41 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The flavor of the coating was excellent; however, due to the mushy texture of the zucchini, this recipe only gets 3 stars. I think the called-for dimensions of the zucchini are much too small. Next time I will cut them much thicker, and then broil at 525 degrees for a shorter length of time to get that firm texture inside and crispy coating outside. I did manage to somehow eat the entire sheet of zucchini with my homemade ranch dressing, though...how did that happen, I wonder? Well, like I said, the flavor of the zucchini and the breaded coating were excellent! It was just the texture that was off. Alas, I must make and taste test an entire sheet of these once again to get it just right. A cook's work is never done...

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Littleolmee August 27, 2010

These are delicious! I have made them a couple of times now and find they are done in much less time that the recipe states. In about 15 minutes the coating is nice and crispy, but the zucchini is still a little crisp. Next time I will cut the zucchini a bit bigger so the coating can really get nicely brown. This is a really healthy recipe that feels like it should be bad for you!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paja October 30, 2005

Tasty! After reading the previous reviews, I cut my slices a little thicker and baked them for a total of 25 min and they didn't seem very mushy. I used crushed cornflakes in place of bread crumbs and we ate them with ketchup. Yum!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jedimindtrick4 September 11, 2010

I enjoyed them but I kept putting them back in the oven after the baking time so that they could dry out a bit. They tasted good but they were a little too soft for me. I think next time I will cut them bigger, maybe that will help. I don't know how good the leftovers will be but I will adjust my review accordingly.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moe13a August 03, 2010

A great recipe. Made exactly as printed and the zucchini turned out great. Even my picky eater ate it so that is worth 5 more stars! I put the olive oil and zucchini in one plastic bag to coat, then tossed them in 2nd bag to coat with bread crumb mixture and baked on a foil lined cookie sheet so cleanup was a breeze. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sam's Mom July 07, 2010

These were extremely good! It was almost like eating cheese sticks, but MUCH healthier. I made the sauce using mayo and wasabi paste. The sauce really makes the dish. We will DEF be making these again. Hubby couldn't stop eating them!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wphraner June 15, 2010

If you love fried zucchini and looking for a healthy alternative, your looking in the right place. My boyfriend even ate the left overs the next day! (That really was a shocker). I love them dipped in ranch. These were perfect, easy and I had the ingredients on hand!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trennarene April 19, 2010

The few of these that I did not burn to a crisp were delicious. Learn from my mistake: if you cut these into coin-shaped slices, reduce the baking time by half! I'm looking forward to giving these another try when the zucchini comes in this summer.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scfl76 February 07, 2010

Excellent recipe. I love the fact that it's baked, and not fried in all that extra oil. My butt simply doesn't need it. :) I also like that there is no egg, and that I could shake the coating in a bag. Perfect, perfect, perfect. The 'stick's were firm and so very tasty. Now that zucchini season is here, I'll be making these often. Thanks Nat!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana #2 August 01, 2009

This gets 5 stars simply because I finally got my picky BF to eat zucchini! These turned out fantastic. I didn't make the dip but didn't feel like we missed it; I will try it next time though since I love horseradish. I also liked that this didn't require eggs. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrownSugarChef November 18, 2008
Nat's Oven Baked Zucchini Sticks