13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious! Wonderful blend of flavors and a great looking dish as well that we really enjoyed using chicken as the meat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter J July 02, 2011

This was delicious! We wouldn't change a thing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mellowpuff March 15, 2009

This recipe ROCKS!! It requires a lot of prep work, but it's so well worth the effort. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great Indonesian meal. Oh, and to completely authenticate the experience, serve this with a side of krupuk (prawn crackers). Thanks so much for sharing =)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Delta July 17, 2008

WONDERFUL! This is one of the most involved Asian dishes I've made but was well worth it. I made it as directed with Thai red curry powder and Shrimp. I ended up mixing the toppings in as we had a lot of leftovers. This was a bit spicy but the flavors are well balanced. Made for the Zaar Stars tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed March 03, 2008

There are so many wonderful flavours happening in this dish! I made it with the shrimp and basmati rice. Yes, there is a bit of prep, but it comes together really quickly at the end, and is well worth it! I think this can be easily stretched to 6 servings.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raspberry Cordial May 30, 2007

This is 5++...excellent recipe. I had never heard of Nasi Goreng, but am so glad to have discovered this wonderful blend of flavors. Only change was to add tsp. fresh grated giner and tblsp. red pepper flakes. Thank you for posting. (I didn't have sambal oelek so left it out..didn't seem to make a difference)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Austin November 13, 2006

This is absolutely amazing. I made it to compliment the dishes in my Thai dinnerparty, and my guests voted this the best. Thanks muchly!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lollipoppy August 20, 2006

This is definitely a keeper. I have always liked Nasi Goreng, but had never tried making it myself. My BF and I both thought it was a wonderful recipe. I don't like celery so I replaced it with green bell pepper and I was also out of carrots. Everything else I did as stated, using the chicken instead of shrimp. It's a dish with quite complex, but very well balanced flavour and the sambal oelek adds a nice kick to it. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
-Sylvie- July 27, 2006

I really enjoyed this. For my portion I left out the rice, but added the rice to my husband's portion. It was flavorful and spicy, but not overkill. In the interest of time, I prepared the first fifteen ingredients the day before, refrigerated and finished the dish the next night. It was a complete meal in and of itself.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tara portee May 17, 2005

Wow, Mean Chef-- this is delicous nasi goreng. I had leftover steak and leftover rice, so I put this recipe to great use. My celery was looking pathetic so I replaced it with chopped red bell pepper, plus I threw in some fresh ginger. I also added a small amount of dark sesame oil and a tsp of brown sugar to the egg before cooking it. The only thing I'd do differently next time is go a bit less with the coriander seed-- I used 1 tsp ground and I think I'd go with perhaps 1/2 tsp. Fantastic meal. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather U. April 21, 2005
Nasi Goreng