Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / New and Different "Taco Salad" Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    New and Different "Taco Salad"

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on May 13, 2002

      This is great! Since I don't like Fritos, I used Doritos and a can of red kidney beans. It's a great change of pace.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2002

      This is the standard "taco salad recipe" here in the U.P. (Upper Peninsula) of Michigan. I've made this one for years. Sometimes I add a can of green chilies or chopped jaolopenos if I want to kick up the heat to offset the sweetness of the Catalina dressing. I had friends who were transplanted from Phoenix last summer over for a barbeque and she avoided this salad (she of Mexican decent) until I begged her to take a taste. One bite and she was hooked! She now says this is her favorite taco salad recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2002

      wonderful salad for a hungry crowd...I've made it before and always use a can of red kidney beans (drained) and sometimes use thousand island dressing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2002

      Delicious and easy. Only problem I had was trying to figure out a way to save the leftovers. I may try just mixing all the items in individual bowls next time so the leftovers don't go to waste. We don't like tomatoes so I substituted avacado instead. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2003

      I've made this one for years with one exception. Try rinsing the kidney beans in a strainer and soaking them for a couple of hours or ovenight in the Catalina dressing. Then just pour them in. HUGE difference in taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2012

      I made this salad to go with some burgers and it was hit with my family. The only thing I did differently was I used Nacho Doritos in place of thecorn chips. We loved it. Thank you for sharng.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2011

      Excellent! I mix together everything (just before serving) EXCEPT the Fritos and ground beef. I serve them on the side, as well as refried beans. Then we build our own salads- but since there's so much good stuff in with the lettuce (I added corn, too)- my hubby gets a lot more greens! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2010

      The four of us thought this salad was way too sweet, and sort of soggy tasting. Was quick to throw together, but won't be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      I thought this was very tasty. My husband really enjoyed it, and it was so easy to make. I just did exactly what the recipe called for, except I added a couple more green onions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      This was very yummy!! I used ground turkey instead of beef its lower in fat and cheaper in money. I also used thousand island instead of catalina. I added kidney beans as well and left out the tomatoes. It was Delicious!! This recipe is a keeper!!! Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2009

      My kids do love this! I use nacho cheese Doritos, and add a can each of corn and kidney beans (drained). I also use a full head of lettuce, so it makes a huge batch. Reeeeallllly good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2009

      This salad is awesome my mom makes it almost just exactly the same except, when she makes it she usues Thousand Island. It's sooooo good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      Very good salad! It makes a large batch and is quite soggy the next day. I would probably start with 1/2 recipe and then if you need to make more is simple to whip up! Very good, thank you CW

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2007

      We do this too - sometimes just breaking up corn tortilla shells. I don't use the dressing, but swirl medium heat Pace picante with sour cream over the top. even my 5 yr old loves it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2007

      I have used a recipe very similar for years! My mother and my grandmother both make it as well, we substitute the corn chips with Doritos, and also the French dressing with Catalina! I LOVE it every time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      I made this for my sister's wedding reception and everyone is still asking for the recipe. This is wonderful the way it is. I don't add the Fritos until I am ready to serve, they tend to become soggy if left in to long. 5 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2005

      I made this for supper using the catalina dressing. I thought it was ok, my son did too but my daughter hated it...I think it would have been much better with a different dressing...I am going to try it again,(scaled down by half until I find a dressing we like).I think it would be good with sour cream and maybe some chopped jalepenos...Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2005

      Yummmm!! This is the best summer salad! I like this recipe better than most b/c I do not like beans. Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2005

      My aunt made this alot when I was growing up. It is delicious, a must to try!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2002

      My mom has made this for 30 years. YUMMY! She adds kidney beans and uses Nacho Doritos instead of Fritos. She leaves the dressing off for everyone to put on for their liking. I leave it off entirely, because it's so good alone!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for New and Different "Taco Salad"

    Serving Size: 1 (355 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 862.2
     
    Calories from Fat 664
    77%
    Total Fat 73.8 g
    113%
    Saturated Fat 25.0 g
    125%
    Cholesterol 130.5 mg
    43%
    Sodium 1222.6 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 15.7 g
    63%
    Protein 34.3 g
    68%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Fritos corn chips

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites