Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / New England Creamy Rice Pudding Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    New England Creamy Rice Pudding

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on December 25, 2008

      I love rice pudding (without raisins, of course!) and this may be the best I've tried. Quick, creamy, easy, and a great use for leftover rice. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2008

      I really, really enjoyed this rice pudding. I used cooked brown rice instead of white rice as a personal preference. The pudding is creamy and delicious! Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2013

      This was so yummy. I used leftover jasmine rice, which was still so delicious. My family loves jasmine rice. Added the raisins and topped off with cinnamon at serving. It was really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2012

      This is delicious! Exactly what I was craving! I made some changes- used 1/2c of sugar (which I thought was perfect, but my husband said he likes it a tiny bit sweeter), put the rice in while the milk was warming/bubbling (helps break down the rice a bit and heats it), and left it on the stove for 20 minutes. Now I am wondering, are the eggs cooked or just heated through? I'm going to eat it regardless because it is SO good! haha! Just wondering....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2010

      This was a very creamy and very sweet dish. After reading other comments, I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup and it was still very sweet. Also, next time I would use a hand mixer while whisking the eggs into the warm milk mixture - I thought my arm was going to fall off from whisking (scrambled egg bits in your pudding is the worst). There probably won't be a next time though as I really prefer a less pudding-y rice pudding, and much less sweetness, so I will be looking for a different recipe to try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2010

      This turned out great! I tripled the recipe as I had 6 cups of leftover basmati to use up! I didn't add the raisins and I sprinkled in cinnamon instead of nutmeg as that's what I prefer. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      I just made this. It turned out super creamy and delicious! I scaled it up to use 3 cups of rice. Mannnn I love the flavour! The only thing I did was cut the sugar by about 1/8 cup, and next time I'd cut it down a bit more, it's pretty sweet. Not that sweet is a bad thing! I'll be eating this ALL DAY. Yum! Thank you Chef!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      This was great!!! The perfect way to get rid of my left over rice. My kids didn't think they'd like it but they were wrong :-) Thanks for posting this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      This was very yummy! I enjoyed this more than my old recipe, because this is really like pudding! It's very yummy! I added some cinnamon to the batch, but that was the only change. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      We made this on a very cold and snowy Sunday afternoon. It was nice to have something warm but it came out way too sweet. We did not add raisins. My six year old (who loves sweets) had a few spoonfuls and said, "it's too sweet Mommy". It is not as creamy as I would like but it's ok for a quick dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2008

      Yum! I replaced 2/3 cup of the milk with whipping cream. I also reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup and added a bit more rice (we like thicker pudding). With a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg, this was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2008

      My oldest daughter and I love this recipe. I have had a hard time making it thick enough. I added an extra Tbsp of cornstarch and another scant cup of rice and it has worked better for us. Just a wonder recipe with great flavor. Easy to prepare. No more throwing away that extra rice from dinner:) Thanks for sharing this with our family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      We really enjoyed this.I used 1/2 splenda and 1/2 sugar.Next time I will cut back on the sugar.It was excellent.Will make again,it was so creamy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      this was just okay for me. it's not the sort of rice pudding my mother use to make. it was a little too custard like for my taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      I work as a cook in my school district and made this pudding today for the teachers and aides. It was DELICIOUS! Everyone just loved it! I forgot to put the butter in and it was not missed. Thanks for posting this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      I made this with skim milk and it was still unbeleivably rich and creamy; it was really wonderful. My only tiny little issue is that I prefer a pudding with less of a vanilla pudding taste so I'd decrease the amount of vanilla next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      Thank you for a super recipe! I had never made rice pudding before, but DH loves it. I made this recipe to surprise him, and he said it was exactly right! I didn't change a thing. I've come back to say that after more than a year of making this recipe, it has become quite a family favorite. Thank you again for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2007

      This was fabulous!!! I loved this, and think that this was the closest I got to finding the recipe that my grandma used for her rice pudding....I still think she baked it, however, but the taste of this was close! I did make the recipe larger, because I had more rice to use, but I am glad I did. I have also realized that I do NOT like raisins in mine. I kind of remember my grandma soaking hers before hand, which I am going to try next time. Thanks for this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2007

      This was absolutely delicious, and following the directions yielded extremely satisfactory results. It's super creamy, even though I used skim milk! Perfect. I added golden raisins instead of dark because they were all I had, and I thought they complimented the pudding quite well, actually. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. I love that it can be made easily on the stovetop with ingredients I always have on hand (with the exception of the rice, which I happened to have and wanted to use up). Thanks for sharing this great dessert! I enjoyed it greatly, even if it is technically "out of season." :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2007

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for New England Creamy Rice Pudding

    Serving Size: 1 (203 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 282.4
     
    Calories from Fat 59
    21%
    Total Fat 6.6 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 78.4 mg
    26%
    Sodium 177.8 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.1 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 25.1 g
    100%
    Protein 6.2 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes