34 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great recipe. I upped it to 8 cups of nectarines, 4 cups of sugar, and 5.5 Tbl lemon juice and it made exactly 6 half pints. To make sure you've cooked the jam long enough try the freezer test. Have a plate in the freezer during the cooking. At 30 minutes, pull out the plate, & put a small dollop of hot jam on it. If, after a minute, it firms up, your jam is ready.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Quiet_Daisy July 10, 2010

this is AWESOME!! my friend made it, using very ripe nectarines, and adding a bag of frozen peaches. she also used only 2 1/2 cups of sugar. and her spices were 1 tsp almond extract, 1 tsp cinnamon, and 1/2 ground cloves, and a package of pectin. it is by far better than any jam/jelly/preserve i have ever had. thanks! i cant wait to make it myself.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gracielagata July 22, 2008

I've never made jam before so I was a little worried about how it would come out. This was such an easy recipe and it came out DELICIOUS! I didn't have enough fruit so I used just over 3 cups of chopped white nectarine and just a little less than 1 cup of sugar. Since I didn't have any lemons I used the juice from one lime and then added 1 tsp almond extract! I also let it boil longer and it got really thick, but I LOVE IT! Thanks for the Great Recipe!!! I will be using it again!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MineyYO October 05, 2008

Wonderful Recipe! I love to use recipes that do not use added pectin: much less sugar is used and I find that the flavour of the fruit is far superior when not masked by a lot of sweetener. Thank you for sharing!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lezlie July 15, 2008

I don't know how to rate this one. I made a double batch because I had exactly 12 cups of nectarines. I DID peel them because I couldn't find any organic ones and wanted to eliminate as many pesticides as possible (nectarines are on the dirty dozen). After boiling for an hour and 10 minutes, it still hadn't gelled. So I added a package of peach jello I happened to have on hand and called it a day. Even after doubling it, I only ended up with 5 pints... so even though it tastes wonderful, I think I'm still on the lookout for a recipe that makes a large quantity and will set without fail.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
prvrbs31gal September 06, 2010

Really yummy!! I had some really ripe nectarines that I needed to use up. I ended up with 12 cups, chopped. I doubled the recipe and I had to cook it a little longer, about 45-50 minutes. At the end I added cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. almond extract, and 1 tsp. vanilla extract. Perfection! I also used my stick blender to break up some of the pieces after cooking Delicious! I ended up with 10 half pints. Thanks for the great recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Sarah September 07, 2012

I was hesitant about jam with skins in it, but had no desire to peel a tree of nectarines....call it lazy, but WOW this is scrumptious and the skins just blend in. I used around 7 cups of fruit and cut the sugar content down by 3/4 cup and am so glad I did. I also used lime juice (mexican limes) instead of lemon. Frozen plate gives you the key to success. Fantastic and easy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MabelsManor July 22, 2012

Awesome recipe. I used 8 cups nectarines with 4 cups of sugar and 5 Tbsp fresh lemon juice.

The best part of this recipe for me is it does not use any preservatives or Pectin. I was concerned that this jam may not set due to omission of pectin. But do not worry - Just follow the recipe including the advice to NOT peeling them. It just sets and produces a perfect jam.

Will be doing this next year even more.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nicer20 August 21, 2010

I used this recipe and it was delishes. When I did the third and fourth batch I used 1/4 cup(1/8 if doing one batch at a time) of brandy since I ran out of brandy extract. And I cooked it alittle longer. This recipe is the BEST! My whole family loves it on top of waffles or pancake w/ homemade whip cream! THANKS FOR THE BEST JAM EVER!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
980117 November 20, 2008

Love this jam! First time I made it I only added vanilla extract. Second time I added vanilla extract, almond extract & cinnamon. Both times I made it I left the skin on & it set perfectly. Both times they have been a hit with my family. Easy to make & delicious. It annoys me when you see poor ratings & when you read them they didn't even follow the instructions/tips which are very important in this recipe especially leaving the skin on!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharlone November 26, 2014
Nectarine Jam