64 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made these to take to work along with some other goodies, and they were the first ones gone. Wonderful recipe! A "must have" from now on when I bake.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnOkie2 January 11, 2003

I absolutely love these. They are my favorite cookie, there is just something about the flavor of butterscotch & oatmeal together. Wonderful.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl May 21, 2002

These cookies have been a favorite in my family for years! We almost always make them as bar cookies by spreading them in a 9x13-inch pan. These cookies are unique and delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kree June 16, 2003

This is one of my favorite cookies! A classic! My friend Renate taught me to half the sugar in this recipe. This keeps the cookies soft instead of crunchy and you don't miss it. You can half the sugar in almost any cookie recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ctrmom February 13, 2014

I've always loved these cookies but usually use the recipe on the back of the Nestle chips bag. Your recipe calls for more oats (bag only calls for 1 & 2/3 cups). Your recipe really helped the texture of the cookies. They had always come out too thin and would stick to the pan so much that I couldn't get them off. I'm so glad I searched RZ for the recipe this time as they were much better! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly-Mom2Girls December 22, 2013

I used 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup shortening and baked on parchment paper at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for about 13 - 14 minutes. Perfect! No spreading. Just the right amount of soft and crunch. I did throw in about 1/2 teaspoon orange zest...good, but think I will leave out next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mackd February 03, 2013

I had the same problem as other reviewers with my first batch: my cookies were spreading and looked like they were burning on the edges, but raw in the middle. For the second batch I turned the oven down to 350 and baked for 13 minutes (my cookies are a little larger than the recipe calls for). The edges do brown quickly, but I decided to see what would happen if I left them in until the tops browned a little too. They turned out great! No spreading, nice and chewy and soft with a crispy bottom. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolalowe December 29, 2012

I made these for a family dinner party last night and everyone raved about them. I made them pan style and they turned out perfect. A keeper for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maynard68 April 26, 2012

I made these yesterday for our new neighbors. The flavor was good but they turned out really flat. I like my cookies a little more thick and not sure why that happened. Anyway, they were especially good and crispy with some butterfinger icecream sandwiched between two of them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas March 26, 2012

My kids LOVED these - said they're their new favorite cookie. They taste delicious. I share the problems other raters do with sticking to the pan, and coming out thin and "lacy". I wish I knew how to modify this recipe to make them hold together better, but they sure taste delightful! (I just noticed that the Quaker Oatmeal Raisin cookie recipe is nearly identical to this one, but calls for 1.5 cups flour. I'll up the flour by 1/4 cup next time to see if this helps.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Naomi Up North January 10, 2012
Nestle' Oatmeal Scotchies