Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Natural Remedy for Colds & Infections Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Natural Remedy for Colds & Infections

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on October 05, 2004

      Terrific natural remedy! Garlic is a powerful natural antibacterial and cider vingar and honey are also reknowned for their germ-busting qualities. Honey is actually highly antiseptic- no germs can survive in honey for more than a few hours. In any case, this worked great! I was coming down with the begining symptoms of what I could tell would be a terrible flu-like cold. After a couple days of taking a couple spoonfuls of this daily- Gone! Completely! I feel great; no sniffles, no cough, no sore muscles. This actually does not taste as bad as you might think it might. It has enough honey in it and I added 1 Tbs lemon juice so it does not taste like you're knawing on a clove of raw garlic, or taking shots of cider vinegar. I prefered it neat- I do hate watered down flavors and the acidity of this felt nice on my sore throat (sort of like drinking OJ when you are sick) and the honey soothed it. This is a remedy I will come back to again and again when I start feeling like I'm coming down with something. It worked wonders!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2010

      Helped my mom who is 82 and kicked it out with a few days!! Her cold was pretty bad and cough. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      So far so good Jen. DD came home with the worst cold tonight after a weekend away and had no voice at all. I made this for her and only hours later she is on the improve (although her not speaking was not a bad thing.... lol) She said she felt much better after taking it. Although she did not give a 5 star rating on the taste......... lol she said it was good stuff and it seems to be working only a few hours later! Thanks Jen another great recipe from you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      HOW do I rate this? If have a cold or flu...DO NOT MISS!!! Drank two tbsp three times a day! Don't know HOW, but sent colf/flu away! Used 4 cloves garlic, doubled the batch, TRUE! Have been crook (ill) for along time too! Open the shoot, down the hatch for me! Interesting, different recipe! For those who are about to try! Don't even wonder why! Not the most vile taste you will know! Just honestly...IT WORKS!!! So have a go!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2006

      thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2006

      This worked wonderfully. I drank two tablespoons every four hours or so. It really helped clear up my chest. And it helped my throat feel better in the morning after I took it. Wonderful stuff. And I think I actually liked the taste. I kept thinking that I shouldn't like it... but I did. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2006

      I will make this in the morning. Let you know how it works. Sounds like it will be very helpful.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2005

      This is an excellent elixir and works also for breaking down fats. Thanks for sharing and should be a mainstay for everyday good health. You can't just take it once and expect miracles but overall, it definitely works!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2005

      This worked wonders for my congestion--the first time I tried it. The next day, it seemed to have lost its potency and didn't fair well the remainder of my sick-time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2005

      Sorry, this did not work for me. Nice try though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2004

      Made the recipe as posted. When it cooled, I tried it. I had been sneezing and blowing my nose and a hacking cough. Within 20 minutes, all cleared up!! I could even breath through my nose. Thanks, Jen, for posting. jim

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2004

      Thanks for posting this. I've been searching for this recipe a long time. The 1st time I used it was when I was living in Israel and my Isralie cousin gave it to me when I got a flu. It works!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2003

      I have used this for my sons cold which was gone the next day and my sore throat which I usually complain about for days on end every winter but only lasted one day after using this. It doesnt taste that bad either but I highly reccomend using at least 2 tablespoons of lemon juice is not a little more. Thanks for helping us to feel better!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2013

      This stuff really works well. Thanks! I made it for my mom, who is 74, and had been on 3 different rounds of antibiotics and it sure kicked that sickness right in the butt!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2004

      I tried this for a week, and it did seem to have a soothing effect on my throat. While my cold didn't get worse, it didn't get better right away, either, so I just don't know what to say. I can only say it seems nice to me, but I would rather not assign stars. I will keep this in mind for use in the future, and if I feel more sure of its effectiveness, I will rate it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Natural Remedy for Colds & Infections

    Serving Size: 1 (275 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 58.6
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    67%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 7.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.5 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 11.5 g
    46%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes