Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Never Fail Pie Crust Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Never Fail Pie Crust

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on December 14, 2012

      I have made this my regular pie crust recipe, using softened butter instead of crisco since I developed an allergy to soybean oil. It needs a little extra water when you use butter, but always turns out delicious and easy to work with. :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2012

      I'm not going to lie, at first i was a bit apprehensive about trying out this recipe because it used baking powder and eggs. Which i hadn't seen before in a pie crust recipe, but boy was i happy when i made the crust. Turned out great, i made 6 crusts in total, 2 were for an apple pie and i had some left over to make decorations on the crust.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

      You probably figured out why only half of that pie made it into my photo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      This has been my go-to pie crust recipe for the past few years...just now getting around to reviewing it. It really is "never fail" -- so thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2010

      This crust was light and flaky even after I added too much cold water at the end. I baked my crust at 350F for 20 mins, since I needed a pre-baked crust for my pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      really easy and really good. Reminds of the one my mom would make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      This is an excellent pie crust. Not the very easiest to work with, but not too difficult. It was very flaky and good flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      Halved the recipe using only 3/4c shortening for a pot pie. DH thought that the crust was excellent. It did have good flavor and was quite flaky. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2009

      This pie crust was so easy I loved it. I have never made one before. My family also gave it rave reviews. I didn't have shortening so I used butter and substituted half the vinegar with fresh lemon juice. I added more flour while rolling it out until it didn't stick to the rolling pin. I think it was sticky b/c I had to use it right away. The end result was very flaky and worked well for pecan pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      Sorry about my previous bad review. I have learned a thing or two about baking in a humid climate. I tried this again with half the water and it worked great. I patted one crust in the pan shortly after mixing it and used the rest of the dough after a few hours in the fridge. It rolled out nicely, probably more easily than any other pie crust I've ever tried. My apologies and compliments!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      This was so easy! I made it in my food processor and it was flaky. I made a quiche and cooked it by itself (piercing it first with a fork) in the oven for about 15 minutes before I put the filling in. I also used it for a meat pie. I cooked that all at the same time. It worked both ways.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2009

      This is the BEST recipe for pie crust, especially when you fill it with leftover meats, vegetables and custard. It's always a treat worthy of lots of compliments!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      I actually used 5 tbspns of ice water instead of the half cup... I just added it a couple tbspns at a time based on the doughs consistency as I kneaded it. I love this recipe, I am saving it to use again and again! Thank you Tranch!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      I love this crust recipe. I used this for a pumpkin pie. So good. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      great pie crust recipe. I've used it to actually make a pie (pecan) and I've used it to make chicken pot pie (which requires 2 crusts). This is a great recipe. It freezes well for future us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      I did not like the texture of the crust. I used it to make a blueberry pie from home canned blueberries. The crust seemed to be very saltly to me and grainey. When I rolled it out it was very hard to keep together. I had to pick up pieces and push it into the pie plate with my fingers. I followed the directions to the T. I think I will go back to my Crisco crust recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      This was my first pie crust and it was very good. I used room temperature shortening as I had just bought it - not sure if it makes a difference but I really enjoyed how this turned out. It was perfect for my meat pie. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      Very easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      This is an AWESOME pie crust recipe! I didn't have time to refrigerate what I used tonight and it still came out great! I will use this every time from now on!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Never Fail Pie Crust

    Serving Size: 1 (1047 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1270.6
     
    Calories from Fat 828
    65%
    Total Fat 92.1 g
    141%
    Saturated Fat 26.4 g
    132%
    Cholesterol 46.5 mg
    15%
    Sodium 693.3 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 96.8 g
    32%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 14.4 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes