18 Reviews

We used turkey ham instead of ham or salt pork, and also mashed some of the beans to make a thicker broth. It was delicious and we will definitely add this to our favorite soups list! The ginger adds a suprisingly pleasant taste. Very good soup, Dorothy!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keri and Rory February 01, 2002

Made your recipe for several years now, finally writing a review. Instead of water I usually use chicken broth. Have a pot of this soup simmering on the stove right now to package up for lunches this week. Thanks so much for sharing, it's become one of my favorites.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sassafras March 14, 2010

I just realized that I made this months ago and completely forgot to review it, until I came looking to make it again. This soup was nice and creamy, and I really enjoyed it. I used smoked ham hocks in place of the salt pork, but otherwise didn't change any ingredients, except re-seasoning the final soup with salt and pepper to taste. I used a hand blender at the very end to make it more creamy, and pulled the bits of meat off of the ham hock to chop and add back to the soup. This also froze well, and made for some great winter lunches. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IngridH April 28, 2009

Wonderfull. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef313633 August 26, 2016

First time I made this recipe so I tried to follow ingredients precisely except I added two stalks of chopped crlery and cubed 1" slabs of smoked ham for meat and added a small can of sliced mushrooms. Added no water during cooking. Before adding the milk and butter I pulled about 1/4 of the beans out and puréed them in a blender to make the soup thicker. It was looking pretty good until I added the milk. Then it became way too thin and watery for my taste. Next time I'll take a tip from Sassafras and use chicken broth instead of water and leave out the milk.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dgrover4 July 18, 2015

My husband loved this! We enjoyed it with a mix of dried beans, but had to cook it for while longer than stated in order to get the beans soft enough.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
edodge December 26, 2010

I just now realized that I forgot the last steps of this recipe when I came on to write a review. I did everything except adding the butter and milk, and it is STILL delicious! I don't know that I'll even add it next time as it is so tasty the way I did it. I increased the amounts of each ingredient a bit, and smashed some of the beans to give it a different texture. GREAT RECIPE!!! Thanks Derf! :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lauren K May 03, 2010

Was a little unsure of the spice combination in this recipe but it turned out great. I doubled the recipe but next time I will reduce the amount of milk used. Also needed to add add'l salt. Will definetly make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tbirdseed December 31, 2009

Guess I am the only one who really did not care for this soup. This is most likely because I prefer a more traditional bean soup which is much thicker. I did not add additional water during the cooking process and still found the soup to be very thin. Additionally I found the soup to be very bland and did not care for the taste of the milk and butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tmknoll October 21, 2007

This was the first time that I've successfully cooked dried beans! (I've dealt with everything from simply yucky to bean goo spewing forth from the pressure cooker.) I was so tired the night that I made it that I forgot to add the milk and butter. It was still excellent! Granted, it was even better the next day when I did add the dairy ingredients, but either way it's a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
miscellaneousmail July 12, 2007
Navy Bean Soup