Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Neighborhood Ham and Bean Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Neighborhood Ham and Bean Soup

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on April 10, 2010

      This is a great recipe, much like what I have done for years but it is nice to have it written down as I always kind of wing it so you never know how it will come out :) I do add potato flakes (instant potatoes) just a few minutes before serving to thicken it up. I learned that trick years ago & use it with several soup recipes. Thanks for a good comfort food recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      Just finished making and tasting this recipe. Fabulous!!! It is really worth taking the time to make this recipe. I know many people shy away from using dried beans, but the method that this member used in the recipe is fool-proof. By using dried beans you control what your family eats! I'll be using some of this soup this week and then freezing the rest in portion sizes to take for lunches. I did make some notations: (1) Omitted the chicken bouillon granules, (2) Added 1 tsp dried celery seeds, (3)Omitted the "handful of chopped celery leaves," (4)Cooking time at step number five was reduced to 1 hour because beans were soft, (5) Used the recommended low sodium chicken broth, (6) Used 2 larged potatoes, cut into cubes, (7)Briefly used an immersion blender to thicken up the soup. and (8) Reversed steps number seven and eight. In other words, I deboned ham and cut into chunks and then covered and simmered for an addional hour. The member listed cooking time of 4-6 hours. I was probably at 2 1/2 hours (not including soaking the beans for 1 hour). ADD: This recipe made 13 2/3 cups of soup using my notations. NOTE: If you don't have a meaty ham bone, you could subtitute 2 cups of diced ham in this recipe. If this is the case, I would add the ham at the same time you add the onions, carrots and celery.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2012

      This is an excellent soup. Its thick, hearty and very tasty. I used a ham bone as originally suggested. The only thing I'll do differently next time is omit the extra salt. The ham bone, broth and bullion had enough salt for my liking. The idea of mashing some of the beans to thicken the soup was a good one. I also liked the addition of potatoes to the soup. I cut them into small cubes and was pleased with the texture. Thank you for this recipe. It made great use of holiday leftovers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2012

      This turned out great. I did have to use beef stock instead of chicken (because I didn't have any chicken stock). Used 6 cups beef and 2 cups dry white wine instead of water. Really nice flavors, my husband really liked it and he usually doesn't like bean soups.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      Excellent ham and bean soup! Do pay attention to the recommendation to use low-sodium chicken broth - I used low sodium broth and did not add any bouillon granules, and the soup was teetering on the balance of being a bit too salty by the time it was finished cooking - the ham I had must have been a really salty one. Definitely taste before adding any extra salt. I thinned out the soup with some more water to cut the saltiness and it was great. Thanks for a classic recipe, Bobbie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2014

      This turned out to be really delicious. I had some issues with the broth when boiling the ham bone; it basically evaporated out. So I took the ham bone out and pulled all the meat off, chopped it up and added it to the beans and new broth. The remainder of the old broth I added to the new broth. After that little mishap everything came together beautifully. My beans soaked overnight so I did not have to cook them as long. This recipe is a keeper. I was very impressed. Great flavor and I also used organic low sodium chicken broth. Served with Sweet Cornbread; Sweet cornbread which is also absolutely delicious. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2014

      This was VERY good! I had to use canned beans so added them when adding the carrots etc. using three 15.5 oz. cans; white, black, and kidney.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2013

      Excellent recipe! Since I had left a lot of meat on the bone, I increased the recipe by half and I soaked the beans overnight. To make the soup a little more nutritionally complete I added a bunch of chopped kale near the end. Fabulous flavor and very satisfying. I'll be making this again next time I buy a ham. Thanks Bobbie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2013

      This is a good recipe. I used all chicken broth and no water and didn't add the seasonings other then salt and pepper. I also made rivals and added them which really thickened up the soup which is how we like it. This was my first time making ham and bean soup and everyone liked it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2013

      This is an OMG soup recipe! It is so rich and flavorful and yet healthy. I just put the chopped veggies in when called for, didn't saute them first and saved the fat calories by omitting the oil.<br/>I used a slice of ham that was 95% fat free and cut into serving sized pieces. I did use small red potatoes unpeeled and cut up (two of them). We absolutely loved the flavor. I took the advice of other reviewers and used low sodium chicken bouillon cubes and used all the spices called for. I love savory in soup! Thanks so much for a great recipe. Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2013

      Really enjoyed this soup! I have made a version of this for years,but this is the first time I've put savory in it. Due to personal preference, I left the potatoes out. I left everything else the same. Perfect on a cool evening! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2013

      This baby is a hit! I was a little skeptical about all the spices, but they complimented, rather than overwhelm the flavors. I did not use potatoes. The smells in the kitchen were as good as the soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2012

      I just posted a review for this soup and I can't find it. It is the best with a few changes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2012

      Wow, this recipe makes awsome soup. My dh & I were in flavor heaven. So good, quick and easy to make. A real nice hearty meal in a bowl. I was out of celery so ommited it, I did add a little celery salt to the pot, other than that, made exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing. Thank you so much for sharing this treasure. I have placed this recipe in my Favorites of 2012 cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2011

      Things I did differently: used a 16 bean mix that had soaked overnight; used 6 cups of low sodium chicken broth plus 2 cups of water; eliminated the boullion completetly (too much sodium!); did not add savory because I don't have that; sauteed the veggies in olive oil instead of vegetable oil; added fresh cracked pepper to the veggies while they cooked. Great soup - very hearty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2011

      Mighty flavor...mighty delicious! Wow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2010

      I used a ham bone with about 1.5 cups of meat on it that I had in my freezer from the last time we had ham. I made a few minor changes to the recipe, but I don't think they impacted the taste. I skipped the water and bouillon, but used 8 cups of broth instead. I also didn't have savory, so I used extra thyme and sage to make up for it. The only other change I made was to use celeriac instead of celery. All together, I cooked this for 8 hours -- I think it only gets better the longer you keep it cooking. I'm already looking forward to lunch tomorrow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      This soup is so perfect. It is a regular dinner with my family - the best ham and bean recipe on the 'zaar. My children love it too. Reminds me of being back home in Kentucky.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      This was the first time I've had/made Ham & Bean soup, overall it was pretty good. I added a couple bay leaves and used 8c water and 5tbls bouillon and even starting with a rather salty ham, this came out fine. The only change I think I would make is to cut it down to 1.5c of beans. Total cooking time was 4.5 to 5 hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      We enjoyed this soup. I had to tweak it just a tiny bit to suit our tastes. Unlike many chefs who rated this recipe, my soup was not salty (It must be their ham?) I'll admit, I did omit bouillon, but found it rather 'flat' tasting even with a tasty ham. My tweaks included a dusting of onion powder & garlic powder and a tiny pinch of oregano. I also used my immersion blender to thicken it up and bring the flavors together, leaving some carrots, etc behind for texture. Added the potato as well. All in all, it definitely is one I will make again. Thanks a bunch Bobbie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Neighborhood Ham and Bean Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (306 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 201.3
     
    Calories from Fat 24
    12%
    Total Fat 2.7 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.1 mg
    0%
    Sodium 687.4 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.1 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 9.1 g
    36%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 11.7 g
    23%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ham bone

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites