11 Reviews

Nice, easy and subtle pudding.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare February 05, 2010

Simply wonderful! I made this as one serving and used half-and-half in lieu of whole milk. The directions are precise and easy to follow. The custard is smooth and creamy with no lumps using a wire wisk for the entire preparation. This dessert thickens up after adding the cornstarch/juice mixture and also continues to set up nicely during refrigeration. I paired it with leftover topping from Pineapple Coconut Cheesecake. This dessert is so smooth and creamy and it has wonderful flavor that melts in your mouth and has you begging for more... I now wish I made the whole batch. Thanks for posting Chef Kate, This is a definite must try recipe! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu May 07, 2008

Made one batch and then added another so it didn't thicken the way it should but the flavor is great. Will definitely try it again...highly recommended.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miami Michy December 18, 2007

Reviewed for ZWT III. My son and I both really enjoyed this custard. I forgot to add a little nutmeg at the end which is a shame but other than that I stayed true to the recipe and enjoyed every last spoonful. It was simple to make by carefully following the instructions and I would be happy to make this again in the future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Um Safia June 19, 2007

I agree with the previous review that the texture of this was off. I loved the taste, but this custard was not smooth at all. I used a 20 oz can of crushed pineapple (in juice) and drained the 1 cup juice from that. After cooling and then tasting the custard, I stirred in the crushed pineapple, hoping to disguise the texture. I think it was a great addition, but it didn't change the texture--still gritty. Since I love pineapple, I will prob. try this again after reviewing more custard recipes to see where I went wrong.. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tamaretta March 12, 2007

I am not putting a rating because I must have done somthing wrong, the custard didn't set and was still very runny as well as grainy... the flavour was there and was nice but the texture was all wrong!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Phoenix 0880 February 06, 2007

Excellent recipe. I wanted to make a light and cool custard today for movie night dessert and this was perfect. I did not have any pineapple juice, but I did have some mango that was a little too tart to eat as is. So I pureed the mango and cooked it with a tsp of sugar until it thickened. I used this mango "curd" in place of the reduced pineapple juice and it worked beautifully. I also did not have whole milk and like Bev, I used half and half in combination with fat free milk (3:1 ratio). I only made half the recipe for the two of us, let it set in a martini glass and served garnished with a dollop of my mango curd and a slice of kiwi. A very unusual and delicious dessert. Thanks, Chef Kate.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dimpi December 15, 2006

This is a wonderful change of pace for pudding! Nicely flavored with the reduced pineapple juice which became basically a syrup as it was reduced. I used 1 cup 2% milk and 1 cup half and half, which seems to work fine. I didn't have to wait 10 minutes before the mixture with the cornstarch thickened. It thickened almost immediately. I got 3 servings divided into individual serving sized ramekins. Wonderful flavor! I will make this again! Thank you, Chef Kate!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev October 19, 2006

Wonderful flavors in a light tasty custard. My whole family loves pineapple, so this recipe went over really well. It was the perfect ending to a rather heavy meal tonight. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamgoddess July 13, 2006
Natilla De Pina (Pineapple Custard)