Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / New England Hot Chocolate Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    New England Hot Chocolate

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on September 24, 2002

      What a wonderful hot chocolate. It is just starting to cool off in the evenings here. I made this last night for me and my husband. We both loved the soothing maple-chocolate flavor. Very creamy and delicious. Thanks Nurse Di.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2002

      This tasted great! The flavor of the maple was subtle and pleasant and not too overpowering. The marshmallows melted just enough to make this extra-creamy. I'll be making this again and again! Excellent job! Thanks, NurseDi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2002

      Now this is quite good. I love hot chocolate and maple. Just never thought of putting the two flavors together in a drink. They blended well together and were not overpowering to each other. Very smooth, rich and creamy. Just the way hot chocolate should be. Thanks Nurse Di.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2002

      What a wonderful way to warm up. I made this during my sister's visit. We both enjoyed the rich smooth chocolatey goodness laced with the flavor of maple. Very creamy. Definite winner. Thanks Nurse Di.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2012

    • on December 17, 2009

      It has been very cold here (teens and 20's), so I started making hot chocolate at least once every day. I printed a couple recipes, but stuck with this one. It isn't super chocolaty, it's perfect. I prefer whipped cream on top, but I think melting the marshmallows into it adds something special. This recipe is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      Yum! I had to add some extra chocolate b/c I am a chocoholic. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2009

      Excellent! Best hot chocolate I've had. Made per recipe, but melted in some real chocolate w/the cocoa and cut back on the sugar a little. Didn't have maple "flavoring", so I added a little maple syrup. Topped w/whipped cream and chocolate sprinkles for the kids. Can't wait to try w/some Grand Marnier for an adult version.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      This might be the most delicious hot chocolate i've ever tasted! Next time, i will decrease the sugar just a tiny bit, but that is the only change i would make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2009

      This has been, by far, my favorite hot chocolate recipe on Recipezaar. A lot of the others are way too rich and dark chocolatey. This one tasted much more like the mixes you get from the store (which is exactly what I wanted!). I omitted the maple b/c I couldn't find it in the pantry, used just a tad bit less sugar than called for, and probably should have put in just a tad more cocoa for our tastes. It was a very big hit with my four little men! This will become my staple for hot chocolate. Thanks for this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      Matt made this for us the other night. He halved the recipe, used real maple & added a little bit of cream to make up for the marshmallows, which we don't eat. It's nice & rich & the subtle maple after-taste is a real treat. We might use a little less sugar next time. Thanks for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      This was scrumptious! A real find! Very very very good! Loved it! DH is drinking one too taking a break from working on my wine rack! Excellent! I used Watkins Double Force Pure Vanilla! Oh very tasty with the Maple Flavoring! Jelly :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      Made two servings for DH and myself. love the way marshmallows foam up when melting. We both enjoyed this cup very much. Made for Comfort Cafe, a tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      Amazing and so easy. Loved it with marshmallow peep snowmen on top. Added extra cocoa and used powdered sugar so increased that as well since I like it sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2008

      It's extremely rich! Very delicious flavors. It's just a bit too sweet for me, so I'm giving it 4 stars. I will make it again, though, and perhaps put in less marshmellows. Very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      My children love this! Made it last night after the football game to warm us all up, and could easily have made a second batch. Even with skim milk, it had a wonderful flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2007

      I'm sipping on this right now and Yummmm. I was in the mood for some hot chocolate this afternoon but didn't want the same ole, same ole. I made a diabetic version using Splenda, skim milk, Molly McButter and no marshmallows. I would never have thought to add butter flavor to cocoa but I have a recipe for Maple Creme Cafe, Diabetic that I make quite a bit so I knew that the maple would be lovely. I made a single serving which ask for only 1/4 Tbs of cocoa and while I didn't measure I pretty much doubled it. WOW this is good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2007

      I made this yesterday for my daughter and my sister and they both raved about this! I didn't have any vanilla extract on hand because I used it all for Easter baking, but did have Maple extract. I will always make this, my daughter will want this daily now! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2006

      We enjoyed this great tasting hot chocolate. Really liked the flavor the maple added. Will be making again. Yummy!. Thanks NurseDi. Bullwinkle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2006

      This was AMAZING!!!! I really lovethe tast the maple flavoring gave it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for New England Hot Chocolate

    Serving Size: 1 (299 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 305.3
     
    Calories from Fat 108
    35%
    Total Fat 12.0 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 7.5 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 41.7 mg
    13%
    Sodium 235.3 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.8 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 24.7 g
    98%
    Protein 8.6 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes