Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Navy Bean Pie (Muslim) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Navy Bean Pie (Muslim)

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on May 21, 2011

      Wow, was this *good*! Used the better part of two 15-oz. cans of Great Northern Beans. Hadn't quite enough white sugar, so supplemented withbrown sugar -- maybe not quite the 3/4 cup, but it was plenty sweet. A deeper, darker flavor than pumpkin/squash pies. Since a neighbor makes brownies that include black beans as an ingredient, I knew this would be good; how right I was!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2010

      Great, easy recipe. Hubby thought it was pumpkin pie. Navy beans, who would have thought! I used two 15oz cans, drained, and I pureed one of the cans in the processor, mashed the other. Made a nice texture. Also used skim evaporated milk, frozen pie shell.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      I became addicted to the bean pies from Kareem's Muslim bakery in Detroit. I have made them for many of my catering events and fund raisers. People are usually skeptical, but can't get enough once they have tasted them. A shortcut I use is the unflavored, cooked navy/northern beans you can buy in jars. Also, I have used pinto, northern, lima and butter beans. Each has its own distinct taste and color! As to the spices, they can be added, changed according to personal taste without affecting the pie. A tad of vanilla maybe added if so desired.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2012

      This pie needs to be made like sweet potato pie using pumpkin pie or apple pie spices. One stick of butter and 11/2 tsp of vanilla. This pie is dynamite with these changes!!!! Try it you will love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2009

      It was hard to get people to try. But once they did, they really liked it!! The only thing is I would cut back on the nutmeg to maybe 1/2 tsp. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      To make this pie slightly more richer in taste, add 2 tablespoons of butter to the ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2011

      Exactly like pumpkin pie except the color and consistency. I don't think people would guess it was made of beans though. I used the immersion blender on the mix and it baked into a beautifully firm, full pie. I did not use the nutmeg at all. It is only the consistency that gets this a 4 star for me, I didn't love the consistency.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      Absolutely phenomenal! If you don't tell them it is a bean pie no one would ever guess. I use a whole wheat crust to add even more nutrition to this phenomenal (did I already use this adjective?)pie. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      Bean pie??? Don't knock it, till you try it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2014

      I made this pie for my family and they went crazy especially when I told them what is in it now they all want the recipe. THANK YOU

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2011

      A a a

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2011

      In a word - yuck. This bean pie recipe was a waste of good crust. It was heavy, mealy and too sweet. Authentic bean pies are velvety smooth, light and flavorful. I followed the recipe exactly. Further research yeilded bean pie recipes with a higher egg, canned milk, butter: bean ratio - certainly less healthy, but what I'll be trying next.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2011

    • on May 18, 2011

      My husband never eats any type of pie and he loved it, I have 5 kids only one didn't like it it was easy and soooo good! Good way to sneak in fiber and protein!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2010

      Nutmeg is an intoxicant and "Whatever intoxicates in large quantity, its small quantity too is haram." Abu Dauud, Tirmizi, Ibn Majah and Byhaqi narrated from the Prophet of God sallallahu alaihi wasallam. Therefore this can not be practicing Muslim Bean Pie with the nutmeg. However as another reviewer mentioned, "the spices, they can be added, changed according to personal taste without affecting the pie. A tad of vanilla maybe added if so desired."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      Turned out great! Unique and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Pie Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Navy Bean Pie (Muslim)

    Serving Size: 1 (1070 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2505.9
     
    Calories from Fat 825
    32%
    Total Fat 91.7 g
    141%
    Saturated Fat 30.6 g
    153%
    Cholesterol 445.0 mg
    148%
    Sodium 3374.6 mg
    140%
    Total Carbohydrate 357.4 g
    119%
    Dietary Fiber 47.2 g
    188%
    Sugars 152.4 g
    609%
    Protein 71.1 g
    142%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes