Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Nasal Sinus Wash Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Nasal Sinus Wash

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on December 17, 2012

      No one should use a nasal flush with tap water. Please boil it first or use distilled water. If contaminants get into the water it can cause serious illness, sometimes fatal. I use a nasal wash faithfully, but I don't use tap water since I heard on the news that people were dying due to bacteria in tap water.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2009

      I've been using a mix for awhile but decided to include glycerine. You can feel that the wash is smoother and goes through your nose easier. I found it in a bottle near the bandaids section (Rite-Aid) and it looks like clear corn syrup. I swear by nasal irrigating and use an attach. that goes on my Water Pick (designed for irrig.). Thanks Lightly Toasted, for posting, Roxygirl

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2004

      NOTHING like this for sinus health. I use tap water, very warm but not hot. Anyone who has sinus problems should be using this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2003

      When my ENT first gave this to me, it included Vodka (which sterlized). Later, another ENT told me that the Vodka wasn't necessary, but I still use it at times. I have alway done it, just holding my head down over the toilet and flushing my sinuses, using a bulb syringe. I've found out that warm water helps dislodge the "gunk" easier that cool water.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      Thank you! I feel so much better and my poor sore nose even thanks you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      Great thankyou,been using neilmed sinus rinse at great expense,this is much better,I have terrible post nasal drip and this gives me relief,though only for a short time.Bliss while it lasts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      Very nice! I love the fact it doesn't burn. Feels very soothing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      Congrats! I looked up all the nasal irrigation recipes here on Zaar and yours is the only one I found that is isotonic (the exact proportion of saline to replace our tears). I tried this just now with my neti pot and there was no burning. I haven't found distilled water necessary and I am using kosher salt since table salt (because of the iodide) isn't recommended. I plan on blending my kosher salt with the baking powder in a larger quantity and keeping that by my bathroom sink with a measuring spoon. Only problem is that the neti pot will only take 6 oz of water so I may have to adjust it for that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

      I had friends visiting from back east and we did a road trip up into the interior of our province. It is semi-desert up there and I find that my nose gets painfully dry when I go into such climates. I had never done a "flush" before and although it was messy, it works like a charm!!! I used this once and I already feel the difference. For easier convience, I plan to triple the recipe and store it in a glass jar. I used room temperature water and it worked fine for me, so you don't need to microwave it. Another suggestion is to have some lightly scented oil (Grapeseed,Jojoba, Emu) in a small container and lubricate the nose several times during the day! My nose thanks you very much for the flush!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2008

      I use a similar recipe that uses 1 cup distilled water, 1/2 t salt and 1/2 t baking soda and I use a plastic bottle. They sell sinus irrigation bottles in most drug stores for about $5 (or you can get a kit that also includes saline solution packets for around $10) and I've found it to be much easier to use than neti pots or cups. You want the water to be lukewarm, and I've found that 30 seconds in the microwave will make room temperature water just right for irrigation. The trick is to do it daily regardless of how your sinuses feel--don't slack off! If you make it part of your daily routine you will see huge improvements.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      This really helps if you have allergies like I do. This does not make them go away, but makes it more easy to deal with. You get used to this and the nice thing, is you can breath easier for about 6 - 8 hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

      I get horrible sinus headaches that last for days and make me miserable. I hate getting water in my nose, but also hate the headaches so I put aside my aversion and tried this. While the headache didn't disappear, it did decrease in severity so I'm more content.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2007

      I had this "recipe" years ago and lost it. I found it here and trust me, this WORKS GREAT. Thanks so VERY much for posting such a "life saver". Your new friend, Robin

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2007

      5/22/07 ORIGINAL: I think I've probably been your hardest sell. I've waffled over using this recipe for quite awhile, and finally broke down tonight and did it out of desperation. I have to be honest and tell you that I really struggled with the star rating. I can't say that I agree with the folks that said it wasn't at all uncomfortable...I hated it. Part of me wanted to rate it a one star. However, that said, it wasn't as unpleasant as I thought it was going to be. Perhaps a three? However, while I'm still a bit stuffy, I was much worse before I started. So I settled on a four. I'll do it again in the next day or so and if it clears up as well as I think it might, I may well be back to rate it a five. Because as long as I'm being honest, I need to admit that I almost drowned in salt water when I was about 14...I'm sure that has something to do with my darn-near phobia of performing this procedure. :( In the hopes of minimizing some of the trauma, I bought a Neti Pot (used specifically for flushing the sinuses...check your local health food store), as snorting this stuff simply wasn't an option for me. Too many red-flags. The Neti Pot definitely helped. Also, a few tips to pass on from the Neti Pot pamplet: 1)Tilt your head to the side; 2)Breathe through your mouth during the procedure; 3)Exhale gently several times upon completion (do not plug/block nostril); 4)Reverse and do other nostril. So, all of that said, I find that my sinuses feel...different. In a good way. Breathing a little deeper into my sinuses. I can also see where the glycerin would be beneficial. I didn't use it and my nose is a bit dry. 'Course, I've also been blowing it a lot. Might be worth investing in the glycerin, either way. As cynical and grumpy as this review may sound...I don't mean it that way. I came into this procedure very jaded, with a chip on my shoulder. I hatehateHATE getting water up my nose...again, probably due to almost drowning. But so far (just in writing the review) my sinuses are feeling better. Not BEST yet...but better. Thanks for posting the recipe, and thanks for putting up with my rambling review. I'll be back in a few days to let you know how it turned out. ;) 5/24/07 UPDATE: Okay, I promised I'd be back. After using the solution the second time(evening, then the next morning) I noticed some huge differences. My sinuses weren't nearly as stuffed up, I could breathe and smell better than I have in a long time and my allergy shiners (dark "bags" under my eyes, caused by allergies/congestion) were starting to disappear. Then last night and this morning I didn't do it. Honestly...didn't want to. Was hoping I was over the worst of it. Noticed through the day today that my shiners are back in full bloom, I'm congested again, and the sense of taste/smell are going again. :? Honestly, I gotta tell you, I still don't like the process, but considering the positive results I saw, it's going to be worth the trouble. Also...it's not the fault of the recipe...it has more to do with my own concerns. The recipe did exactly what it was supposed to do. For those considering doing this more than once, I'd seriously recommend getting a Neti Pot. It makes the whole process a lot simpler. Thanks again, Elissa. Ya' done good! :D PS: You even managed to convince ME! That's no small feat! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2007

      This is wonderful. My son, my brother, and I all have started using it. Sometimes I use the glycerine; sometimes I don't. I use mostly cool purified water & some hot purified water to make it slightly warm. This has helped me make it through a bout of bronchitis quite well. I bought a NeilMed Sinus Rinse bottle to use with this. It's much easier to clean after each use than the bulb syringe. It is messy & slightly weird-feeling at first, but now I'm a pro at it. I use it morning and night. Thanks for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2007

      This was just amazing!! I am 32 weeks pregnant and very limited on what I can take for sinuses. I have taken so many different meds and nothing has worked. I was so stopped up that I couldn't smell or taste foods. I hadn't eaten all day and remembered that I saw this on Zaar before. I mixed up some bottled water, salt and baking soda. I didn't have the glycerine and saw it was just for soothing so I didn't rush out to get it. It worked wonders immediately!!! Thank you sooo much for this!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2006

      Just used this...works wonders. I didn't have glycerine too and I sortta guessed at the salt and baking soda amounts...i probably over did the baking soda....but more water into the mix solved that...and now I am breathing in through both sides...hehe...bye bye sinus and THANK YOU ELISSA!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2006

    • on May 15, 2006

      I thought this worked really well - much better than the pills I used to take (which used to give me a sinus infection once a year). I finally found some glycerine (I didn't know its most common use - hint: look near the FiberCon). It did seem to help with the irritation. I will be showing my daughter how to use this, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2006

      DH uses this and says it works great! He would like me to triple the recipe so that he can use it every day. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Nasal Sinus Wash

    Serving Size: 1 (0 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 44.8 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    distilled water

    glycerine

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites