10 Reviews

This made a great quick dinner tonight thank you. I don't like "boiled" mushrooms, so fried mine in the oil (then removed them to a plate) before frying the chicken. I increased the salt to 1 tsp in this dish and that was good as we like salt. It's a simple recipe which works well, but we all thought onion, bacon, prosciutto or green onions would be good in it too if you had them laying around. We ate it over rice, but thought it would be just as good over pasta or mashed potatoes. I will be making this again soon.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS March 01, 2004

Made a few minor changes to this one. Not a fan of mushrooms so left them out but added sliced red peppers instead, also added green onion. Served over rice and this is definitely one I'll be making again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah April 14, 2004

This is one of our favorite dishes, EVER! My old recipe calls for a marina5e in the cream sauce OVERNIGHT, then cooking the next day. Also don't do mushrooms and top it off with some cheese at the end/ really give it a good drying bake towards the completion. But people who are CHANGING THE RECIPE and RUINING it and then RATING it are missing the whole point of this. STICK TO THE RECIPE. It's delish! If you screwed it up by trying to be creative and didn't like it you didn't like your OWN recipe. THIS one is deeeelish! We've made it many times over the past 10 yearrs and everyone adores it. Just be sure to MARINATE it for even better flavor. And use a GOOD WHITE WINE/ a sweet one! :) (And the cheese before you serve it. Yum!) =)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
one2tree November 07, 2010

I went against my better judgement and used "cooking" wine(I have since been told that cooking wine is just wine that's not good enough to drink) instead of the good stuff, and it wasn't all that great. Not really special but it was easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Louise March 06, 2009

This was very good, I added a bit more paprika cause I like spice and also I DID use real wine, pinot grigio - most other wines have too much tang to it. It worked out well for us! I also didn't have enough sour cream at home so I used a bit of heavy cream, worked just as well! This dish goes great with glazed carrots!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tiffykat July 15, 2008

A quick tasty meal. We enjoyed this. Thanks for posting it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rainette October 30, 2007

I loved it! So did my picky hubby. I made it exactly as stated in the recipe provided. And to be honest to the other reviewers..I don't think it's fair to change the ingredients (aka regular wine when they stated cooking wine) and then give it a low rating. Just my opinion. Will definitely make again! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Like To Cook, Love To Eat July 01, 2007

We also, didn't care too much for this. After reading other comments, I spiced it up with red onion, garlic, serrano chiles and cayenne and we still didn't think its worth making again. Sorry...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sauce Lover April 02, 2007

I thought this was okay but I probably won't make it again. It could be because I used regular chardonnay instead of cooking wine and the dish had a strong flavor. I added green onions, which were a nice touch. Red peppers would be good as well. The chicken was very good, and tender, but the sauce was just too strongly flavored, and it didn't thicken at all. I think the mushrooms could benefit from a sauteeing as well, and I would have probably added a few more of them. I served this over brown rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Demandy September 28, 2006

DELICIOUS. We had this over brown rice tonight. It was voted a "keeper!"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Messy Cook March 02, 2005
Napa Valley Chicken Bake