33 Reviews

THIS IS AMAZING. I signed up JUST to review this. My dog was absolutely ridden with fleas, and I didn't even know it until I used this concoction. I used a biodegradeable, natural, dye-free dish soap. I began by getting him wet, then starting at his head and working the suds down to his rump. I was shocked to look beneath him and see tons of fleas trying to scurry away from the soap. Soon enough, the scurrying stopped and they were DEAD. As I was rinsing him off and thought I had gotten all the fleas, I noticed a bunch more between his legs... exactly where I hadn't gotten any of the soap. So I applied more and sure enough, they died quickly. It took about 30-40 minutes total because there were SO many fleas and my dog has a thick, long coat (golden retriever mix). After rinsing him, I went through his hair with a nit comb and found a few live fleas, but most were dead. I am going to give him the same treatment in a few days to kill off any remaining fleas. I'm not sure HOW this works, but it does. I would like to know what it does to the eggs, if anything. That is my only concern. I don't want more fleas in a couple days! To be on the safe side, I'm going to spray him with a flea spray, and I expect that to take care of the problem 100%. So glad I found this!!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
leavesofmytree October 23, 2012

An economical alternative to those price flee dip shampoos. As the owner of a long haired white dog can tell you some time commercial shampoos do not work in well or worse are hard to rinse out, but this worked in like a dream and rinsed out easier and better than any commercial dog shampoo I have ever used. Best yet is made with things I always have on hand. Thanks so very much for the post. As the dog did not even mined this one we will be making and using again.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl July 15, 2012

My God! It's working wonders! I signed up just to give this a review, as moments ago I finished washing my pup with this recipe. IT'S WORKING! IT'S WORKING! This morning I woke up to seeing my dog scratch profusely and when I examined his underside I saw the ticks moving! I was so horrified and upset that I bathed him and then ran to the nearest pet store for items and I've been cleaning away ever since! I felt as though things would eventually work, but it wasn't working fast enough for me. I searched for flea killing shampoos and this was the most dog-friendly that I could find. I used Braggs Apple Cider vinegar and followed the recipe. Sure enough, after massaging and brushing and rinsing him off I saw the little bstrds... DEAD in the water! And even after I took him out and dried him MORE were coming off, and every time he shook MORE came off of him. I'm so happy that I could cry! Now he's just relaxing and I'm so grateful to you for this easy, thrifty solution!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Forlaniz3 July 29, 2013

IT WORKED! I have 2 mini Doxies(1 L/H, 1 S/H). I applied the shampoo & massaged for 5 mins(atleast). They thoroughly enjoyed that part & rinsed real good. Not a live flea to be found! It not only killed their fleas, made them soft & smelling good. But my s/h has such a prob w grass allergies that it calms down his itchy rash that he gets on his Doxie chest & groin area!(who knew!) Have used this 2x so far. Happy & have a batch made for next time. BRAVO!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HiDawn June 28, 2013

I haven't used the vinegar but I can attest that Dawn ABSOLUTELY DOES KILL FLEAS :). I saw that tip on pinterest and it worked like a charm. I assume the vinegar is what makes em fluffy because it strips the oils. So if your dog/cat has a smooth or short coat skipping the vinegar should matter much. But be sure to treat your home, pet bedding and yard so that they aren't getting a free ride every time they go out.... It'd defeat the purpose.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MILEEJA April 22, 2013

I have been at wit's end with fleas on the dogs this year. I have been treating them with frontline with not a lot of success. I bathed the dogs in this mixture and the fleas came off in droves. They have not been scratching themselves half to death and waking me up with all the scratching.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cst1996 July 16, 2012

Wow, this was amazing! I did not use Dawn as all I had was Meyer's Clean Day dish soap, but I added the rest of the ingredients and it worked! I was watching a friends dog for the weekend and noticed to my horror tons of big brown fleas moving around her coat. After about a minute of rubbing the shampoo in, all of the fleas died and started lifting from her skin. Disgusting but amazing to see! I'm so glad I didn't have to go spend a bunch of money on nasty chemicals! Thank you for this recipe:)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bellalu July 08, 2013

When I saw this on Pinterest, I clicked on it, because my dog had fleas. Did I think it would work? Nope. I thought I would do it, put it on my dog, and nothing. So, I looked on another site, and there it was. So, I tried it. I didn't use White vinegar, because the other site said it wouldn't work as well as apple cider vinegar. I wish I would have used white, it stuck so bad. I washed my dog with his shampoo, and still had to spray perfume on him. Anyways, as I was about to put it on, a flea decided to appear, so I quickly poured it. It jumped off, but quickly died. My only complaint is that my dogs fur is so thick, they just died and stayed on him, so I had to pick them off.

All in all, this actually works. It stinks really bad, but if you can't make it to the vet or can't afford to pay, this is for you! I didn't have time to go, but had to do something. Next time, I will use white, if I have to use it. Also, my dog's coat is very shiny and soft. His white part actually shines.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ncljohnson96_12960743 September 01, 2012

And also, to the ones who said this does NOT work? Your fibbing!!!!!! I don't care how infested your baby is, this WILL work!! Unless you just poured it on and then rinsed right after. You have too rub it into the coat, down to the skin and let it sit for at least 5 minutes. This allows time to drown/kill the fleas. Some people are just negative because they can be. Dunno, I'm just baffled I guess.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patty K. October 07, 2013

Everyone it is dawn dish soap that kills fleas not the vinegar!!! just wash n the dawn! our local shelters beg for donations of dawn dish detergent.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wish82 April 22, 2013
Natural Dog Shampoo - Flea Removal