Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Nan's Classic Mustard Potato Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Nan's Classic Mustard Potato Salad

    Average Rating:

    79 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-79 of 79

    Sort by:

    • on June 03, 2007

      We thought this potato salad was absolutely delicious. I used a brown onion because we don't care for the texture and flavor of sweet onions. I mashed the eggs with the back of a fork to make them into pieces as small as the onion, celery, and pickles. I used mayonnaise, Dijon mustard, and black pepper. And it was terrific. Thank you very much for this wonderful treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2007

      My husband and I made this for our Memorial Day Weekend family picnic. Even though the rest of the family hasn't tried it yet, you know the cook always should take the first bite to make sure it's "just right". We added a bit more of the yellow mustard (we're mustardy-type people who are always tweeking recipes -- even our own!). We added about two more tablespoons, and that seemed to balance it out with the mayonnaise -- we used "The Bread Spread" kind of mayo. Although the sweet onions gave it more of a bite than I'm use to the end result was rather tasty. I've really gotten into the down-home and southern-style of cooking recently and I this recipe will DEFINITELY be a welcomed addition to my growing cookbook! UPDATE: The 2 cups of onions was a bit much but other than that this was a hit with my family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2007

      Excellent flavor. Ours turned out a little runny I don't know why. Will be making this again though! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2007

      Thanks for posting such a tasty recipe. I've tasted a lot of different mustard potato salad recipes but your's is by far the best! Will be using this a lot I'm sure. Thanks again PanNan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2007

      I am pregnant and I have been craving mustard potato salad like crazy! I finally made some today using this recipe, and it was so good. It wasn't quite as "mustardy" as what I'm used to, but it still tasted great. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2006

      Fabulous! So much like my Grandma's potato salad which she never wrote down. I will make again and again. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2006

      My husband loved this recipe (I am not a potato salad fan). I made a half recipe and it is perfect. The instructions were easy to follow and the additional details and comments were extremely helpful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2006

      a favorite, but i don't use as many onions. the eggs go over very well too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2006

      This was the first time I made potato salad for a group/family function, and it turned out great. I am a new cook, so it was surprising for me to hear, "Who made the potato salad, it's really good!" Thanks for a great recipe. I will definately be keeping this one in my recipe box.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2006

      Perfection! I've been looking for a recipe like this for years. The only thing I think I will change is that is was a bit salty for me but other that that perfect! Thanks so much for the recipe. This will be my potato salad from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2006

      Delicious. I expected this to be sour because of the dill pickles/juice. Far from it. I cheated, though, and cut up the raw potatoes into cubes and then simmered them gently for about ten minutes. Then combined all the rest of the ingredients and poured over warm potatoes, mixed very gently and let cool on the counter before refrigerating. Only change I would even think of making next time is cutting back a little on the onions. Thanks, PanNan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2006

      This was easy and good and I kept everything the same. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2005

      PanNan, this potato salad is perfect, and very easy to make. I used unpeeled red potatoes, Hellman's Just 2 Good reduced fat mayo (tastes like Miracle Whip), and plain yogurt instead of cream. Otherwise I followed the directions as written, and I'll make my potato salad like this from now on. Delicious! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2005

      Great potato salad, PanNan! I substituted milk for the cream, black pepper for the white, and (I hate to confess) cheated by using 1 cup of dill pickle relish, rather than 3/4 cups chopped pickles and 1/4 cup pickle juice. Otherwise, followed your exact directions. Thanks for sharing this classic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2005

      PanNan, your recipe comes the closest to one my family has made for generations (my mom is German). Anyhow, this is a truly delicious recipe as is. Some tried (by me)and true variations include using olive oil instead of the cream, adding some cider vinegar (as well as the pickle juice), and using black pepper instead of the white. I also like to add in a chopped red apple and a little parsley. Garnish with torn lettuce leaves, sliced tomatoes, quartered hard-boiled eggs, and a little parsley...voila! A winner! Thank you for a very lovely recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2005

      LOVED IT, LOVED IT, LOVED IT and I've been searching for a recipe to "call my own" & this is it! I did however low fat it somewhat and still loved it. Substituted bell pepper for celery just b/c it's all I had on hand. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2004

      I made this recipe for my sister's rehearsal dinner, and everyone enjoyed it. The bowl was empty by the end of the evening! I couldnt believe how they gobbled it up!! Wonderful flavor; the perfect traditional mustard potato salad. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2004

      This salad was great. I followed the recipe exactly, except I only used about 1/2 cup of mayo. Just enough to bind it all together and keep it creamy. I took it to a family cookout and got good reviews. Thanks for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2004

      Lovely salad PanNan!The only change I made was to use milk instead of cream(I didn't have any cream).Yummy! So glad you posted this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 4 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Nan's Classic Mustard Potato Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (125 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 198.7
     
    Calories from Fat 94
    47%
    Total Fat 10.4 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 79.6 mg
    26%
    Sodium 438.3 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.5 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    18%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pickle juice


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites