15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This sounded like a scrumptious treat, and it didn't disappoint. I gave it 40 minutes in the oven, and it turned out perfectly moist. Also, because I wasn't clever enough to achieve the layering and didn't feel like there was sufficient streusel for two layers, I doubled the streusel recipe. Then I mixed the first batch in with the cake batter and sprinkled the second batch on top. Am I going to bother adjusting the calories and fat in my head? No way!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lovedayes October 16, 2012

I too had to bake for 45 min, other than that pretty easy and wonderful !! Was a birthday cake for my husband who hates chocolate and not a fan of a lot of sugary icings..
Thanks for the recipe !!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashcam November 17, 2011

Oh . . . my . . . yum!! This is to die for! I'm a cinnamon crumb cake aficionado and this is the best I've ever had. Super rich and super moist. Fair warning, it is not for the calorie-counter. Perfect for when you have friends or family over for a visit. I doubled the recipe and baked in a 13"X9" pan for 40 minutes. Turned out perfectly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gribouillis January 06, 2014

This 5 star review is based on following the recipe exactly as instructed. This coffee cake turned out so delicious that after we had our first piece we called our parents to come over and share it with us! My kids and I made the batter together, it was simple and fun! We baked it for 30 min, then after a toothpick test found it needed only 5 minutes more. The result was tender, moist, and perfectly delicious! I also thought it had just the right amount of streusel! Will be saving this recipe and using it as my go-to! Thanks so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaime c. January 05, 2014

So good, only had a small corner warm from the oven but it is great. I will need to cook a little longer as some of the middle wasn't quite done. I baked 25 min so will go 30 next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound July 02, 2013

Amazing! I put the whole crumb mix on top rather than half in the middle and half on top, because that's the way we prefer it. I have to say; this is the best crumb cake recipe I have tried so far!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandagirl June 30, 2013

Pretty yummy recipe! I did make a few changes just to add a bit more nutritional value: 6oz of plain Greek yogurt instead of sour cream, 3/4 cup of whole wheat flour for 1/2 the white flour, and additional 1/2 tsp cinnamon in cake batter. Still fluffy & delicious! Thanks for the tasty recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarahjo129 February 04, 2013

This is by far the very best 'traditional' crumb coffee cake I have ever made and tasted. Very tender, moist crumb. Definitely not a 'diet' food, but for the special occassion or company. I didn't change a thing and it was absolute heaven! Yummy, thank you so much for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DKSmith83686 August 04, 2012

Turned out very well! YUMMY! It was light and airy, had a very buttery flavor and the crumb topping was delicious. My only complaint was that it ended up taking 45 minutes to bake rather than the suggested 25 and that is a pretty significant difference. Other than that, success!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jamers3177_9796237 February 03, 2011

I couldn't find my favorite crumb coffee cake recipe so I made this one. I now have a new favorite. My husband loves this. Moist and delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JEWELBIRD April 16, 2010
Nanna's Old World Cinnamon Crumb Coffee Cake