Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / New England Soup Factory's Spicy Chickpea and Butternut Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    New England Soup Factory's Spicy Chickpea and Butternut Soup

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on January 14, 2009

      This is a highly unusual soup. We both liked it but froze the leftovers because we just couldn't eat too much of it - it almost becomes overwhelming after awhile and this recipe makes a lot of soup! Hopefully it does freeze okay. I did not add the full amount of broth called for - I used about 2 quarts instead and it made it a thicker, heartier soup for our main course. I did put in extra garlic and used a little extra fresh grated ginger and omitted the coconut extract as I felt that would make the taste too sweet. Next time I will omit the flakes as well - not only did they add too much sweetness - it looked rather unappetizing. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      My soup pot wouldn't hold 4 quarts of stock on top of everything else, so I only used about 2 3/4 quarts. Everything else was about on qty. I also used coconut cream instead of milk and no extract or flakes. I lightly blended it at the end so it was nice and thick with a few chunks still. Next time I will halve the soy sauce - it was too strong for me, but my b/f liked it as is though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2012

      Good soup, but recipe needs a few edits:

      -2 quarts of stock, not 4. Per someone else's comment, 4 wouln't even fit in most people's large soup pots. (And I think it would make it way toot thin.)
      -Chicken stock is fine if you're not veg.
      -Add some salt!
      -If you like it hot, add more habanero. I put one whole diced habanero and this and it's not anywhere near as hot as the soup when I got it at the restaurant.
      -Use the hand blender to chop this us up a bit. I did this before adding the coconut and cilantro, but I did it one time after that step and I love the consistency.
      -Garnish with extra lime for a fresh taste.

      Thanks for posting his receipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2011

      I usually like unusual, unique dishes but this soup was too weird for me. A better name for it would be "Tomato/Lime broth with root vegetables and quirky flavorings". The flavor of the squash was totally lost in the lime/tomato tongue-smasher and the coconut added an odd texture, unpleasant odor and clinging aftertaste. Tomato/lime/coconut - Hmm, maybe if I chilled it and added about half its volume in vodka...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2010

      I decided to half the recipe because I didn't have enough squash. I ended up half of a different squash on top of my butternut. I was weary about adding so much broth, but I think it worked out in the end. I didn't add a carrot or celery because the vegan vegetable broth I had was sufficient. I didn't add coconut extract, but I added double what was called for. I did end up using a blender once it was finished, before I added in the chickpeas. It turned out wonderfully and I definitely will be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      I love this soup! I used a habanero pepper instead of scotch bonnet pepper, and I went ahead and added sweetened coconut flakes, with great results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      This was very very good! I highly recommend using a stick blender to blend the soup. It was wonderful that way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      This was probably the easiest and tastiest soup I have ever made! Perfect for lunch! I didn't have any coconut extract but don't reckon it was needed. The flaked coconut is well worth including as added a lot of thickness and made the soup much more unique. Will be making this a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2008

      This recipe worked great for me and I have used it a few times. You don't need a hand blender as the soup is a broth. It has coconut milk , lime juice and hot pepper. It's very assertive but very fragrant. It does not take a long time to cook because the chickpeas are cooked and the butternut squash cut into small pieces cooks quickly. I can make it when I get home from work and it tastes like I have cooked all day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      Recipe needs improvement. 30 minutes absolutely not enough to make smooth creamy like consistency of squash. Use of hand mixer will brake all ingredients including peas, celery and carrot that should be still chunky and the end of cooking. All species (lime, coriander, ginger, garlic, pepper) should be placed at the and of cooking overwise soup will lose very unique flavor of all ingredients. Coconut may be make taste worse and i do not think is necessary. Vegetable stock can be 2-3 less for creamy consistency overwise soup is watery. I expected more from soup with 20 ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2008

      Wow. This was one of the best soups I've ever had - and I made it! I halved the recipe, but kindof wish I hadn't, because after feeding three adults and three kids, there was only one serving left over. Every single one of us had seconds and wished we could eat more. I halved all ingredients except for the coconut milk and the peppers - those I kept whole, and was glad I did. I had one quart of stock and one quart of broth, so I did it that way and it worked really well. I will definitely make this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      This was tasty. I only used 1/2 the amount of broth called for - 4 quarts (16 cups!!!!) is A LOT of broth! Mine was chunky and substantial, and I definitely preferred it that way. At the end of cooking, I used a potato masher to lightly mash the soup together, which resulted in a thick and slightly chunky soup - not completely smooth, yet not brothy either. Very good! The coconut is a nice addition, but I think that I will skip the flaked stuff next time because it (in my opinion) adds a grainy consistency.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      This recipe is AWESOME! I tend to halve the quantity of everything b/c it makes too much otherwise. But I've made this on a number of occassions and its been a hit with guests every time! Thank you for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      i didn't care for this... which was surprising b/c it smelled so good until i added the coconut milk... i might consider making this again but not adding coconut milk... maybe just some soymilk or rice milk the coconut milk gave it a flavor i did not care for... i also found it to be much too watery. i might consider using only half the water/broth next time that might do it for me. I would still like to try some of the other New England Soup Factory recipes you have listed but I think this one needs some work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2007

      What a fantastic soup! Rich but still very light. It needs some effort in preparing it but that really pays off. Thank you winkki.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2006

      We loved it. Admittedly I accidentally used twice as much coconut milk but the creaminess seemed exactly right. I skipped the flaked coconut, extract and chillies and doubled the chickpeas as it was a main meal. It is really flavoursome and different. Next time I will try some tofu to bulk it out. Thank you Winkki.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2005

      Wow!!!This was excellent and with a very unique flavor. We loved it. I didn't add the flaked coconut because I only had sweetened, other than that followed to the T. Will make again and again. Thank you for your soup recipes I am making all and will post reviews as I make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for New England Soup Factory's Spicy Chickpea and Butternut Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (309 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 254.1
     
    Calories from Fat 118
    46%
    Total Fat 13.2 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 8.7 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1006.5 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.8 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 6.0 g
    24%
    Sugars 9.1 g
    36%
    Protein 6.1 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites