80 Reviews

Amazing. This is the BEST mustard potato salad I have ever made. I made it for a family reunion. You should have heard all the comments and everyone wanted to know who made the potato salad. I used Hellman's mayo and French's mustard in the dressing. It was very creamy and tangy. I did sprinkle paprika over the top and it looked super with the added color. Thank-you PanNan for an awesome salad and for making me look good.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FaithB25 August 27, 2003

I finally have found the perfect potato salad! This is wonderful, the flavor just perfect for us. I followed your instructions except for the pepper, I only had black pepper and used that, it was just fine but will use white next time. The cream is a nice touch and I love your method of squishing the eggs! Great recipe Nan, this is already a family favorite, Thanks for sharing it!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude June 15, 2003

PanNan this is definately a classic!!I made half a recipe to take on a picnic today and left half home for supper tomorrow. Only made 2 changes, out of necessity, left the eggs out and made stuffed eggs separately 'cus it was such a hot day. Used DeJong mustard 'and black pepper 'cus that was what I had around. It was a wonderful taste treat with some crunch. Used a huge sweet Spanish Onion and ice cold celery, the kosher salt was a nice change, hadn't tried before in a potato salad, all in all it was a great salad and am looking forward to finishing it for dinner tomorrow. Thanks for sharing.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf June 10, 2003

This is my husband's favorite potato salad recipe. I have had it printed out for years, recently lost it, and thank god, found it again :) Thanks for sharing :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvmyshanimal April 06, 2014

This was great . I used sour cream instead of cream , miracle whip in place of mayo, 1/2 sweet pickles and 1/2 dill, 10 jumbo eggs not 6 and added 1 1/2 teaspoons of celery salt. Enjoy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bturow June 05, 2013

Nothing special... Just your average potato salad.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nursenikole July 17, 2011

I made this receipe for a party yesterday, it was good but not great. I'll look for another recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newestmommie June 27, 2011

I have made this several times and everyone raves about it. I went to make it here in CA and I didn't have it in my reviews or anywhere...I can't believe it. So I sat down and looked through the recipes til I found it! I do cut it in half sometimes I use russet potatoes (being from Idaho) and sometimes reds and use sweet pickles (DH loves them in his salad and of course I would eat the salad with either)...otherwise I make it as written. Definately going into my Favorites of 2011 and here is the review before I make it again and forget to review. Thank you PanNan for a delicious dish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf June 14, 2011

Excellent potato salad for summertime. I used mixture of yukon gold and red potatoes, because that's what I had in the pantry. Also substituted sour cream for the cream. The salad was just what I was looking for.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ken Wood July 16, 2010

I didn't have to make this potato salad to rate it because it is also my Mom's recipe which I passed down to my three daughters. It truly is great potato salad and people can't get enough of it. I like that you said to dice everything very fine - it makes a big difference!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
millifred May 29, 2010
Nan's Classic Mustard Potato Salad