Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Nan's Classic Mustard Potato Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Nan's Classic Mustard Potato Salad

    Average Rating:

    79 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 79

    Sort by:

    • on August 27, 2003

      Amazing. This is the BEST mustard potato salad I have ever made. I made it for a family reunion. You should have heard all the comments and everyone wanted to know who made the potato salad. I used Hellman's mayo and French's mustard in the dressing. It was very creamy and tangy. I did sprinkle paprika over the top and it looked super with the added color. Thank-you PanNan for an awesome salad and for making me look good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2003

      I finally have found the perfect potato salad! This is wonderful, the flavor just perfect for us. I followed your instructions except for the pepper, I only had black pepper and used that, it was just fine but will use white next time. The cream is a nice touch and I love your method of squishing the eggs! Great recipe Nan, this is already a family favorite, Thanks for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2003

      PanNan this is definately a classic!!I made half a recipe to take on a picnic today and left half home for supper tomorrow. Only made 2 changes, out of necessity, left the eggs out and made stuffed eggs separately 'cus it was such a hot day. Used DeJong mustard 'and black pepper 'cus that was what I had around. It was a wonderful taste treat with some crunch. Used a huge sweet Spanish Onion and ice cold celery, the kosher salt was a nice change, hadn't tried before in a potato salad, all in all it was a great salad and am looking forward to finishing it for dinner tomorrow. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2014

      This is my husband's favorite potato salad recipe. I have had it printed out for years, recently lost it, and thank god, found it again :) Thanks for sharing :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2013

      This was great . I used sour cream instead of cream , miracle whip in place of mayo, 1/2 sweet pickles and 1/2 dill, 10 jumbo eggs not 6 and added 1 1/2 teaspoons of celery salt. Enjoy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2011

      Nothing special... Just your average potato salad.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2011

      I made this receipe for a party yesterday, it was good but not great. I'll look for another recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2011

      I have made this several times and everyone raves about it. I went to make it here in CA and I didn't have it in my reviews or anywhere...I can't believe it. So I sat down and looked through the recipes til I found it! I do cut it in half sometimes I use russet potatoes (being from Idaho) and sometimes reds and use sweet pickles (DH loves them in his salad and of course I would eat the salad with either)...otherwise I make it as written. Definately going into my Favorites of 2011 and here is the review before I make it again and forget to review. Thank you PanNan for a delicious dish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2010

      Excellent potato salad for summertime. I used mixture of yukon gold and red potatoes, because that's what I had in the pantry. Also substituted sour cream for the cream. The salad was just what I was looking for.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      I didn't have to make this potato salad to rate it because it is also my Mom's recipe which I passed down to my three daughters. It truly is great potato salad and people can't get enough of it. I like that you said to dice everything very fine - it makes a big difference!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2014

      Deeelish! Only changed out sour cream for the cream. Other than that, it's wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2013

      This was clearly one of the best potato salads I've had yet. DH is not a big fan of potato salad, and he told me I could make this one again and he loved it. I followed the instructions to the letter, just halved the recipe. We had this with weisswurst, a wonderful match :) Thanks for sharing!<br/>Made for ZWT 9 Family Picks for The Apron String Travelers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2013

      Nan! You're a genius! This is an awesome recipe.......Only change I made was to add a little less sugar, sprinkled it with paprika and added sliced radishes on top for colour! It's a hit! I will likely never use another recipe. Thank You Thank You!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2013

      So good! I do like the addition of mustard in the creamy dressing. Used sour cream thinned with a little milk instead of cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2013

      Comfort food in a bowl! Good old fashioned taste- perfect for the summer holidays! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2012

      I boiled my potatoes and eggs separately. I'm not a fan of celery, so, that was left out. I use Miracle Whip & French's mustard along with sweet gherkins ( even the pickle juice). The white pepper is a nice change! You still get the pepper flavor but it doesn't overwhelm the sauce. I liked it so much I made another batch of the sauce and blended it with egg yolks for my deviled eggs! This one is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2012

      This recipe is absolutely delicious. I used sour cream instead of half and half. Still was great and will be sticking to the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2012

      Was potato soup!! Had to strain. As the evening went on, the soup came back! Tasted ok, but I've had much better potato salad. Based on all these rave reviews, I must have done something wrong, but I did follow recipe as written. ??? Sorry Nan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2012

      Very pleased to find a creamy good potato salad ! The only changes I made were I had no cream so I used sour cream and instead of crumbling the egg I grate them. Fantastic recipe ....thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2012

      This is the perfect classic mustard potato salad recipe! The ingredients blend together to make a perfectly balanced, creamy, tangy potato salad. I successfully halved the recipe. The only thing I changed was using dill pickle relish in place of the chopped pickles called for and I omitted the pickle juice since I used the relish instead. This recipe is definitely a keeper! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Nan's Classic Mustard Potato Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (125 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 198.7
     
    Calories from Fat 94
    47%
    Total Fat 10.4 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 79.6 mg
    26%
    Sodium 438.3 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.5 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    18%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pickle juice


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes