Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Nan's Dumplings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Nan's Dumplings

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on December 20, 2002

      Very light and very tasty, Tara. We put them in a Chicken and chile stew, and the cheese in the dumplings was a delicious touch. Good directions, especially the bit about not overmixing. I've never frozen dumplings (never any leftover) so can't comment on that. I'd like to try it some day. Thank you for a little different dumpling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2003

      I have always thought dumplings were kind of bland - but this recipe puts a new twist on them! The flavor was great and they were light and a great compliment to the stew I made. Thanks, Tara

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2003

      I used these in my Chicken Noodle Soup recipe- they were absolutely wonderful- light and fluffy just like you described, and boy were they TASTY!!! I actually left out the cheddar cheese and they were still wonderful! I would definately recomend them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      I made this recipe with whole wheat flour and Parmesan cheese and it turned out great. I agree with Chef SummerLover next time I will increase the amount of cheese. Thank you for posting this great selection.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      Excellent dumpling recipe. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      Although most would consider me a good cook, it's amazing how something as "insignificant" (LOL) as conquering dumplings makes me a queen in my hubby's eyes! I must say though, that I don't think I'll include the cheese (or double it) as I didn't find that the flavor was noticible. Thanks Tara for sharing your family heritage, I'll be keeping this forever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      these WERE good. I dropped tsp scoops into the soup. I ended up with too much mixture which I froze on a baking sheet with the same scoop - then I dropped the frozen dumplings into more soup the next day and they worked a treat. Needed slightly more cooking time, but just as nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      These were really lovely. We had them with sausage and onion casserole which I did in the crockpot. I made them exactly as directed (but without the buillon granules as I didn't have any in) and put them in the slow cooker for the last 45 minutes - 15mins on medium and 30mins on high. They were great - really soft and tasty and it made a great change from mashed potatoes. There were only two of us for dinner and I would say the amounts stated would serve 3-4 people and, for us, made 6 large dumplings. I only ate about half of my half but my fiance cleared his plate. Thanks for a fabulous recipe Tara!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2006

      Turned out very nice but I thought they tasted to salty, next time I will reduce the amount of salt. Thanks for the great dumpling recipe Tara.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2005

      Thank you so much, Tara! These dumplings were just like my MawMaw's recipe. I would call her for the recipe every time I made them. Sadly, she passed away in July. I wanted those dumplings today, and yours were just what I was looking for. Thank You!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2005

      Tara, these are great. I have made them a number of times now. Was looking for a dumpling recipe that did not need suet, as I cannot get it here in Gran Canaria. I must say we all laughed the first time I made them. I took the lid of the stew and I had created the largest dumplings in the world! I could not eat for laughing. But thanks to your nan for these fab dumplings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2004

      If I could give more stars I would...Dumpings are/were not one of my best accomplishments...but....these were super....the only thing I did wrong was take the chicken out of the pot and put the dumplings just in the broth. I won't do that again.....so...placing the dumplings ON the meat cooking would be fantastic. Defintely a keeper...thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2004

      These were easy, fast, tastier than most, and surprisingly light. I had to use Swiss because we can't get cheddar but it was no problem. I also added some chives for soem extra color and taste. Good dumplings!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Nan's Dumplings

    Serving Size: 1 (322 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 71.0
     
    Calories from Fat 26
    37%
    Total Fat 2.9 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 24.8 mg
    8%
    Sodium 192.9 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.5 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes