Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Nanny's Tomato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Nanny's Tomato Soup

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on September 13, 2001

      If you want to make the recipe a little richer, add cream instead of milk or add a dollop of sour cream to it when serving. Sometimes I will add some basil when I'm feeling fiesty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2001

      Wonderful comfort food. Even my husband ate it (he doesn't care for tomato soup) Served with Hot Mexican Corn Bread #11012. Very filling and great go together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2001

      It was easy to make and tastes perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2001

      Soup has a great taste and is so easy to prepare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2003

      Never made homemade tomato soup before. This turned out better than expected. I drained the water from the potatoes and onions. Not sure if that is what I was supposed to do but I think it would have diluted out the flavor if I hadn't. The tomato flavor was full-bodied and I added cream for more richness. I am happy with the results. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2002

      easy and good

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2009

      This was just ok for us. I think it could have used a little bit of spice or something. Maybe some sausage and noodles or something. =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      Very good tomato soup. I added some chicken boullion to the potatoes and onions for a little more flavor, as well as some crushed red pepper, because my DH likes it with everything. I didn't drain the potatoes, and only used half the amount of tomato juice. Then pureed the whole batch with the immersion blender. Flavor and texture was good even before adding milk. Am serving mine with grilled cheese sandwiches for dinner tonight. Maybe it was the tomato soup I used and/or the chicken boullion, but I didn't need to add salt at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2007

      Sounds good will post more after i make it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2005

      Turned out great! To the person who didn't drain the potatoes, PLEASE STEP AWAY FROM THE STOVE!!!! Common sense should have told you that was too much water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2002

      My boyfriend made this for dinner one night and I don't think it turned out as planned. He used the recipe exactly as read and according to the directions, didn't drain the potatoes. Came out very watery with no flavor. We tried adding tomato paste, ketchup, whatever we had in the house just to try and get the flavor back up again. So I'm assuming everyone that loved this, must have drained it first? Ours was scarey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Nanny's Tomato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (622 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 284.5
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    10%
    Total Fat 3.1 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 7.9 mg
    2%
    Sodium 763.1 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 59.6 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 7.6 g
    30%
    Sugars 14.0 g
    56%
    Protein 8.4 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites