25 Reviews

Served this to my company last night. Rave reviews from everyone!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flowergirl April 09, 2003

Insanely rich! This rounded out our meal last night and I got compliments from my guest. I believe he said it was "kickin'." ;-) Next time I'll serve with strawberries.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BothFex December 06, 2002

This cake is exceptional! Extremely rich...great with a cup of strong coffee. I had a bit of a problem getting the topping smooth, in fact, my arm was ready to fall off from all the beating! I finally gave up and poured it on even though it was not completely smooth. I used light cream cheese and I can't imagine it made a difference...this cake can not get richer than it already is! Thanks so much...growing up in Philadelphia, butter cake was a bakery standard and pretty famous...I am glad I can make it at home!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen=^..^= October 13, 2002

This must be another Texas vs Missouri thing, like BBQ because up here we call this South St Louis Deep Gooey Butter Cake - whatever name you give it doesn't really matter because this is an awesome cake. It's been a favorite in my family for over 20 years. Glad you posted it Miss Annie because people should REALLY try this one.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl October 11, 2002

I am from ST Louis, and this is like our gooey butter cake, but loved the reviewer suggestion of the choc cake mix from NC so I tried it, what a great different taste.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Chevelle January 03, 2008

This a cake that I have made for years, except I knew it as St. Louis Ooey Gooey Cake. You are so right, the Pillsbury Yellow Cake Mix really makes a difference. Thank you!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandabears April 05, 2004

This was excellent, sure can't eat much of it at a time. Very rich. We loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ April 03, 2004

Delicious and easy. Will make again and again

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VA April 02, 2004

I've been making this recipe for years. I'm from Eastern North Carolina and it's called Gooey Butter Cake! So GOOOOOD! Also, can use any flavor cake mix - Lemon is my 2nd favorite; strawberry is ok and choc.is good to. Must try!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Georgia Swayne March 23, 2004

I have tried this recipe several times and it tasted good,, but I couldn't get it to look like the photos. The top layer doesn't look flaky....crusty....appealing. Mine came out looking like cornbread. Help!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookiebora March 29, 2013
Neiman-Marcus Butter Cake