked if he could eat it for breakfast. I used it to use up some leftovers. I finely chopped all of the veggies to get a less chunky final product. This makes a lot, and is very filling. I'll have to freeze half, but we'll be happy to eat it again later. Very easy, relatively fast, healthy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2004

      This is a very hearty and satisfying soup, almost like a stew. The only changes I made were to omit the parsnips (none to be found at two grocery stores!) and to use a couple of extra cups of stock. I think it was even better the next day when the flavors had a chance to blend a bit. Very healthy as well so I'll definitely make this again. Thanks, winkki!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2004

      A week after Thanksgiving I was looking for some way to finally put the bird to rest. With a quick substitution of turkey and turkey stock, this soup was the perfect finale. I didn't have any fresh dill but used 2 tablesppons of dried. I cut the recipe in half and still have a huge pot of delicious soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2004

      Found this recipe yesterday and made it for supper last night with great results! I used a couple of chicken carcasses that I had frozen and made homemade stock and also had some frozen meat to use. I didn't have any barley, so I used brown rice instead, with excellent results. Also, I halved the recipe since there are only two of us. We loved it! This is a very delicious soup, thanks so much for posting the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for New England Soup Factory's Sweet Potato Chicken Barley Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (235 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 156.8
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    15%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 4.5 mg
    1%
    Sodium 253.3 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.4 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 6.2 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    parsnips

    chicken

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites