Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / New England Roasted Cornish Game Hens Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    New England Roasted Cornish Game Hens

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on February 15, 2003

      Another fabulous recipe from Miller!!! Taste was great and the hens were ohhhhh sooooo tender!!!!! Wonderful valentines dinner!!!! I may try them on the grill next time as I ended up smoking the whole house out using the oven at 500... Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      One of the easiest, best game hen recipes I've ever enjoyed! Had a dinner party, wanted something different yet not time consuming and these fit the bill! Everyone raved about them, and thought I spent hours in preparing. (I'll never tell). Thank you so much for sharing!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2010

      Very easy to make. I marinated the cornish hen before I went to work this morning. Then put them in the oven after I returned from work. Dinner was ready exactly 25 mins later. I made honey garlic carrots and asperagus while waiting for the hens to be cooked. I added one tablespoon of honey to the butter when I braised the hens 2 mins before finish time. The kids gave the dish all thumbs up. Juicy and yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2004

      Great flavor . This recipe produces a juicy, tender hen. I cut back to one hen, baked it at 400F for 50 minutes. Marinated it for 6 hours. Easy tasty recipe Thanks Miller for a lovely Thanksgiving Dinner

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2012

      Loved the little kick from crushed red peppers. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      perfection! i, too, was a bit apprehensive on account of the high temp, and actually ended up tenting my hen for the last ten minutes [MISTAKE!] .. because of my personal slip, the skin didn't capture the crisp that i would have liked, but again .. my fault. i was searching for a simple game hen roasting recipe, as i was preparing mine specifically for 'chicken' salad, the next day. this fit the bill, and then some. the flavor was so good that i had to tap my own wrists to not eat the whole thing before chicken salad could be made! thanks miller!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2008

      Superb! Birds stayed moist and very flavorful. I spatchcocked before cooking . Make chicken stock with the carcasses and the flavor was incredible, will make often on all kinds of poultry

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2007

      Oh my gawd! What a great recipe! At first I thought the temp would be too high. Not the case. I brine my cornish hens first in water,kosher salt, and brown sugar in the fridge for a least a day. I find using kitchen shears to cut the hens in half is helpful. From then, I used the exact recipe to marinade them. Marinaded over night. Cooked as directed. They were the BEST cornish hens I have ever made! Thanks so much!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2006

      This was excellent--my husband chose this recipe and decided to make it. :) His biggest gripe was the pain of removing the ribs and the backbone. He used 4 tablespoons of butter to baste the hens halfway through, and took him 25 minutes to bake them. He served it with rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2006

      My daughter and I really enjoyed this recipe. The Cornish Hens came out very moist and flavorful. This is a recipe that I will definately make again. I think the next time I make this, I'm going to lay the Cornish Hens on a layer of sliced lemons. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2004

      My son was requesting cornish game hens for his birthday dinner and I choose this recipe as it sounded as if it would produce and tasty moist bird and I must say we were not disappointed. I marinaded about 8 hours as we had a hectic day but and double the recipe for 4 hens to feed my family. It spells divine and the flavor was excellent. I served this with seasoned rice and steam artichokes. Thanks Miller!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for New England Roasted Cornish Game Hens

    Serving Size: 1 (328 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 777.3
     
    Calories from Fat 561
    72%
    Total Fat 62.4 g
    96%
    Saturated Fat 9.6 g
    48%
    Cholesterol 217.4 mg
    72%
    Sodium 166.4 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.7 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 48.6 g
    97%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites