Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Nanna's Old World Cinnamon Crumb Coffee Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Nanna's Old World Cinnamon Crumb Coffee Cake

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on October 16, 2012

      This sounded like a scrumptious treat, and it didn't disappoint. I gave it 40 minutes in the oven, and it turned out perfectly moist. Also, because I wasn't clever enough to achieve the layering and didn't feel like there was sufficient streusel for two layers, I doubled the streusel recipe. Then I mixed the first batch in with the cake batter and sprinkled the second batch on top. Am I going to bother adjusting the calories and fat in my head? No way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2011

      I too had to bake for 45 min, other than that pretty easy and wonderful !! Was a birthday cake for my husband who hates chocolate and not a fan of a lot of sugary icings..
      Thanks for the recipe !!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2014

      Oh . . . my . . . yum!! This is to die for! I'm a cinnamon crumb cake aficionado and this is the best I've ever had. Super rich and super moist. Fair warning, it is not for the calorie-counter. Perfect for when you have friends or family over for a visit. I doubled the recipe and baked in a 13"X9" pan for 40 minutes. Turned out perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2014

      This 5 star review is based on following the recipe exactly as instructed. This coffee cake turned out so delicious that after we had our first piece we called our parents to come over and share it with us! My kids and I made the batter together, it was simple and fun! We baked it for 30 min, then after a toothpick test found it needed only 5 minutes more. The result was tender, moist, and perfectly delicious! I also thought it had just the right amount of streusel! Will be saving this recipe and using it as my go-to! Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2013

      So good, only had a small corner warm from the oven but it is great. I will need to cook a little longer as some of the middle wasn't quite done. I baked 25 min so will go 30 next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2013

      Amazing! I put the whole crumb mix on top rather than half in the middle and half on top, because that's the way we prefer it. I have to say; this is the best crumb cake recipe I have tried so far!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2013

      Pretty yummy recipe! I did make a few changes just to add a bit more nutritional value: 6oz of plain Greek yogurt instead of sour cream, 3/4 cup of whole wheat flour for 1/2 the white flour, and additional 1/2 tsp cinnamon in cake batter. Still fluffy & delicious! Thanks for the tasty recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2012

      This is by far the very best 'traditional' crumb coffee cake I have ever made and tasted. Very tender, moist crumb. Definitely not a 'diet' food, but for the special occassion or company. I didn't change a thing and it was absolute heaven! Yummy, thank you so much for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2011

      Turned out very well! YUMMY! It was light and airy, had a very buttery flavor and the crumb topping was delicious. My only complaint was that it ended up taking 45 minutes to bake rather than the suggested 25 and that is a pretty significant difference. Other than that, success!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2010

      I couldn't find my favorite crumb coffee cake recipe so I made this one. I now have a new favorite. My husband loves this. Moist and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      Made as written. It is an excellent, moist coffee cake. One I will be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

    • on April 29, 2009

      This coffee cake recipe is to die for! It is a moist, light and tasty recipe. My DD made this as a special treat to celebrate the completion and submission of her college term paper. She cut the sugar to 1/2 cup and used brown sugar Splenda blend for the streusel topping. Yum! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      This cake was beautifully light and fluffy. I agree with Kat's Mom about cutting the cold butter into the streusel topping rather than softening it and then mixing it in. Other than that, I was very pleased so thank you for a keeper! Made for PAC Spring 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      Light and airy. The directions say to melt the butter for the streusel topping. That just yielded melted brown sugar instead of a crumb topping. So I mixed my first batch in with the batter and made a second batch cutting the cold butter into the other streusel ingredients. The streusel tasted a bit "floury" but the cake was delightful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Nanna's Old World Cinnamon Crumb Coffee Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (114 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 524.8
     
    Calories from Fat 223
    42%
    Total Fat 24.8 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 15.1 g
    75%
    Cholesterol 94.6 mg
    31%
    Sodium 557.2 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 71.2 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 43.6 g
    174%
    Protein 5.8 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes