Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Neiman-Marcus Butter Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Neiman-Marcus Butter Cake

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on April 09, 2003

      Served this to my company last night. Rave reviews from everyone!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2002

      Insanely rich! This rounded out our meal last night and I got compliments from my guest. I believe he said it was "kickin'." ;-) Next time I'll serve with strawberries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2002

      This cake is exceptional! Extremely rich...great with a cup of strong coffee. I had a bit of a problem getting the topping smooth, in fact, my arm was ready to fall off from all the beating! I finally gave up and poured it on even though it was not completely smooth. I used light cream cheese and I can't imagine it made a difference...this cake can not get richer than it already is! Thanks so much...growing up in Philadelphia, butter cake was a bakery standard and pretty famous...I am glad I can make it at home!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2002

      This must be another Texas vs Missouri thing, like BBQ because up here we call this South St Louis Deep Gooey Butter Cake - whatever name you give it doesn't really matter because this is an awesome cake. It's been a favorite in my family for over 20 years. Glad you posted it Miss Annie because people should REALLY try this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      I am from ST Louis, and this is like our gooey butter cake, but loved the reviewer suggestion of the choc cake mix from NC so I tried it, what a great different taste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2004

      This a cake that I have made for years, except I knew it as St. Louis Ooey Gooey Cake. You are so right, the Pillsbury Yellow Cake Mix really makes a difference. Thank you!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2004

      This was excellent, sure can't eat much of it at a time. Very rich. We loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2004

      Delicious and easy. Will make again and again

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2004

      I've been making this recipe for years. I'm from Eastern North Carolina and it's called Gooey Butter Cake! So GOOOOOD! Also, can use any flavor cake mix - Lemon is my 2nd favorite; strawberry is ok and choc.is good to. Must try!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2013

      I have tried this recipe several times and it tasted good,, but I couldn't get it to look like the photos. The top layer doesn't look flaky....crusty....appealing. Mine came out looking like cornbread. Help!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2012

      I made the cake this weekend when my daughter had friends over to spend the night. It turned out great - very rich, sweet and delicious. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2010

      This is a very good cake and everyone really enjoyed it. I do think next time I will cut back just a little on the powdered sugar as that amount did make it really sweet. You have to cut it in small squares. I also had to increase my baking time by 5 minutes, but I'm sure that each oven is slightly different. I used a butter recipe cake mix and it was a really quick, easy and good dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      Very good and VERY rich! Next time I will cut into smaller pieces because it is so rich and sweet. Will definitly make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      I am sitting here as I type this with a square of this delicious cake....and a glass of milk (hehehe). I love the chewy gooey-ness of it! My only problem was that for some reason some parts of it didnt seem all the way done with the time alotted (but that has NOTHING to do with your recipe, its probably my oven) But even with that I say this is a great recipe to have!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      Wow, very good! Though you can get a cavity just thinking about it, LOL. It's very tasty and I didn't think it was too sweet. Perfect for serving and/or baking in small portions for a luncheon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      Being from Dallas (home of Neiman Marcus), this is a very popular recipe and I've had this cake at almost every church function or potluck at work. As one poster stated, it is EXTREMELY sweet, and it's best to cut into tiny squares. It's a GREAT dessert, and always impresses.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      This was very good! I loved it! It's become one of my favorites.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      I brought this to work today and they gobbled it up! Everyone wanted the recipe! It is very rich, but I LOVE that. Thanks-will definetly be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2007

      this was so easy an oh so good made for family of 15 an they all loved it i put choc chips between layers to add a zip had it both ways an both are good thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      Terrific, though very sweet. It was a nice change from normal routine desserts. Relatively simple to make. I thought it was even better the next day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Neiman-Marcus Butter Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (126 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 493.0
     
    Calories from Fat 187
    37%
    Total Fat 20.8 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 9.7 g
    48%
    Cholesterol 104.0 mg
    34%
    Sodium 439.6 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 72.7 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 56.6 g
    226%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites