Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Nectarine Jam Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Nectarine Jam

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on July 10, 2010

      Great recipe. I upped it to 8 cups of nectarines, 4 cups of sugar, and 5.5 Tbl lemon juice and it made exactly 6 half pints. To make sure you've cooked the jam long enough try the freezer test. Have a plate in the freezer during the cooking. At 30 minutes, pull out the plate, & put a small dollop of hot jam on it. If, after a minute, it firms up, your jam is ready.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2008

      this is AWESOME!! my friend made it, using very ripe nectarines, and adding a bag of frozen peaches. she also used only 2 1/2 cups of sugar. and her spices were 1 tsp almond extract, 1 tsp cinnamon, and 1/2 ground cloves, and a package of pectin. it is by far better than any jam/jelly/preserve i have ever had. thanks! i cant wait to make it myself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      I've never made jam before so I was a little worried about how it would come out. This was such an easy recipe and it came out DELICIOUS! I didn't have enough fruit so I used just over 3 cups of chopped white nectarine and just a little less than 1 cup of sugar. Since I didn't have any lemons I used the juice from one lime and then added 1 tsp almond extract! I also let it boil longer and it got really thick, but I LOVE IT! Thanks for the Great Recipe!!! I will be using it again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2008

      Wonderful Recipe! I love to use recipes that do not use added pectin: much less sugar is used and I find that the flavour of the fruit is far superior when not masked by a lot of sweetener. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2010

      I don't know how to rate this one. I made a double batch because I had exactly 12 cups of nectarines. I DID peel them because I couldn't find any organic ones and wanted to eliminate as many pesticides as possible (nectarines are on the dirty dozen). After boiling for an hour and 10 minutes, it still hadn't gelled. So I added a package of peach jello I happened to have on hand and called it a day. Even after doubling it, I only ended up with 5 pints... so even though it tastes wonderful, I think I'm still on the lookout for a recipe that makes a large quantity and will set without fail.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2012

      Really yummy!! I had some really ripe nectarines that I needed to use up. I ended up with 12 cups, chopped. I doubled the recipe and I had to cook it a little longer, about 45-50 minutes. At the end I added cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. almond extract, and 1 tsp. vanilla extract. Perfection! I also used my stick blender to break up some of the pieces after cooking Delicious! I ended up with 10 half pints. Thanks for the great recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2012

      I was hesitant about jam with skins in it, but had no desire to peel a tree of nectarines....call it lazy, but WOW this is scrumptious and the skins just blend in. I used around 7 cups of fruit and cut the sugar content down by 3/4 cup and am so glad I did. I also used lime juice (mexican limes) instead of lemon. Frozen plate gives you the key to success. Fantastic and easy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2010

      Awesome recipe. I used 8 cups nectarines with 4 cups of sugar and 5 Tbsp fresh lemon juice.

      The best part of this recipe for me is it does not use any preservatives or Pectin. I was concerned that this jam may not set due to omission of pectin. But do not worry - Just follow the recipe including the advice to NOT peeling them. It just sets and produces a perfect jam.

      Will be doing this next year even more.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      I used this recipe and it was delishes. When I did the third and fourth batch I used 1/4 cup(1/8 if doing one batch at a time) of brandy since I ran out of brandy extract. And I cooked it alittle longer. This recipe is the BEST! My whole family loves it on top of waffles or pancake w/ homemade whip cream! THANKS FOR THE BEST JAM EVER!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2014

      Perfect recipe. I used 20 cups of ripe nectarines and increased everything else proportionately per the recipe. I cooked the jam about 45 minutes since we're at 4000 feet (~high altitude) and used the cold plate test to be sure it was setting up. I didn't peel the nectarines, which makes the recipe so much easier than most jams. I simply washed and chopped them into cherry-sized bits, removing any bruised parts. I used my immersion blender to further chop them when the jam was cooked (my potato masher wasn't getting the job done since I had a fairly large quantity). Be sure to watch the pot to prevent boil-overs. (Oops!) Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2014

      I was so excited to make this (making jam for the first time!) that I forgot to measure my chopped fruit in cups and counted the fruit instead!!!! Still used the same measure for rest of the ingredients. Guess what? Turned out great!! Just boiled it for 45 minutes or so and came out thick and yummy.<br/>Had it on my toast for breakfast today!!<br/>No canning for me. It is going to be all gone in a few days :))

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2014

      I tried this recipe yesterday with fresh nectarines. I followed the recipe exactly including adding 1 tablespoon of cinnamon but my jam did not thicken. However, it tastes delicious but I won't be sharing this batch of "jam" with anyone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2014

      Excellent! I'm not big on nectarines, & was looking for something to do with all the ones I had.<br/><br/>6 cups chopped nectarines, 3 cups sugar, low boiled for 30 min., added 1/2 teaspoon of almond, 1/2 pkg. of Sure-gel, & 1/3 cup of E & J brandy to the boiling mixture. After the 30 mins. of low boiling, added 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon & additional 1/4 of brandy. (Thought the boil weakened the slight taste of brandy.<br/><br/>Water bathed for 15 min. Yielded 3 pints & 4 mini jars.<br/><br/>Tasted wonderful!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2013

      I found this recipe last night after finding a tree loaded with nectarines. Sounded simple and easy, and boy it was! The longest and hardest part was preparing the nectarines. I cut the sugar to about 21/2 c and added about 1/2 tbsp cinnamon and about 11/2 tsp roasted ginger..otherwise the recipe is as listed. I am also at a high altitude, so actually had to soft boil for about 45 minutes total. Man oh man! Just the right combination of tartness and sweetness! My husband also really likes it! I just made one batch to test it out, I yielded 4 1/2 pints plus enough for a couple of pieces of toast! I WILL be making more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2013

      good flavor but way too sweet. next time i'll decrease sugar at least by 1/3

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2013

      By accident I had purchased nectarines instead of peaches.. well after looking around found this recipe and decided to give it a whirl. I have to watch my blood sugar levels so I substituted splenda instead of sugar, adding it near the end of the cooking time. I will definitely be making this again but will cut back on the splenda by possibly a third.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2013

      This was the first time I've made a cooked jam. I usually stick to freezer jams, but our nectarine tree was loaded with its first crop, so jam seemed like a good option. I followed the directions to a T, until I realized that I had thawed the lime juice (also from one of our trees) instead of the lemon juice, AFTER I had added 3 T. But since our fruit was so intensely sweet, the lime was a perfect compliment. No problem with set, and I loved how simple the recipe was, my batch of 6 c of fruit made 7 half pints of jam. I also used my mil's steamer to seal the jars, following those instructions. I will be making this again next year when the fruit comes on again-THANK YOU!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2012

      This came out beautifully. I didn't peel them and it set perfectly. Jams can be tricky but if you are NOT going to leave the peels on then you have to use pectin-not jello. Can't wait for more nectarines next summer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2012

      Unbelievable! My first time making jam and this was a success! Although I did not follow the portions to the "t" coz I only had about 3 cups of nectarines, it still works as I left the peel on (yielded gorgeous blush of red) as a pectin substitute and added gelling sugar (available in every supermarket in Germany) instead of plain sugar. I put a cinnamon stick in right from the start, and the aroma was just right; pleasantly mild. Did the freezer-plate test and voila! it all works. BIG DankeSchon to Kathy & everyone here for their reviews...it all helps! Keep Jamming Folks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2012

      I've only made jam a couple of times before this, but I love nectarines and I love that this recipe used low sugar. Came out well! I put in 1 tsp of cinnamon. At the time I added it, it seemed like it would be overpowering, but after I canned the jam and was licking the pan I had cooked it in, it seemed quite all right. And now that I've opened a jar of the jam and am eating it on toast, the cinnamon is just a pleasant hint, it is not overpowering at all. I think next time I make this I will chop the nectarines even more finely. There will be a next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Nectarine Jam

    Serving Size: 1 (1519 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 678.2
     
    Calories from Fat 6
    55%
    Total Fat 0.7 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 173.6 g
    57%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 167.0 g
    668%
    Protein 2.3 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    spices

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites