Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Nanny's Simple Macaroni and Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Nanny's Simple Macaroni and Cheese

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on April 19, 2009

      My husband has always talked about his mom's mac & cheese, saying that although mine is good, his mom's had that 'certain something' - I always used a flour-butter-cheese roux to sauce it - but his mom made it just like this. So I tried it tonight - cut it in half since we are only 2 - and added bread crumbs to the top mixed with 1 T melted butter. Also, I didn't have cheddar but I had muenster slices from Costco and Tillamook Pepper Jack! Then, you can kill me now, I used half milk and half heavy cream! Cut the cooking time by 15 minutes, and oh my gosh - UNBELIEVABLY GOOD. I will make this again and again. Hubby says it's almost like his mom's except the cheeses are of course different, but the effect is the same! THANKS!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2007

      This is the BEST baked mac and cheese! LOVE IT!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2006

      I made this for our lake party. I used Colby cheese, but it went clumpy and not at all smooth. In fact I decided just to use the boxed mac and cheese as a back up. When everyone came in to eat, they choose your mac and cheese over the 'other'. So it tasted good, I used shells, but I feel maybe I did something wrong, though I'm not sure what. I'm sure it wasn't supposed to be clumpy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2006

      This is the ultimate comfort food to me. This the the mac and cheese I grew up eating and the recipe I still use. Only difference is that I use canned milk to make it a bit richer. Mszanz this is a keeper!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2005

      I made this recipe for Pick a Chef fall 2005. I could not find colby cheese at the local deli and so I subbed Schneider's old nippy and that worked very well. At first the casserole seemed to milky but after letting it sit for about 5 minutes and giving it a good stir, it was perfect. The kids asked for me to make this again and that means this recipe is a hit~ Thanks for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2005

      I cut this recipe in half, since I was just cooking for the two of us... I also shredded the cheese (misread the recipe) I think I have finally found my dh'd Great Aunt Berts famous mac n cheese. Christmas just hasnt been the same since she passed away a few years ago. Thanks so much for sharing! Sooooo delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2005

      This recipe makes a lot of macaroni and cheese! I used a deep 3 quart casserole and ran out of room and had to put part of it in a smaller dish. I used about 3 cups of milk total. Next time I will cut the recipe in half and use a 2 or 2 1/2 quart casserole dish. It was really good, and I didn't think it was bland. It had just enough taste. I love cheese and enjoy the taste of cheese. I used colby cheese and I did not use salt and pepper during preparation, just added a small amount when I ate it. I will definitely make this recipe again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2005

      This is the way my mom always made macaroni and cheese, but again like Denise using Cheddar not colby cheese. It was delicious and I think I will make some of this today. Thanks for the memories!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2005

      MSZAN, This is how my mother made her macaronni and cheese although she didn't use Colby cheese...just American. My boys and nephew always requested that she make this. My husband likes the one that I make...but I am going to give mom's another try....thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Nanny's Simple Macaroni and Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (227 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 878.2
     
    Calories from Fat 447
    50%
    Total Fat 49.7 g
    76%
    Saturated Fat 30.8 g
    154%
    Cholesterol 143.7 mg
    47%
    Sodium 917.8 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 60.6 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 45.8 g
    91%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes