Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Natural Dog Shampoo - Flea Removal Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Natural Dog Shampoo - Flea Removal

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on October 23, 2012

      THIS IS AMAZING. I signed up JUST to review this. My dog was absolutely ridden with fleas, and I didn't even know it until I used this concoction. I used a biodegradeable, natural, dye-free dish soap. I began by getting him wet, then starting at his head and working the suds down to his rump. I was shocked to look beneath him and see tons of fleas trying to scurry away from the soap. Soon enough, the scurrying stopped and they were DEAD. As I was rinsing him off and thought I had gotten all the fleas, I noticed a bunch more between his legs... exactly where I hadn't gotten any of the soap. So I applied more and sure enough, they died quickly. It took about 30-40 minutes total because there were SO many fleas and my dog has a thick, long coat (golden retriever mix). After rinsing him, I went through his hair with a nit comb and found a few live fleas, but most were dead. I am going to give him the same treatment in a few days to kill off any remaining fleas. I'm not sure HOW this works, but it does. I would like to know what it does to the eggs, if anything. That is my only concern. I don't want more fleas in a couple days! To be on the safe side, I'm going to spray him with a flea spray, and I expect that to take care of the problem 100%. So glad I found this!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2012

      An economical alternative to those price flee dip shampoos. As the owner of a long haired white dog can tell you some time commercial shampoos do not work in well or worse are hard to rinse out, but this worked in like a dream and rinsed out easier and better than any commercial dog shampoo I have ever used. Best yet is made with things I always have on hand. Thanks so very much for the post. As the dog did not even mined this one we will be making and using again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2013

      My God! It's working wonders! I signed up just to give this a review, as moments ago I finished washing my pup with this recipe. IT'S WORKING! IT'S WORKING! This morning I woke up to seeing my dog scratch profusely and when I examined his underside I saw the ticks moving! I was so horrified and upset that I bathed him and then ran to the nearest pet store for items and I've been cleaning away ever since! I felt as though things would eventually work, but it wasn't working fast enough for me. I searched for flea killing shampoos and this was the most dog-friendly that I could find. I used Braggs Apple Cider vinegar and followed the recipe. Sure enough, after massaging and brushing and rinsing him off I saw the little bstrds... DEAD in the water! And even after I took him out and dried him MORE were coming off, and every time he shook MORE came off of him. I'm so happy that I could cry! Now he's just relaxing and I'm so grateful to you for this easy, thrifty solution!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2013

      IT WORKED! I have 2 mini Doxies(1 L/H, 1 S/H). I applied the shampoo & massaged for 5 mins(atleast). They thoroughly enjoyed that part & rinsed real good. Not a live flea to be found! It not only killed their fleas, made them soft & smelling good. But my s/h has such a prob w grass allergies that it calms down his itchy rash that he gets on his Doxie chest & groin area!(who knew!) Have used this 2x so far. Happy & have a batch made for next time. BRAVO!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2013

      I haven't used the vinegar but I can attest that Dawn ABSOLUTELY DOES KILL FLEAS :). I saw that tip on pinterest and it worked like a charm. I assume the vinegar is what makes em fluffy because it strips the oils. So if your dog/cat has a smooth or short coat skipping the vinegar should matter much. But be sure to treat your home, pet bedding and yard so that they aren't getting a free ride every time they go out.... It'd defeat the purpose.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2012

      I have been at wit's end with fleas on the dogs this year. I have been treating them with frontline with not a lot of success. I bathed the dogs in this mixture and the fleas came off in droves. They have not been scratching themselves half to death and waking me up with all the scratching.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2013

      Wow, this was amazing! I did not use Dawn as all I had was Meyer's Clean Day dish soap, but I added the rest of the ingredients and it worked! I was watching a friends dog for the weekend and noticed to my horror tons of big brown fleas moving around her coat. After about a minute of rubbing the shampoo in, all of the fleas died and started lifting from her skin. Disgusting but amazing to see! I'm so glad I didn't have to go spend a bunch of money on nasty chemicals! Thank you for this recipe:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2012

      When I saw this on Pinterest, I clicked on it, because my dog had fleas. Did I think it would work? Nope. I thought I would do it, put it on my dog, and nothing. So, I looked on another site, and there it was. So, I tried it. I didn't use White vinegar, because the other site said it wouldn't work as well as apple cider vinegar. I wish I would have used white, it stuck so bad. I washed my dog with his shampoo, and still had to spray perfume on him. Anyways, as I was about to put it on, a flea decided to appear, so I quickly poured it. It jumped off, but quickly died. My only complaint is that my dogs fur is so thick, they just died and stayed on him, so I had to pick them off.

      All in all, this actually works. It stinks really bad, but if you can't make it to the vet or can't afford to pay, this is for you! I didn't have time to go, but had to do something. Next time, I will use white, if I have to use it. Also, my dog's coat is very shiny and soft. His white part actually shines.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2013

      And also, to the ones who said this does NOT work? Your fibbing!!!!!! I don't care how infested your baby is, this WILL work!! Unless you just poured it on and then rinsed right after. You have too rub it into the coat, down to the skin and let it sit for at least 5 minutes. This allows time to drown/kill the fleas. Some people are just negative because they can be. Dunno, I'm just baffled I guess.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2013

      Everyone it is dawn dish soap that kills fleas not the vinegar!!! just wash n the dawn! our local shelters beg for donations of dawn dish detergent.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2012

      I used this shampoo on my pups this past weekend and it worked like a charm. The key to this is leaving it on them for a minimum of 5 minutes. I spoke with my vet about this and she said that the dawn will smother the fleas and she recommended it if you do not want to use the chemicals or give them the pills. One of my pups had a terrible reaction to the pills and I refuse to use them. So glad to have found this recipe. Also makes them very soft and fluffy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2012

      Seriously...this is amazing! after 3 rounds of a flea treatment I got brave and decided to throw my cat in the tub! it was worth the scratches to see all of the fleas just rise to the surface of his coat and stop moving! fantastic treatment and so cost effective!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2012

      This works really well! Ticks dont seem to like this soap either.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2012

      I followed the recipe as written and this made Sugar nice and shiney but it just worked OK on the fleas.. I loved that this called for items I had on hand as her flea dip is getting expensive.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2014

      IT WORKS!! IT REALLY WORKS!!<br/>This is the best ever! my dogs are going crazy scratching themselves and the flea shampoo from the store did not work! This stuff did the trick. Thanks for posting this shampoo recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2014

      I came across this and I had to write a review. I did not use the vinegar, just the soap. I've tried numerous flea medications, collars, ect and nothing was killing the fleas. I read about this and immediate threw her in the tub to try it out. I applied a liberal amount of soap and sat there rubbing it in for 10-15 minutes making sure I got every spot. As I was rubbing it in, I could see the dead fleas coming to the surface of her fur. I rinsed it off and now she seems to have relief from the itching and the only fleas I see are dead. Definitely worked!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2013

      1) This is not a natural shampoo i it's made with Dawn<br/>2) You don't have to use the vinegar, just washing with dish soap alone will kill fleas

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2013

      Wow....I also signed up just to write this review!.. I have a 3 lb Chihuahua and have trouble finding supplies that are not too harsh for her. This flea removal shampoo worked great!. she had 4 fleas on her which must have felt like a million to the poor little thing, I only had one come off in the bath but 3 more with the comb and all were dead. A bonus is that her little wiry hair even feels kind of soft. :) Happy Us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2013

      This works, but keep in mind you have to scrub the soap into the fur very thoroughly and make sure it sits on the coat for quite awhile to smother the fleas. The vinegar keeps them from sticking to the coat. Adding some salt or baking soda will also help to spread the solution and get the dog cleaner in the long one. We use this on our dog and it works better than the flea shampoo we have. You still need to make sure you flea proof your house too or they will come back in a few days and it won't kill the eggs so you will need to repeat every 3 or 4 days for 2 weeks. Make sure you treat all animals in the house for best effect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2013

      Absolutely brilliant have tried everything had the house sprayed spent a fortune on products !! This totally works :-)))

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Natural Dog Shampoo - Flea Removal

    Serving Size: 1 (1287 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 50.1
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 40.3 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.2 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes