37 Reviews

I have made this my regular pie crust recipe, using softened butter instead of crisco since I developed an allergy to soybean oil. It needs a little extra water when you use butter, but always turns out delicious and easy to work with. :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Random Rachel December 14, 2012

I'm not going to lie, at first i was a bit apprehensive about trying out this recipe because it used baking powder and eggs. Which i hadn't seen before in a pie crust recipe, but boy was i happy when i made the crust. Turned out great, i made 6 crusts in total, 2 were for an apple pie and i had some left over to make decorations on the crust.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nika The Mad Baker November 21, 2012

You probably figured out why only half of that pie made it into my photo.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng January 24, 2012

This has been my go-to pie crust recipe for the past few years...just now getting around to reviewing it. It really is "never fail" -- so thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Not Linda March 20, 2011

This crust was light and flaky even after I added too much cold water at the end. I baked my crust at 350F for 20 mins, since I needed a pre-baked crust for my pie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarikat April 15, 2010

really easy and really good. Reminds of the one my mom would make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mara61 February 24, 2010

This is an excellent pie crust. Not the very easiest to work with, but not too difficult. It was very flaky and good flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pansregnig January 17, 2010

Halved the recipe using only 3/4c shortening for a pot pie. DH thought that the crust was excellent. It did have good flavor and was quite flaky. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dogsandwoods November 24, 2009

This pie crust was so easy I loved it. I have never made one before. My family also gave it rave reviews. I didn't have shortening so I used butter and substituted half the vinegar with fresh lemon juice. I added more flour while rolling it out until it didn't stick to the rolling pin. I think it was sticky b/c I had to use it right away. The end result was very flaky and worked well for pecan pie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michellebsalazar November 21, 2009

Sorry about my previous bad review. I have learned a thing or two about baking in a humid climate. I tried this again with half the water and it worked great. I patted one crust in the pan shortly after mixing it and used the rest of the dough after a few hours in the fridge. It rolled out nicely, probably more easily than any other pie crust I've ever tried. My apologies and compliments!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Upsidedown Again November 04, 2009
Never Fail Pie Crust