Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Nat's Oven Baked Zucchini Sticks Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Nat's Oven Baked Zucchini Sticks

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on August 27, 2010

      The flavor of the coating was excellent; however, due to the mushy texture of the zucchini, this recipe only gets 3 stars. I think the called-for dimensions of the zucchini are much too small. Next time I will cut them much thicker, and then broil at 525 degrees for a shorter length of time to get that firm texture inside and crispy coating outside. I did manage to somehow eat the entire sheet of zucchini with my homemade ranch dressing, though...how did that happen, I wonder? Well, like I said, the flavor of the zucchini and the breaded coating were excellent! It was just the texture that was off. Alas, I must make and taste test an entire sheet of these once again to get it just right. A cook's work is never done...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2005

      These are delicious! I have made them a couple of times now and find they are done in much less time that the recipe states. In about 15 minutes the coating is nice and crispy, but the zucchini is still a little crisp. Next time I will cut the zucchini a bit bigger so the coating can really get nicely brown. This is a really healthy recipe that feels like it should be bad for you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2010

      Tasty! After reading the previous reviews, I cut my slices a little thicker and baked them for a total of 25 min and they didn't seem very mushy. I used crushed cornflakes in place of bread crumbs and we ate them with ketchup. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2010

      I enjoyed them but I kept putting them back in the oven after the baking time so that they could dry out a bit. They tasted good but they were a little too soft for me. I think next time I will cut them bigger, maybe that will help. I don't know how good the leftovers will be but I will adjust my review accordingly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      A great recipe. Made exactly as printed and the zucchini turned out great. Even my picky eater ate it so that is worth 5 more stars! I put the olive oil and zucchini in one plastic bag to coat, then tossed them in 2nd bag to coat with bread crumb mixture and baked on a foil lined cookie sheet so cleanup was a breeze. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      These were extremely good! It was almost like eating cheese sticks, but MUCH healthier. I made the sauce using mayo and wasabi paste. The sauce really makes the dish. We will DEF be making these again. Hubby couldn't stop eating them!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2010

      If you love fried zucchini and looking for a healthy alternative, your looking in the right place. My boyfriend even ate the left overs the next day! (That really was a shocker). I love them dipped in ranch. These were perfect, easy and I had the ingredients on hand!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      The few of these that I did not burn to a crisp were delicious. Learn from my mistake: if you cut these into coin-shaped slices, reduce the baking time by half! I'm looking forward to giving these another try when the zucchini comes in this summer.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      Excellent recipe. I love the fact that it's baked, and not fried in all that extra oil. My butt simply doesn't need it. :) I also like that there is no egg, and that I could shake the coating in a bag. Perfect, perfect, perfect. The 'stick's were firm and so very tasty. Now that zucchini season is here, I'll be making these often. Thanks Nat!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      This gets 5 stars simply because I finally got my picky BF to eat zucchini! These turned out fantastic. I didn't make the dip but didn't feel like we missed it; I will try it next time though since I love horseradish. I also liked that this didn't require eggs. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      I love breaded zucchini sticks but I felt like the sticks were lightly dusted with bread crumbs. I think panko bread crumbs would make a huge difference but the olive oil probably wouldn't be enough to make the panko crumbs stick. So, if you are looking for a baked zuc stick with more substance/breading, I think you should probably try Kittencal's Low-Fat Oven-Baked Zucchini Sticks, Kittencal's Low-Fat Oven-Baked Zucchini Sticks that uses an egg instead of olive oil and use panko crumbs. I also served the sticks with a horseradish cream dip 1/8 tsp. garlic salt, onion powder, paprika, and cayenne; and 2 TBLS hot, prepared horseradish, and 1/2 cup light sour cream. The yogurt dip didn't sound appealing to me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2006

      Miam ! delicieux, i didn't have parmesan, so i didn't use any cheese. We ate them with curry mayonnaise. Thank you ! oh, and i used peanut oil.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2005

      Excellent recipe! The flavor was delicious and honestly better than being deep fried we thought. This recipe is very simple to come together and done in 10 minutes,depending on each ones oven and how thick you slice the zucchini. This will be a keeper from now on. THanks for Posting a very nice recipe Nathalie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2012

      The taste of this dish is fabulous but your times are way off - I wish I had read some of the reviews before making it as the zucchini was definitely overcooked. Loved this method though and it did not keep us from scarfing down the whole pan between the 4 of us. Next time I'm cutting the time back to maybe 15 total and will cut the pieces a bit larger. You definitely have a winner of a recipe with some minor adjustments. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2012

      These worked out so well, with lots of help from previous reviewers. I cut the zukes in 1/4 and 1/8 wedges and really piled on the coating. I also used corn flakes instead of bread crumbs to make them gluten free. A happy accident, they got left in the oven a bit too long, probably 10 minutes extra. So some were pretty brown, but we all decided they were better a little overdone as long as not burnt. The outside was nice and crispy and inside was perfectly cooked. Serve them really hot right out of the oven for best texture. I'll definitely use this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2011

      These were good. I made them thicker than suggested and cooked them 12 mins, and then 10 mins...but they still came out mushy. So, I think next time I will keep them thicker, but do maybe 6-7 mins and then maybe 3-4 mins. I'd like them cruchier. But I will try again because the flavor was good. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2011

      Really yummy - I tried to make these vegan by substituting vegan almesan "cheese". The "breading" didn't stick at all. The flavor was good, but it was more like just crumbles on the plate with the zucchini, which was disappointing.

      That said, I did make the suggested horseradish dip and my vegephobe brother in law actually scarfed these down which really floored me. My other guests also liked these a lot. Like other reviewers, my texture was pretty mushy on some - I tried broiling at first but just wound up burning the breadcrumbs. I don't know whether the recipe just doesn't want to be vegan or what but it's not a total homerun with me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      I like this recipe very much. However, it did not get passed by my teens which is why I did not rate it 5 out of 5. I am glad to have learned a new method, I may be able to apply it to other vegs. I did have quite a bit of crumb mixture left over so I may try it on some button mushrooms.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      Outstanding and easy recipe. This was a great way for me to use up some garden zucchini. I just ate them plain, straight from the oven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      GREAT recipe...I LOVED IT!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Nat's Oven Baked Zucchini Sticks

    Serving Size: 1 (158 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 84.4
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    60%
    Total Fat 5.6 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 5.5 mg
    1%
    Sodium 253.0 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.4 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    15%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    whole wheat breadcrumbs

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites