Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Nestle' Oatmeal Scotchies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Nestle' Oatmeal Scotchies

    Average Rating:

    64 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 64

    Sort by:

    • on January 11, 2003

      Made these to take to work along with some other goodies, and they were the first ones gone. Wonderful recipe! A "must have" from now on when I bake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2002

      I absolutely love these. They are my favorite cookie, there is just something about the flavor of butterscotch & oatmeal together. Wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2003

      These cookies have been a favorite in my family for years! We almost always make them as bar cookies by spreading them in a 9x13-inch pan. These cookies are unique and delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2014

      This is one of my favorite cookies! A classic! My friend Renate taught me to half the sugar in this recipe. This keeps the cookies soft instead of crunchy and you don't miss it. You can half the sugar in almost any cookie recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2013

      I've always loved these cookies but usually use the recipe on the back of the Nestle chips bag. Your recipe calls for more oats (bag only calls for 1 & 2/3 cups). Your recipe really helped the texture of the cookies. They had always come out too thin and would stick to the pan so much that I couldn't get them off. I'm so glad I searched RZ for the recipe this time as they were much better! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2013

      I used 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup shortening and baked on parchment paper at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for about 13 - 14 minutes. Perfect! No spreading. Just the right amount of soft and crunch. I did throw in about 1/2 teaspoon orange zest...good, but think I will leave out next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2012

      I had the same problem as other reviewers with my first batch: my cookies were spreading and looked like they were burning on the edges, but raw in the middle. For the second batch I turned the oven down to 350 and baked for 13 minutes (my cookies are a little larger than the recipe calls for). The edges do brown quickly, but I decided to see what would happen if I left them in until the tops browned a little too. They turned out great! No spreading, nice and chewy and soft with a crispy bottom. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2012

      I made these for a family dinner party last night and everyone raved about them. I made them pan style and they turned out perfect. A keeper for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2012

      I made these yesterday for our new neighbors. The flavor was good but they turned out really flat. I like my cookies a little more thick and not sure why that happened. Anyway, they were especially good and crispy with some butterfinger icecream sandwiched between two of them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2012

      My kids LOVED these - said they're their new favorite cookie. They taste delicious. I share the problems other raters do with sticking to the pan, and coming out thin and "lacy". I wish I knew how to modify this recipe to make them hold together better, but they sure taste delightful! (I just noticed that the Quaker Oatmeal Raisin cookie recipe is nearly identical to this one, but calls for 1.5 cups flour. I'll up the flour by 1/4 cup next time to see if this helps.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2011

      I have been making this recipe for 30 years. Now it seems too sweet. Does anyone know the original recipe?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      Great recipe! Not the sturdiest cookie, but still very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      I always use this recipe from the bag -- today, I used this while I sent my husband to the store for the butterscotch chips :) It's identical to the bag (maybe Kelly-Mom2Girls had a different bag?) and always perfect. Thank you for posting, Caryn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

    • on June 30, 2009

      I made these as the bar variation and my husband is VERY happy!!! The are buttery and rich...the perfect little treat. I think I may just have to try one reviewers orange peel suggestion. That sounds great too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2009

      Thanks for posting one of my favorite cookies! Luckily (or unluckily) I am the only one in my family who likes these, so I usually eat the whole batch myself!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      Change the vanilla to the same amount of zested orange peel and enjoy a real treat. The cookies are great with vanilla, but awesome with orange peel!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      We have only made this recipe as cookie bars because we find making cookies too time consuming. These Oatmeal Scotchies are a family favorite now, and I did not think that they would love anything without chocolate. They are very tasty and easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      According to the teenage boys that ate them. "These cookies are boss."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      These will be a new Holiday tradition in our house! They are sooooooooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Nestle' Oatmeal Scotchies

    Serving Size: 1 (1123 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1311.5
     
    Calories from Fat 643
    49%
    Total Fat 71.4 g
    109%
    Saturated Fat 48.8 g
    244%
    Cholesterol 215.0 mg
    71%
    Sodium 1128.3 mg
    47%
    Total Carbohydrate 160.7 g
    53%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 130.2 g
    520%
    Protein 9.4 g
    18%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Old-Fashioned Quaker oats

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites